Writers logo

The Great Library of Alexandria

Organised by Category

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago Updated 7 months ago 6 min read
11
The Great Library of Alexandria
Photo by Valdemaras D. on Unsplash

This here is my regularly updated library of all stories and articles written here on Vocal, organised by category for your ease of perusal. Dive in. Leave comments and love rather than footprints please ❤️ 🕊️ 😇

Newest stories are at the top of each section, with the exception of my book excerpts which are listed in number order. If you enjoy these, comment and I will continue posting ✨

All of my poetry now has it’s own Great Library (link below 👇)

The Great (Poetry) Library

By Álvaro Serrano on Unsplash

Health Articles

Submit For Review

I’ve Got The (Writing) Fever

The Ilusion of Freewill

The Words AI Has Trashed

And the Award Goes To…🏅

The Art of the (Good) Apology

Dairy Addiction, Breast Milk & Attachment Trauma

Silver Linings

‘Bad’ Children Don’t Exist

Magical Hibiscus Flowers

How To Feel Better Quickly

3 Golden Rules of Eating

The Dark Side of Cannabis

Curing Cancer

Lucid Dreaming

Reprogramming Adults; A How To Guide

Could You Be Sober Curious?

The Art of Healing

By Jamie Street on Unsplash

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

Music

In The Painted Room (Karen Gibson Roc)

This article introduces you to Roc’s music and has been combined with a fictional story about how I imagined it being created.

Remember Who The F*ck You Are

This was for one of the earliest Vocal challenges I ever took part in. Possibly even the very first?

By C D-X on Unsplash

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

Fiction

(written for Vocal Challenges)

Charlie & the Chocolate Rocket

A cute retelling of the original with a space slant and life wisdom woven in. It would make a great bedtime story for your little one… and you can create the next chapters with them… how cute would that be?

Mirror Mirror

This is the only dark story you will find here! It was for a challenge and the first line was the prompt. I couldn’t come up with anything that wasn’t dark… and to be honest… it was written at a very, very dark time for me. I used to work in mental health wards and this experience definitely provided powerful inspiration for the story.

The Drug Dealer Healer

Not that great a story. Was amusing while I lived in Colombo, Sri Lanka and I had just created the most amazing hibiscus medicine.

Scarlet Prayers

I need to reread this - because from memory it was one that I was really proud of and very sad it didn’t place in the competition. I remember the characters being powerful, the story being based on real people and current events that I researched heavily. Maybe it wasn’t as great as I thought or maybe it was and the competition was just stronger! I will update this note after I return to it!

Death By Chocolate*

This was one I really enjoyed writing. I’m still really happy with the unexpected twist I wrote into the end - which will change the way you saw the entire story! And it’s not dystopian in the slightest!!!!! The title is perhaps misleading in that way - there is a journey of adventure that risks death - but no one dies and it’s not scary!

Naked Encounters

Chasing Waterfalls

Brown Paper Box

I was watching a lot of Hallmark movies when I created these three. Which all have the same main character. Cute stories of escapism. If you are looking for something nice to read, try Naked Encounters!

Little Black Notebooks

This was my entry for that BIG Moleskine competition for $20,000 that had many of us dreaming!! We had to write a story that included a little black notebook. This was my emotive take on the prompt.

The Origin of Bitcoin

A story that took me a week of research before I even began writing. The main character is based on a real historical character and his reputation. Fiction was created around him and the founder of IBM. I even researched if they were ever in the same country at the same time and they indeed were. This fiction had to be conceivably possible - which is why it took so long to research.

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

Misc. Writing

Messages From The Universe

Time Capsule

Submit For Review

I’ve Got The (Writing) Fever

The Illusion of Freewill

The Words AI Has Trashed

International World Literacy Day 2023

Get to Know Me #Challenge

AI’s Ode to an Ordinary Object

Art as a Window

The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread

Arguing with ChatGPT

Love Will Make You Do Crazy Things” (Will Smith)

She’s Not Mine

Sending LOVE Via Your Vocal Inbox

Why Space Travel is $100,000 Cheaper from Sri Lanka

Dear Betty

Behind The Lens 1

Behind The Lens 2

By aniestla on Unsplash

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

Critiques

(written for Vocal Challenges - highlighted in bold are my top recommendations)

The Joy of Painting - Bob Ross

“I Have A Dream” MLK

Once Upon a Time

Every Breath You Take The Police

Lord of the Rings

Billy & Albert (1987)

Private Dancer - Tina Turner

Labyrinth (1986)

Live Aid (1985)

Her

Jagged Little Pill

La Grande Bellezza

Girl With Balloon

Banksy

Barbie (2023)

Charlie & The Chocolate Factory

Back to the Future III

Back to the Future II

Back to The Future

The Road Less Travelled

The Age of Anxiety - Alan Watts

Starry Night by Vincent Van Gogh

Hurricane by Bob Dylan

Susan Boyle on BGT

Titanic

Pink Floyd - Dark Side of the Moon

This Is Us

My AI Image from “I Have a Dream”

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

Lust For Words

Articles highlighting the best unseen poetry from other Vocal Creators

Edition 1

Edition 2

Edition 3

Edition 4

Edition 5 (in progress)

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

***My Book Excerpts***

Feelings of Unreality

(My real life journal starting January 2020 - content warning on all of this)

Introduction

Entry 1

Entry 2

Entry 3

Entry 4

Entry 5

Entry 6

Entry 7

Entry 8

Entry 9

Entry 10

Entry 11

Entry 12

Entry 13

Entry 14

Entry 15

Entry 16

Entry 17

Tea With The Devil

(an excerpt from the middle - content warning on all of this)

Introduction

Entry 1

Entry 2

Entry 3

Entry 4

(More still to be posted)

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

Above is a link to the place I love the most - my Poetry Library ! Please do check in - it’s completely free of charge 🥰

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

A huge thank you to Matthew Fromm for his brilliant problem solving creativity via article My Magical Library (which inspired me to do this) 🥰 I sooo wanted to steal the name, but I reasoned it would be plagiarism! Apparently I thought stealing a historical name is not. 🥰🤔😂❤️✨

ShoutoutGuidesCommunity
11

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Alice B. Schellinger. 8 months ago

    I absolutely love this idea!!! I’m definitely going to go through with the time I have this week and read some more of your content! You’re a great writer!

  • VICTORIA OLUOKUN 8 months ago

    Weldone

  • Not me reading your title and thinking, "Oh wow, Kayleigh's real name is Alexandria". Yeap, felt pretty foolish when I read your intro, lol! I'm pretty new to being your reader so I was shocked at how much stuff you've written! You're phenomenal! I'm eagerly waiting for Lust for Words 4! Also, you've written so many health articles, I need to come back for those. Thank you so much for putting this together!

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Very nicely done!

  • Okay, I will admit it ❤️👌but shout me out - Click Bait My Latest Poem- https://vocal.media/poets/getting-over-romeo

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    Great title.

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    This is awesome! A virtual library. Lots of hard work to put this all together. Will be back to browse some more. I choose “Notes from hell” to check out first and it was brilliant!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.