Fiction logo

Death by Chocolate

Life was hard on the Cocoa Plantation, was Cera brave enough to leave the safety of her world behind and journey to the Great Beyond?

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 3 years ago 10 min read
2
Death by Chocolate
Photo by Kristiana Pinne on Unsplash

My family descended from a long line of Cocoa farmers and home-makers. Father worked long, arduous hours in the hot fields, priding himself on how well he cared for the cocoa. He loved each and every plant with his whole heart. which is likely why our trees went on to bear more fruits than any other in the Plantation's history. He taught me that love is the most valuable and precious energy that exists.

"Without love, Cera, everything would cease to exist. Nature exists in spite of competition, not because of it. With love we can take enough for our need and let the rest be shared. When you understand this, you understand life. The downfall of all happens when we become devoid of love and operate based on greed. The Cocoa knows this too."

It is rare for a plant to be able to bloom and bear fruit simultaneously, one of the many facts Father taught me about the Cocoa and one of the many reasons why he loved it so. He believed the fruits possessed a magic that brought a joyful and loving energy to the world we lived in. All of the men in our community were fated to work the fields. Most doing so with no awareness, merely going through the motions of what they had been taught. But not Father. Father worked with devotion and love.

From the youngest age I knew that I was incredibly lucky to be born female. Men in our community rarely lived to see their children grow into adulthood, forcing sons to take over their fathers work at a tender age. Most girls grew up, as my mother did, to bear children. We spent our childhood learning about survival from Mother, who also worked incredibly hard to give us the best start possible in life. She understood that for us to grow into healthy adults we needed her wisdom and guidance for as long as possible. She taught me that every woman comes to a point where she must choose the direction in which her life will go. We could surrender to our given fate, dedicating our lives to raising children or we could choose to craft a new destiny.

Our culture has an incredibly rich history of folklore & mythology. Many woman before me had ventured beyond the Plantation, bravely attempting to create their destiny. Myia was the only one who had ever returned. She was revered as a Goddess and only spoken of with the upmost respect. Ancestors past had listened intently as she sparked their imaginations and ignited their souls with tales of all she had seen. The journey she undertook led to endless storytelling, tales of delight and wonder for all to hear for generations to come.

Every night of my childhood father would tell me stories of the great Myia. My absolute favourite was her discovery of the Chocolatière. Myia told of how she came upon a place that knew how to turn the beans of the cocoa tree into the most wondrous creations. Things beyond any of our imaginations. She told that every breath taken in that shop was like inhaling the deepest love ever known, that the smell of the chocolate infused her with boundless energy. Those inside the café had an entirely different energy about them from those on the Plantation. She spoke of how people were so animated and joyful that they appeared giddy, radiating vitality. They were so happy that they barely even noticed her presence. No one was angry or trying to harm her, they just let her be. She told of how she feasted all afternoon, even falling asleep for a short time.

Inside the Chocolatière they had skilled artists clothed in white aprons and white hats. Glass counters housing each of the beautiful cocoa creations were lit by soft warm lighting. Myia spoke of music she had never before heard and knew not of how it was created. It was known as soft Jazz and in the evenings was played to dark spaces with romancing couples. Myia's favourite part of her journey, the story that she was said to have loved recounting, was the story of seeing the sliced chocolate cake for the first time.

"Once it was within my gaze, I couldn't take my eyes from it. It was truly a masterpiece to behold. There were six towering layers of alternating white, milk and dark chocolates. The artists infused the white layer with cashews nut crumbs, the milk layer with hazelnuts and adorned the dark sponge with pecans. Each layer caressed sweet, sticky raspberry coulis & the lightest Chantilly cream was indulgently lavished between them. Candied hibiscus flowers and a trio of chocolate shavings adorned the outside. The smell of sweetness and cocoa injected me with the energy I needed to return home. I knew I had to return to tell you of its existence. I truly wish that all of our men could see how their work is values and appreciated in this heavenly gallery."

My father had such an engaging way of retelling Myia's words that it was as if she had made this journey for me alone; to inspire me to follow in her path. I knew that both of my parents hoped for one of their children to follow in her footsteps and I always believed it would be me. It was a struggle for me, as part of me truly wanted to stay home, to raise my own family and to spend my life surrounded by the love of my community. It was an intimidating thought to go out into the world alone. My father had always known that he would die before it came for me to choose between fate and destiny. He had such strong faith in reincarnation that he truly believed after passing on from this body, his soul would enter another and he would see me again. He believed that once two souls were entangled, they would remain so for eternity, regardless of what form they took. The love and faith in my father's heart had him outlive all of the men there had ever been on the Plantation.

On the morning that I set off for the great beyond it was as if all of the nature had come to wish me well. The squirrels and songbirds cheeped loudly, creating a choir of love so loud that it infected my whole being. The time had come for me to take flight. It was terrifying, exhilarating and daring. I had no idea what was awaiting me beyond the limits of our home. I was undertaking a journey purely based upon faith. Faith in my ancestors, Myia and her great tales of the other realms she travelled to and my parents intuition. There were certainly no guarantees for me. So many women had too embarked on this journey, never to return.

My eyes were as wide as could be as I left the Plantation. I saw all kinds of people on my journey, taking care to avoid eye contact as mother had instructed. She imparted that the key to my survival was to journey undetected, stopping to feed only when necessary. Myia spoke of how she followed the people and the machines. Follow the busiest tracks but be cautious of the speed at which the machines move. Her words, through the storytelling of Father, were my navigation. I had heard so many of her stories that it really was as if she were journeying beside me.

The day and nights rolled by as I journeyed farther and farther from home. I was growing weary and desperately in need of food and rest. I had seen so much on my journey already, but still not the legendary Chocolatière that Myia spoke of. This particular night was cold, making travel more arduous and difficult than usual. I had stopped to rest under the protection of a Banyan tree and as I sat there with my eyes closed, I truly felt like giving up. I had been alone for so long, travelling from place to place in the hope of experiencing the true magic of the cocoa. I wanted so badly to fulfil my father's dream for me but it just felt too hard, too impossible now.

And that's when it happened. In that moment. In the very moment that I decided I would turn back, I opened my eyes to see my dreams had manifested before me. It felt as if I had entered another realm as I gazed upon the the warm white lights in the window that Myia had described all those lifetimes ago.

I had found it.

Upon my return to the Plantation I learned that my mother had passed. My brother told me that mother knew she would not see me again but that it brought great peace to her heart knowing I had chosen to create my destiny. Her faith in me was so strong that she never doubted my ability to succeed. I was treated like royalty and it felt incredible to realise how much inspiration and joy my return had brought to the eyes of my family, friends and neighbours. My mother had been wrong, I could choose adventure and still have a family. I was surrounded by my family.

After the celebrations wound down, I was asked to give a speech. Before her death, Myia was asked if she regretted her choices; in particular that she had chosen not to bear children. It felt so fitting for me to deliver this same speech. A speech my father had recited to me many times and was one close to my heart. Her response was so;

"My family, my friends, my neighbours. I sacrificed my birth fate and chose not to bear children of my own. You must not mourn this for me. I have see wonders beyond anyones imagination. Just as a mother experiences feelings that I never will, I have experienced feelings that you never will. Through my journey I have come to understand how profoundly connected we all are. Your children are indeed my children just as my experiences and stories become yours. We are all family. We share in our joys and triumphs. Together we half our worries and fears. We are all working to create a better future together and I think we are doing marvellously. We have empowered the next generation to dream even bigger than us and our achievements. This is the beginning of an evolution where one day we may find ways to travel quicker, to see more of the earth in shorter times, and perhaps even together. I dream that one day we can allow our men the freedom to choose also. I cannot regret any of my choices, for my choices have inspired so many, just as yours do."

For the months to come, after all of the daily chores were completed, everyone would gather around me; waiting to listen intently to my tales from the outside world. Once word of my adventures had journeyed afar, others travelled to join our community from nearby grasslands and farms. It was an honour and privilege to have the captivated attention of not only my tribe but other communities also. I noticed how work on the Plantation was undertaken with more ease and lightness after my return. Just like Myia, I had injected our community with love and hope. To honour me for my bravery it was decided that I would no longer have to hunt for food alone. My friends would join me to distract my prey and protect me from a slapping hand. I had acquired royal status for the joy I brought to my fellow mosquitos at the Plantation. I knew my stories would carry for generations to come, bringing great peace to my heart before it was also my time to pass on.

NB.

Did you know that only around 10%-20% of the flowers produced by a cacao tree are successfully pollinated - something that modern science still does not fully understand! Flowers are short-lived, typically receptive to pollen for only one or two days. If they do not receive ample pollen they die and fall within 36 hours of opening. Two breeds of Mosquito - Forcipomyia & Ceratopogonidae are the most important pollinators of the cocoa plant worldwide. They are the only species tiny enough to climb inside each pod. Without their love of the cocoa - we would not have chocolate!

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    So, I'm bumbling quite happily along through this and then, the ending just came and completely altered my perception of everything that came before. Which, of course, is what you had planned. Great stuff. I will view mosquitoes completely differently now until they choose to take a bite out of me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.