Writers logo

I’ve Got The (Writing) Fever

and it may be contagious

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
12
Photo by Mohammed Nohassi via Unsplash

Frank Zappa famously said that time is an affliction and I’m inclined to agree. I’m not entirely sure I believe in time anymore.

Time passes according to our perception and our perception can be changed. Which means that time can be changed.

Where am I going with this ? Well in two directions really…. One of which is getting its own article…. (because exploring this is sooooo much fun!).

But for now…I want to tell you what prompted this thinking. I was more than a little shocked today to discover just how much I’ve written in the past 30 ish days.

By freestocks on Unsplash

Okay… maybe not quite that much. But way more than I thought.

Which is why I mention time ….

Because as I looked back at the dates on my articles and poems… I was jaw droppingly astonished to see some of them were only 14 days ago.

If I had to have guessed … I would have said at least a month, maybe two months ago. Certainly not two weeks. Which brings me back around to this time thing and how we perceive it differently. Two weeks in Europe used to pass by with the click of my fingers… but here? Here a day is like a week. And a week like a month…

Which is clearly how I’ve somehow managed to oh so casually churn out;

7 x Articles

19 x Poems (some of which are seriously long!!)

2 x Lust For Words (which involve hours of searching and reading)

25 x Critique Challenge Entries (oooops …..it seems I did get a little carried away… and this was me really trying to hold back on submitting too many! Really! 😆)

1 x Book Club Challenge Entry

1 x Fiction story

1 x Music Article I called Playlist Fiction (it’s gonna be a thing, just wait and see 😉😂)

& Organised 111 or so articles into The Great Library of Alexandria (which was done entirely on my phone!!!!)

Oh, and then of course I started the Get to Know Me Challenge which was hours of reading and commenting on at least 70 of these!!!

[and I’ve had many conversations through the comments as well]

By Xavi Cabrera on Unsplash

In a month?!?!?!?!?!?

And I don’t even feel like I’ve been writing excessively 😂 How is this possible?! (I have some interesting theories to go in another article about time! It will come soon 😉)

I also have started countless draft articles…. and added to my ever expanding notebook of ideas…. AND researched so many things…. Like the history of typewriters (which is so fascinating actually! As a bonus I discovered the reason for the qwerty keyboard which was cool unexpected trivia. And read all about how a man from Dundee (very close to my hometown) was a big player in the import of them).

By Luca Onniboni on Unsplash

I have also been sketching out a new idea for a book that I’m super excited about…. This came as a late idea for The Next Great [American] Novel challenge. Sadly too late to write for the challenge (it takes me a whole day just to research and get to know my main character!). I do a LOT of research before I put pen to paper.

Which now has me thinking that it would be really fun to read about everyone’s writing processes….

Because I imagine they are all vastly different! Especially now that I realise others have the ability to think so differently from me!

I really wish I had someone here in person to endlessly quiz about how you see images in your mind…

Like….for starters… do you imagine as vividly as you dream? Like, on command? Or is it different? Do you see still images or movie like images? Or both? Do you actively choose everything in the image???? Or is it like putting on a movie… you know the synopsis … but the detail is a surprise? How does it work?!?!?! Do you ever get intrusive and unwanted images or do you always choose? How do you manage seeing the images in your mind and seeing the reality around you?!?!

I am so fascinated!!!!

By FLY:D on Unsplash

On another note…. I really really hope you are not all getting tired of seeing my name on your notifications list !

Much love,

Kayleigh ❤️🕊️❤️🕊️❤️🕊️❤️🕊️

PromptsWriting ExerciseProcessLife
12

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    I'll never be tired of seeing your name Kayleigh! Well done!

  • Girl, keep writing! I wish I had the time you have to write to my heart's content. Now to answer your question: yes, I figure out my stories like they'll be potential movies. If I get bored with an idea or feel like it is too similar to a lot of others, I toss the idea out. It makes for some interesting dreams, lol.

  • Oh no, I never get tired seeing your name in my notifications! In fact, I get so happy because I'm a huge fan of your writing! Also, whoaaaaaa! You wrote so much over two weeks?! How? How? You're magic, aren't you? Lol!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    What the...HOW????

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Love seeing your name pop up. I haven’t been subscribed to you for that long, but within that time I’ve had a chance to indulge in some really thoughtful and thought provoking reads including this one. My over all process for characters usually start with the name, then I imagine what they look like. Then a little backstory. Even if none of that info comes out in the story, it still helps me determine what kind of thinker the character is. And like the saying goes; time flies when your having fun. You’ve been having a blast creating, so accomplishing what you have in a month tells me you are enjoying yourself and taking advantage of the ability to create and share. Way to go!!!

  • Berry Driven8 months ago

    Wow, how amazing. We really can do anything we put our minds to. Interesting thought pattern about thoughts. Never really thought about it ( rim shot hehehe okay sorry ill step out now 😑🤣😂) Looking forward to reading it. Keep up the great work.

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I could never get tired of seeing your name pop up! I often think about how much I've been able to write and really be proud of as of late and you're right it's crazy to think about 🥳

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.