Motivation logo

So I Got This Email

from Medium

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 7 months ago Updated 6 months ago 5 min read
6

I don’t use Medium.

I set up an account some time ago but I’ve yet to do anything with it. It’s hard to explain why… perhaps I just don’t find the interface particularly friendly or engaging. There is some lack I feel about it. Some unexplainable void vibe. I’m really not sure what it is exactly… there is just something that doesn’t feel friendly about it. It’s not to say I won’t use it, just that I haven’t so far.

Anyway.

Sometime late last night I received a rather out of the blue email from them informing me that the are blocking AI from reading and learning from stories on the site. This link below is to the blog post they sent;

We have had a lot of AI related chat on here over the past few months. And it’s taken a while for me to refine my views on it. But everytime I read some article like this I feel compelled to share something glaringly and painfully obvious that everyone is apparently missing.

All that stuff we are calling out AI for? Like creating artwork from images it’s seen of other people’s artwork and mashing them together in its own kind of collage version? Or reading others stories and then mishmashing to create its own story? Not being factual or accurate? Outright lying? Incapable of saying the words “I don’t know” (clearly it’s programmed by men 😉😂) when it doesn’t know and instead begins vomiting nonsense.

Don’t you see? Must I spell this out?

That’s EXACTLY what human beings do.

By krakenimages on Unsplash

Yes. You do. Whether you are conscious of it or not, that’s exactly what you do. You look at everything that already exists, you learn from it, you store it to memory, and then regurgitate it to each other at appropriate times in whatever you deem appropriate ways.

Sure, you put your own little accent on it - but it’s all just a rehash of what someone else said or wrote, or painted or built. There is nothing truly new or unique or remarkable in anything you do.

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

That sounded harsh, I know. Even my own ego is flashing up right now with protest and rejection of what I’m writing. But I know it’s true. And necessary to say. And actually kind to point out.

Kind - because everyone gets rather heated about this AI scene… and any stress on your system decays your system. So if this information can help deflate your stress longterm (which it should) it’s saving your health and therefore - your life.

I know, I know. I make it sound so dramatic. But pick that statement apart any way you like and it will also keep floating back to the surface of life’s murky ocean labelled as “truth”.

The point is not to be upset by the idea that you and AI are, underneath it all, exactly the same in this regard. The point is to let go of the tension about AI learning from you and ‘stealing’ from you. Every single human is doing the very same thing. And you aren’t twisting your panties over that!

In fact - you actively want them to be looking at your work.

By Owen Beard on Unsplash

This idea of possession and holding tight to the rights of what you create is born from concepts of Fear, Lack & Scarcity.

Only a person in fear clings to what they have, or what they had in the past.

Those who understand and trust in their own creative abilities, their resilience, their ability to adapt to any situation and flow with life do not cling. They do not hold tight to anything and call it “mine”. They share. In fact, they are so absorbed in what they are presently creating that they couldn’t care less if there are now 10,000 bootleg copies of their work floating about out there in the ether.

Another point to reflect on…

Who are you writing for?

Are you writing for you or for your reader?

Are you writing to serve the world or for selfish gain?

By Ben Schnell on Unsplash

I remember pitching a social enterprise business idea at a university competition. The idea was so good. Seriously good. I spent 8 weeks of hard work researching and building the business plan from scratch.

I won the competition and the following competition with the same pitch - but this was an idea that I needed £1 million + to get off the ground. An idea that wasn’t likely to happen any year soon (at that time).

I vividly recall a friend asking me if I was worried if others ‘stole’ my idea before I could get it up and running. I remember being confused by her question. It was something I hadn’t considered. At all.

By Evi T. on Unsplash

My answer was this.

“Then that’s brilliant!! If someone else can do this before I can, then they absolutely should! Because not only is it a win for the community, it’s a win for the government, for the people it helps, and employs … etc etc. This idea is a win for everyone so if someone else gets it going - fantastic. I’ve a million ideas like this. There are endless things I can create and do. And if this problem if fixed by someone else - then I get to fix something else! There are literally endless ways to improve the world - I’m not limited to this one idea”

And I meant it with my whole heart.

If I was in doubt of my own abilities? If I was consumed by my ego and wanting to be credited as the saviour? I would have clung to the idea as something ‘mine’. I would have tried to protect it. Hidden it until I could use it for myself.

Instead I threw it out to the world knowing someone else may implement it. Knowing that the idea was so great - and such a ‘win, win, win’ idea that it would only be a great thing if someone else did implement it sooner than me.

Isn’t that a better world? To share ideas and flow with each other. Not caring about credit. Just caring about making the world brighter, more joyful, kinder?

Perhaps the true gift of the rise of AI is this mirror we are being forced to look into. And as with all reflections - if we don’t like what we see - then change becomes an inside job.

self helphow tohappinessgoalsadvice
6

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    You certainly touched on deep concepts here. I can't seem to write a short response. I think I will need to plan an essay response to this! A question for you: What benefit(s) do you see in artists allowing their work to be shared with AI models? I've been wracking my brain and can't think of a single one. AI art takes the average of all that it draws from, which is not representative of good art. Real art is by definition, rare and innovative. Furthermore, AI is not autonomous, so it's not "being inspired" or innovating anything; rather, people are using it for their own selfish purpose. It seems to me that by sharing our work with AI models and not preventing the models from taking from all digitized content, we are allowing real, human art (and writing) to be cheapened. We are lowering our standards. Ultimately, there will be no reason for humans to make art, if enough people are satisfied with the AI "equivalent." Once you get used to average, you lose the ability to have taste for anything better. I think we need to preserve and gate-keep our standards, and keep the goal of becoming a renowned artist elevated to a sphere that is difficult to reach. And in striving for it, we will improve humanity.

  • I'm kinda on the fence with this one I guess, lol. Like if someone stole my idea that's gonna bring world peace, end world hunger, cure cancer, etc, I would be okay with it although I didn't get the credit. But if soemone stole my idea for solely only their benefit, then I'm gonna throw a fit 🤣🤣🤣

  • Veronica Coldiron6 months ago

    Reading this, I was vaguely reminded of a college term paper I wrote about thoughts. Thought is energy. Energy isn't something we make, it already exists and we make use of it. So where do thoughts come from, really? Your take on our presentation of thought in writing reminded of a Bible verse from Ecclesiastes 1:10~ "What has been will be again, what has been done will be done again; there is nothing new under the sun." In that avenue we're really just pedestrians of the past, simply putting out there what has come before. The energy of thought just presents itself to different individuals in its own time and in its own way, which is what gives us these ideas and makes each journey unique. I don't care one way or another about AI. The algorithms of our ideas in writing can be a powerful teaching tool for others so I wholeheartedly agree with you. This is a VERY well written, VERY thought-provoking article and I am SO glad I didn't miss it!! AWESOME work! 🤩

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    I love your tae on the subject and mostly agree! humans have been doing it since the beginning. even from a creative example - Brothers Grimm, CS Lewis, Shakespeare, The Beatles, Elvis, Eminem, Black Sabbath, The Rolling Stones, Led Zep, Christopher Nolan, Quentin Tarantino...the list goes on.. all held in the highest regard... for things that were not wholly original! love your piece!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    I very much agree with you that this is what humans do, and it's my perspective that AI has huge potential to do things much better than we can - the applications in health are massive. To do it though, AI needs to do vast quantities of learning. This is something AI is fortunately also very good at. But. Yes, I think some of our fear of AI comes from resource guarding and scarcity, but these are also realities. Job insecurity and low incomes are genuine threats, in this world we live in, as is loss of purpose. I think it is more than that though, there's something intrinsically threatening about feeling that someone can take your voice, and where there's so much glamour for attention, AI could drown us out.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Fantastic advice and goals!!! Loved reading this!!!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    I don’t use medium either. My reason is I only like to use one platform at a time, otherwise it’s too time consuming to write for every plate form all the time lol. Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.