Motivation logo

4 Powerful Practices to Take Control of Your Life

I will talk about 4 powerful practices that I’ve seen work.

By Yasemin Yiğit KuruPublished 2 months ago 5 min read
created by the author wıth bing copilot

When our teacher mentioned these practices in the Self Mastery class, saying “you do it for 21 days and something happens,” it sounded very spiritual to me, and I didn’t really believe in miracles anymore.

Therefore, before I get into the methods, it might be good to explain how these practices have changed me.

Initially, I couldn’t cope with the injustices I faced, constantly felt angry, and wanted to engage in behaviors that could harm myself.

I was very close to depression, had lost the meaning of life, and hadn’t been able to write anything other than my journal for about 3 years.

However, after starting to apply these methods, I started writing almost every day from the 10th day onwards. I found the meaning of life outside of work, and it was really a beautiful feeling. I also began to build a closer relationship with my family, and in every way, I’m better now than I was before.

Mastering Yourself with 4 Simple Practices

1. Allowing

Actually, everything in our lives happens because we allow it. The flow of events is in our control. However, factors such as increase in digitalization, the phones we constantly carry, computer screens, the chaos of big cities, etc., make us forget this.

We almost go into autopilot mode and feel like puppets. We evaluate our lives with fate and destiny, complain about our luck, and rely on astrology. As if everything happens independently of us.

However, even the situations that are not in our control, our reaction to these situations is in our control.

To create awareness of this, consciously allow things to happen at least once a day for 21 days.

For example, say “I allow myself to open the door” before opening the door.

Or adopt a more spiritual approach, “I allow myself not to miss the bus” or “I allow my day to go very well,” etc.

Use your creativity. Just don’t skip a day. If you skip, you’ll have to start over from day one.

2. Deep Relaxation Meditation

Since the positive effects of meditation have already been scientifically proven, I don’t think I need to praise it much here.

Deep relaxation meditation is a meditation method that lasts about half an hour, where you relax your entire body from your toes to your head one by one.

I did it with the guidance of the recorded audio in the course. However, you can find many relaxation meditation guides on the internet. Or if you are experienced in this, you can do it without guidance.

It’s important that it takes more than half an hour, but even if you fall asleep after passing the waist, you are considered to have done this meditation.

After relaxing with this meditation, I felt much more energetic and powerful with my empty mind and relaxed body.

However, this was also the practice I struggled with the most. Planning the day in advance is very important to be able to allocate half an hour during the day, and I recommend not leaving it to the night, because the probability of falling asleep before reaching the calves is very high.

3. Observer Meditation

This is just a 10-minute meditation. When I say meditation, it’s actually a little different from a normal meditation because you allow thoughts to flow.

For the first 7 days, close your eyes in a quiet and undisturbed place for 10 minutes and allow your thoughts to flow. It won’t be flowing at all when you allow it at the beginning, which is normal. But relax and allow your thoughts when they come. Watch them as if you were an outsider or watching a movie. Don’t intervene when it changes, let it flow.

During the second 7-day period, choose one of your thoughts while your thoughts are flowing and try to stay focused on it as much as possible. If you couldn’t stay, let it continue to flow. Choose another one and try again. And focus on it.

During the third 7-day period, enter the gap between two different thoughts as your thoughts flow. I don’t know how you will do this. I think everyone finds their own method to perceive the gap. It’s a bit difficult to do this, but don’t give up, as you try, you will find your own practice. Mine is a sky-colored lapis lazuli, I catch it and stay there.

4. Time Practice

Time is passing quickly, and sometimes we don’t even realize it. Life seems to be flowing outside of our consciousness, meaninglessly slipping through our hands.

Before you know it, it’s evening, the day is over. But somehow Friday just isn’t coming, is it? It feels like we’re not managing our time well. Or it is managing us.

To control this situation, set an alarm for 3 different times of the day. Determine an action you will take when the alarm goes off. Let it be a small and easy thing. Let it be something personal to you, no one else needs to know.

When the alarm goes off during the day, do the action you determined before one minute passes, but be sure to do it even if your hands are bloody. Otherwise, you’ll start your 21 days from the beginning :)

Yesterday, my alarm went off in the middle of my presentation at the management meeting. When I heard it, I paused for a few seconds, and when I looked up, I realized everyone was looking at me as if I had forgotten what to say. Unfortunately, I couldn’t do it within one minute. — Yes, my 21 days have already passed, but I’m still continuing my practices.

These practices have been helpful in increasing my awareness of time, life, and myself over time. And when you do them for 21 days in a row, call it convincing yourself, call it a self-proven prophecy, or call it the concrete effect of practices, whatever you say, “something happened.”

It seems that applying these practices requires determination and a real need for transformation. And there are many different methods that suit different people and different needs. I have shared the ones that work for me here. But just start to be open for healing yourself; I think this is the most important thing.

Loves,

#Self Motivation #SelfHealing #Meditation #PersonalDevelopment

Originally published on Medium

self helphow tohealinghappiness

About the Creator

Yasemin Yiğit Kuru

an engineer who loves reading and writing

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Yasemin Yiğit KuruWritten by Yasemin Yiğit Kuru

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.