01 logo

The Words AI Has Trashed

never to be used again?

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 6 min read
21
The Words AI Has Trashed
Photo by Gary Chan on Unsplash

Yet another Top Story littered in AI’s favourite words had me yet again wondering…

is this genuine?

By Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I’ve realised that there are certain words I’m just no longer able to read without immediately questioning the integrity of the poem. Anything professing to be beneath the stars, about a myriad of stars, a love for the stars or about gleaming stars has my suspicions immediately. And I love the stars!!!

Are you attempting to take me on a passage through time? Bound by sweet love or some eternal decree? Are you roaming somewhere forevermore?! Have you taken me into your embrace? Is there some sweet caress or dance of tenderness? Are you painting a canvas of the velvet skies? Or how about something cosmic like stardust?

What’s that about joy, tears or whispered promises? I no longer care. Because I’m not sure I believe you.

By Jan Canty on Unsplash

Are these words are forever lost to us as writers?

Will we ever be able to recover them?

I have on occasion become frustrated at having to replace them in my own poems. Sometimes the word solace is the best fitting and most appropriate word. Sometimes it’s the only darn one that will fit and yet I just can’t bring myself to leave it within my work. Because it’s now owned by AI.

Want to paint me a Celestial picture? I won’t look.

Want to take me on an Enchanting journey? I recoil.

Is it Twilight? My curtains are closed.

What’s that about a golden hue? Eugh.

And what’s more annoying? There is no better word for hue than HUE!

By Andre Hunter on Unsplash

It’s quite certain that AI loves regurgitating these particular key words. They are all clear give aways. Like a signature. But what if (interjects my “you might be wrong” program) this person just so happened to use these words together in the same poem. What if it’s just a coincidence?

After all, some of these verses are definitely not AI. Some of these words are actually never used by AI and certainly not in that order. So could it be genuine? Still doubtful.

To me this now looks like an AI poem that someone has edited to get around the plagiarism software. Because these accounts are now aware there is a kick back against them. They are reading our articles. They are seeing how we are learning to spot them. And some of these accounts have been getting away with this AI and plagiarised software FOR YEARS. Which means they will go to great lengths to protect them.

By Jason Leung on Unsplash

Many of these accounts are wisening up and now trying to infiltrate the Vocal community groups and social media chats. Some are even nominating themselves and their AI accounts for Top Stories. Heck, many of them even got Top Story.

Many of them can regularly be found saying “Great work ❤️” in the comments sections of your poetry and articles. Some of them are even going so far as to make longer comments now. I’ve even seen my own comments copied and pasted on the work of others recently!! I easily recognise my own words because I’m usually quite careful to ensure each comment I leave is unique and not generic. I want the author to know that I cared enough to leave a comment specifically for them.

But even I feel pointing out plaguirised comments is a step too far over the line. I have to turn a blind eye because this is a vorex I refuse to be sucked into any longer.

By Alena Jarrett on Unsplash

We have all very clearly stated the problem to Vocal. We have made it clear that seeing plagiarised Top Stories and placements in contests is far from acceptable. We have all come forward week after week and said whatever you are doing is not enough and is not working. It is not enjoyable nor sustainable for any one of us to continue reporting the tsunami of content and spam on the site.

Seeing our own work plagiarised and reposted HERE on Vocal is sickening. Even the “creators we’re loving” has AI spammers on it!!! We can all agree this is not our job to become daily AI hunters. We are not going to allow our lives to be consumed anymore by these pitiful people.

People who are probably being paid $1 a day to do this to our work. Or people whose lives are so pathetic that they genuinely believe the very best they can do in life is this. Copy and pasting. Stealing and reposting. Engage your heart here. It may be annoying, but think of the privilege that allowed you to be on this side of the fence and not theirs.

By The 77 Human Needs System on Unsplash

Often this message is interpreted in a way not intended. Engaging your compassion and releasing the anger you have is not (repeat NOT) the same as saying a behaviour or situation is acceptable. It is saying that it will no longer have the power to dictate your emotions.

Nothing outside of you should have the power to dictate your emotional state. That MUST be in your control. Otherwise, you really ought to accept your enslavement with more grace 😉.

Seriously though, to give another the power to so negatively impact your emotions and take your focus away from things you enjoy and love? That’s not intelligence. It’s enslavement.

It’s dragging us all down… and what does that ultimately mean?

A more frustrated and angry world.

More complaining.

Less creativity.

By Kai Pilger on Unsplash

So what do we do at this stage?

We can instead choose to trust Vocal are listening. They say they are. We can choose to trust that AI spam and plagiarised content is just as irritating to them as it is to us. You don’t found or work for a website like this is you have no interest in or passion for writing! We can choose to practice patience while they work trialling and erroring solutions.

We have all professed to love Vocal at some stage. So how deep or superficial is your love? Isn’t love understanding and patient? Or does love abandon ship at the first sign of weakness? Does love stand beside Vocal in solidarity and with faith? Or does it seek to trade her in for another? Someone older and wiser perhaps? Someone with a bigger bank balance to easily buy away problems faced?

I hear a lot of talk recently of Medium - and the grass being greener - so I created a profile recently. What did I find? Within 5 minutes I found that they have plenty of plagiarised content on their site! Perhaps they are better at rejecting AI (I didn’t look for long to find any) content but they are still a minefield of stolen works. And some of those thief’s I found have 10k+ followers!!!!

Madness.

By Ryan Franco on Unsplash

I very much care about following only genuine creators. It’s why I love reading your voice. Hearing about your passions. Seeing your imperfections and mistakes or ranting opinions (on occasion!). I love it if I agree with you and I love it if I don’t. Because I can feel your authenticity. I especially love seeing the collaborations and interviews coming from Vocal creators recently. I love learning what motivates you, what demotivates you, what irritates you and what brings you true joy.

We have a community here that is special. And when we have something that we know is special (individually and collectively) we will naturally become attached to it and seek to protect it.

That becomes our prison.

By Tim Hüfner on Unsplash

Recognising we have become caught up in this game of suffering know as attachment is a recurring life lesson! When we can see that we are growing exhausted and frustrated by trying to paddle our boats upstream? That’s when it’s time to turn around and trust the river will carry us to where we are supposed to go. It’s the only sensible option.

P.S.

*** To anyone reading this whose comments I don’t reply to - one of two things is at play. Either I don’t trust your account is genuine or I missed the notification. Neither should create offence. It’s not for you to prove anything to me. If I don’t trust your account it’s because there is a lack of authentic or relatable content there for me. (Or I’m energetically sensing stalker vibes). You get to choose whether to change that or not. What you should not do is attempt to debate it with me. You will not endear yourself to me. Either make changes or don’t. Just don’t bother me. It’s none of my business***

social mediatech newsfuture
21

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenda Bertucci8 months ago

    Had no idea AI had so much control all over the place. I know some who use it for different projects, but I am not familiar with it. This had a lot of points and concerns. Shows the love for this community and the writers for starters. Well written and informative. Thank you for opening my eyes and others.

  • J. S. Wade8 months ago

    I reely like yur thots. Maybe if we created crazy content for a week it would create havoc for AI. I have thought about how to create a tracer on my copy in random places. Years ago, hard back publishers placed certification codes at random pages to stop pirating. I’m thinking of something in this vein … kinda scary. 😂

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This was such a worthwhile read. Some great points here Kayleigh.

  • Whatttttttttt? I'm not active on Discord so I had no idea these AI freaks are nominating themselves for Top Stories! That's atrocious! The audacity! Like even we wouldn't nominate ourselves! That's so unethical! God I'm so mad right now! Also, I deeply resonated what you said about our love for Vocal. Love doesn't abandon ship at the first sign or no matter how many signs of weakness! I do have a Medium account but I've never posted anything there before. I can't believe that AI freaks are at large there and with such a huge following!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Yes!!!! I hate having to change my words to avoid sounding like a fake but I def do it, 🫠I reaaaaally want to trust that it will get better!! 🫣🤷🏼‍♀️ I do have hope!

  • Ian Read8 months ago

    I think this encapsulates all of our well-justified paranoia. I certainly hope Vocal is listening and working on the issue.

  • Gina C.8 months ago

    This should be a Top Story! Admittedly, I feel like a loser when it comes to being able to identify A.I. work - I've also been out of the loop lately - but this was eye-opening. It's so sad that certain words are being overused like this 🥺 Admittedly, I like some of this words too 🫡🥺The whole A.I. thing is out of control. I noticed one person has submitted about 20 poems to the Alien challenge...I wish more was being done about this. Thank you for this story and your thoughts, Kayleigh! ❤️

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I love how you think so much! I have had moments where I was upset to be sure, but mostly I just feel bad that these accounts clearly have nothing else going on. What a tragic existence that they must copy people's work. I am confident that something will be done and in the meantime, we keep working and hustling for each other, the genuines we know!

  • Mohammed Darasi8 months ago

    😂😂 "energetically sensing stalker vibes" actually gave me a chuckle. Yeah it is sad coming across these AI poems. I literally seen one put up something like 8 poems in the new extraterrestrial challenge within minutes.. most of them weren't even related to the challenge 😅. I realised most of these (if not all) AI poems have simple rhyme schemes and are actually annoying to read, but like you said, when they keep using the same words (like rhyming light and bright) it can turn you off from these words (pun intended). I think vocal is definitely working on it, but I do realise it can never be stopped completely. AI is continuously learning, so whatever measures are put today, would need to be modified tomorrow. The only real way to stop these is to stop the motivation for people to post them... so changing policies on payouts and bonuses etc. But I don't know how feasible that is with actual creators on vocal. Greate article Kayleigh, and I love the encouragement for writers not to succumb to the whole thing and just keep creating.

  • Kenny Penn8 months ago

    It really, really sucks to see your hard work plagiarized. The AI thing is definitely getting out of hand, but at this point I’m trusting vocal to eventually take care of it. I wonder if anyone at Vocal has thought of not depositing money for top story for a few days. That would give them time to investigate stories that are reported. If these douche bags aren’t making money, maybe they’ll go away

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.