Humans logo

And the Award Goes To…. 🥇

my short list of highly inspirational teachers of the past few years

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 8 min read
9
And the Award Goes To…. 🥇
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

It took a lot of guidance from a lot of skilled people to help craft me in the wonderful human I am today 🤭✨

I want to share with you some of the most influential people I have learned from over the past few years. People I credit with significantly upgrading my software and helping me optimise my operating system ❤️✨

Yes, I sought them out and yes I did the work. But I recognise that I couldn’t have done any of that without their existence and sharing of their gifts. And every single one provides free content through YouTube or social media.

If you find yourself in a dark place without a clear exit, you have to start asking the right questions. Ask for help, ask for tools, ask for wisdom… it will come. Seek out teachers and you will find them. We are in an era that is filled with information and much of that is free. Take advantage of such privileged opportunity.

So this is some of my list….

Arranged in no particular order;

======================================================

Sadhguru

A valued gemstone of South Indian peace and wisdom, Sadhguru is the founder of the Isha Foundation. (Who are doing absolutely wonderful and important work on this planet). Sadhguru has an incredible amount of insight and wisdom about the yogic sciences, philosophy, meditation and most importantly - being Joyful.

He has a fantastic library of free resources on YouTube and his website, from wisdom teachings to practical tools yoga classes. He simplifies all that we complicate in life with such a profound ease you are left wondering how it took someone else to point out the obvious to you!

“Once you are blissful by your own nature, your life becomes an expression of your blissfulness, not a pursuit of happiness.”

Sadhguru

There are many, many quotes I could post by Sadhguru. But I believe his most profound are his reminders on joy. On how to return to joy, our natural state and that it is indeed a choice to be blissful or miserable once we engineer our mind and imagination to work for us and not against.

======================================================

Lewis Howes

I first found Lewis on YouTube through an interview he was hosting on his podcast The School of Greatness. From there I was hooked. Not only did he have fantastic guests on his show, but the more I learned of him as a person the greater my respect grew.

Lewis openly talks of the sexual abuse he experienced as a child and his long road to recovery from it. He is mind blowingly inspirational, a powerful motivational speaker, an author of a book you are sure to love (also makes for a brilliant gift) and just all round good human being. He took every ounce of pain he went through and built himself as a leader to inspire and uplift millions of lives. What more can I say, really?!

“Greatness is the result of visionaries who persevere, focus, believe, and prepare. It is a habit, not a birthright.”

Lewis Howes

======================================================

Louise Hay

Louise Hay was the first person to help me (and millions of others) truly understand that the root of disease lies in our emotional imbalance. She also helped me to understand that accidents are no accident. There is a metaphysical cause for everything.

The body is constantly communicating with us and will always tell us when we are imbalanced. We only have to learn how to listen and respond. Louise’s list of symptoms and root causes has proven immensely helpful to me over the years. As have her affirmations.

“When people ask me why my skin is so vibrant or how I can still travel, teach, and enjoy life to the fullest, I tell them that it has to do with the right thoughts AND the right food.”

Louise Hay

Louise is no longer with us but her work and legacy continue to reach new generations and unlock healing.

======================================================

Dr Wayne Dyer

Often the true healers and philosophers of this world did not arise from privilege. The were born into extremely challenging circumstances that helped them to deeply understand what is not life and love. Wayne was by his own judgement an angry and volatile alcoholic with failing relationships and health.

Until one day when he made a decision to turn everything around.

His personal story is truly remarkable and inspirational. He transformed his life from one of existence to one of profound joy and fulfilment. He dedicated the latter decades of his life to teaching, writing and sharing his spiritual experiences.

“Revenge, anger, and hatred are exceedingly low energies that keep you from matching up with the attributes of the universal force.”

Wayne Dyer

Wayne is also no longer with us but his teachings remain accessible and as popular as ever.

======================================================

Alan Watts

I am certain that Alan Watts is a household name. He described himself as a kind of spiritual and philosophical entertainer and presented many lectures and papers on the nature of life, existence and love over the course of his life. He published many enlightening books which were far ahead of the their time and helped many to marry concepts of Eastern and Western religion and philosophy.

Listening to Alan Watts lectures will gift you a much heightened and far more playful perspective on life and can save you decades of conventional therapy. You will find his talks on YouTube, in print and even in modern music!

By going out of your mind, you come to your senses

Alan Watts

======================================================

Dr Joe Dispenza

If you are not familiar with Dr Joe, clear your schedule and get the kettle on. Your health and life are in for a serious makeover if you chose that. Joe is on the cutting edge of modern scientific research and makes health academia accessible to the general public. He essentially teaches the most advanced neurobiology and epigenetics in layman’s terms.

He evidences the apparent ‘gap’ between miracle and science. He is the spokesperson that Jesus could have found quite useful back in the day, for he scientifically explains healing through the power of the mind. Illness, disease and chronic pain become a choice after unlocking your mind’s ability to heal. Joe will help you get there. And for free.

Can you accept the notion that once you change your internal state, you don’t need the external world to provide you with a reason to feel joy, gratitude, appreciation, or any other elevated emotion?

Dr. Joe Dispenza

======================================================

Marissa Peer

I think I found Marissa thanks to Mindvalley. I’ve since devoured her free content which includes TED talks and online events. I did her course via Mindvalley and it was positively life changing. She is especially helpful in helping you to unlock the fears, patterns and negative beliefs that are holding you back in life.

When you know and believe you are enough you don’t need more. When you feel and believe you are not enough you will always want more.

Marissa Peer

======================================================

Esther & Jerry Hicks

I debated this one… because you really need to built a solid foundation of open mindedness, understanding and trust (through your life experiences) of the metaphysical before even attempting to listen to this. But, well, here goes anyway! If you really want a simple crash course in the Law of Attraction - this is your woman (sadly Jerry died a few years back).

There are thousands of videos (usually animated) of Esther on YouTube giving talks and seminars freely available. She simplifies what humans make incredibly convoluted and if you can understand her teachings and implement them - your life will transform rapidly. You are what you think about. Your life is a manifestation of your thoughts.

YOU choose whether that is positive or negative depending on what thoughts you feed most. Complaining and constantly seeing the negative in everything? Don’t be surprised life seems to be against you. All it does is give you more of what you appreciate. If you are ‘appreciating’ the negative by talking and complaining about it… boom… more is on the way! Learn to stop and start to talk into existence what you want instead? It’s on its way.

If something you want is slow to come to you, it can be for only one reason: You are spending more time focused upon its absence than you are about its presence.

Abraham

By Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

I could go on… and on….

There a lot of teachers that I highly revere! But these are certainly the ones that I find myself prescribing to others most often.

Have you heard of them? Are you familiar with their work?

Empower yourself.

The sooner you truly understand that you are creating your reality, the sooner you can begin reprogramming it. It means you need to stop blaming others for your problems - which is the point that trips most people up and keeps them trapped in the ‘victim’ cycle.

It’s easier to blame the others.

Always.

It’s hard to accept that we have responsibility in what happens in our (adult) lives. The hurdle may seem big - impossible even - but don’t turn back. The cost of a blessed life is to understand your creative power, recover your health and to live virtuously. A single moment spent in that life makes you realise all else was mere suffering and enduring existence. I choose that single moment over repeating ten thousand lifetimes of mere existence. That is how powerful the feeling awaiting you is. That is how powerful true inner love feels. And it is experienced completely irrespective of your circumstances.

reviewsciencepop cultureliteraturelisthumanityhow to
9

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • AL. K.8 months ago

    This is wonderful work, I really enjoyed reading it.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    What a dynamic list! Sadhguru, WATTS!, and Dispenza are all beyond familiar to me and I can't even begin to say enough about the lessons I have gleaned from each of them. Truly Love them all! I am excited to check out the others you have listed here! Thank you for sharing, and for your wonderful insights!

  • I only know Sadhguru from the list you've mentioned here. I'm not a strong follower but I have watched a few videos of him in YouTube and TikTok. I enjoyed learning about everyone here, their principles and more. It was very fascinating! I'm so happy you shared this!

  • I had to read this after your comment on my post. This was beautifully written and I loved how inspiring this was. Well done Kayleigh! ❤️ I’m truly in awe at all the influencers you have written about here.

  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    That's awesome. My driving forces in my younger years were my mom and grandmother. Then I met Gina, my cousin's wife. Ben has been deaf since birth and he's the person who taught me ASL. When I worked for a company who always employed the handicapped, I met Donna and without hesitating became the interrupter for her (so he wouldn't need to carry paper and pen around). One of our co-workers made the comment: "Now I know what Donna goes through each day." I asked her what she meant and she replied, "You and Donna are hold what seems to be a great conversation and I can't hear anything you're saying." It made me realize that I had the best of both worlds. It made me feel better about myself.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.