Confessions logo

Get To Know Me #challenge

how about we begin September with something easy, fun & personal?

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - September 2023
73
Get To Know Me #challenge
Photo by Guille Álvarez on Unsplash

A fun and easy challenge that I think will be a very lighthearted way to get to know each other a little more.

We all bare our deepest pains in our poetry and weave them into our fictional tales but who else are we? What are some of the things we do for pleasure behind the scenes of our writings? What are some things no one would likely guess about you?

Choose any 10 of your random quirks or facts that come to mind, don’t overthink them! And share in your stories 🥰❤️✨

  1. I’m an exceptionally good cook. Sometimes I amaze myself with the creations I can knock together with random and limited ingredients! To the point I’m pretty sure I have sorcery skills when you put a coconut spoon in my hand 😉 My father was a chef so I learned a lot of basic knife and cooking skills from him. Sadly all things I learned to cook well were meat dishes… so at 28 when I stopped eating animal flesh, I had to learn how and what to cook all over again. Which wasn’t fun in the beginning but was oh so worth it!
  2. Fun related fact? I get nervous cooking for others. Fear of judgement and criticism seeps into my food and it downgrades my magic. Food doesn’t taste as good as when I cook just for me. My best cooking is always done alone. Usually singing. With dancing breaks. This is the exact reason I hate sharing a kitchen and won’t cook around others. It spoils my food!
  3. Kind of related. I have a massive amount of ever expanding knowledge in regards to herbal plants and food as medicine. I am highly skilled at prescribing solutions to aid the rebalancing of a diseased body or mind. The easiest way to say this? I am a healer. I am extremely skilled at helping people who genuinely want to heal, heal.
  4. I love watching auditions on YouTube like BGT and The Voice. I especially love singing auditions and I cry a lot watching them. Seeing parents who have clearly suffered so much and yet raised children who are confident, happy, dancing, talented and joyful? I’m sobbing. Hearing a choir of men sing - oh my heart! Sobbing. People who are so under confident and scared, and yet so talented and brave enough to push beyond their fear? Snotty tears! Just beautiful people sharing a beautiful gift that so clearly came from love? Yup, you guessed it…. Pass more tissues!
  5. I can’t / won’t sit in superficial conversation and I will leave any room where others are being gossiped about or discussed in a negative light. Small talk is not my thing. I struggle with it a lot. It’s only ever a precursor for me to work out (a) who this person is (b) are they dangerous to me and (c) how can I interact in a way that will lift their heart. Typically (c) is about confidence or empowering them into believing in their dreams / goals. It depends on the circumstances and how much time I have. Sometimes a genuine smile or a listening ear is all someone truly needs in that moment. To feel they matter. That they exist.
  6. I regularly give myself massages. Foot massages, Hand massage. Wrist massage. Neck massage. Leg massage. My body is very sensitive to tension and easily absorbs the pain of others. (I have some insane stories about this!). It needs constant love.
  7. I have spent over one year now in hiding from the Sri Lankan government after using my social media to speak out for and defend their citizens after numerous brutal chemical weapon and violent attacks by police and military. Now they won’t let me leave without putting me in jail. Apparently the British government couldn’t care less. And Scotland has zero power to intervene. It’s a long story. But let’s just say living with fear has become the new normal.
  8. I’m not scared of death. At all. I don’t believe in death. Or at least not death as some permanent state. Energy cannot be created or destroyed. I’m scared of pain, however. Hence I do not intend to hand myself over to confirmed sociopaths who have powerful accusations of torture against them and have proven to me their zero integrity.
  9. I love music. According to Spotify I’m in their top 3% of users for the most songs played in a year. Which doesn’t surprise me at all. Music is one of the fastest, zero effort ways to alter our energetic state and program our minds. I eradicated a lot of songs that I used to enjoy from my playlists this year after realising how unhealthy the lyrics or scattered beats were. You are what you eat and you are what you listen to! There is a reason your ears are in the shape of a pregnant womb! What are you impregnating to your mind? I’m now far more conscious about what I listen to 🎶
  10. I love to dance. I believe deep down that we all love to dance. Anyone resisting that statement was clearly hurt at a very young age. Perhaps mocked or led to believe they shouldn’t dance. Absolute codswallop. Stopped dancing? You stopped living. Get those tunes on and free that body!!

*************************************

*************************************

*************************************

*************************************

P.S

Please posts links to yours in the comments too ❤️✨

HumanitySecretsFriendshipFamily
73

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (79)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    It's mighty late but it is finally finished! I hope that you are feeling better! Have a goodnight!https://vocal.media/poets/the-tea-and-10-things-you-don-t-know-about-me

  • Poppy 7 months ago

    I'm super late but I finally did one! https://vocal.media/confessions/the-petals-of-this-poppy

  • Addison M8 months ago

    Felt I would get in on this great idea. Better late than never or something along those lines people supposedly say. https://vocal.media/confessions/cheerful-nihilism

  • Monique Hardt8 months ago

    Your 10 quirks are much better than mine, but I gave it a shot anyways! https://vocal.media/writers/i-m-a-phoenix-a-cliche-awkward-nerdy-phoenix

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    That was a fascinating read, Kayleigh! I can't even imagine how stressful the whole situation with the Sri Lankan government must be, though. I hope things get resolved soon and they will let you be! I agree with the rest of what you wrote, especially about death and music. Here is my entry to your challenge: https://vocal.media/writers/10-things-you-surely-didn-t-know-about-me

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Finally found your challenge! I'm going to enter! :-) Thank you for suggesting it.

  • Delise Fantome8 months ago

    And here I thought I was just about done with Challenges . . . Lol. Thanks! https://vocal.media/confessions/10-facts-about-me

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    This was a fun challenge. Love it and done it. ✔️ Thank you. https://vocal.media/interview/me-myself-and-i-a-starter-for-10

  • Kelsey Clarey8 months ago

    Thanks for hosting this challenge! Here's mine: https://vocal.media/confessions/behind-the-scenes-ujrp0rmo

  • Trip L.8 months ago

    our ears being in the shape of a womb is so interesting and is something I have never heard of before. I plan on looking more into this today and learning about what is more recommended to listen to. Thank you for presenting this challenge! I decided to partake: https://vocal.media/confessions/a-trippy-reflection

  • Nanette M. Day8 months ago

    I wasn't sure I was going to participate, but then I did :) Thanks for the inspiration! https://vocal.media/confessions/quirks-foibles-and-fears

  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    I decided to join the fun. What a great challenge idea, Kayleigh! https://vocal.media/confessions/me-me-me

  • Laura Lann8 months ago

    I'm late to this, but loved this idea! Congrats on top story :) As someone who also enjoys cooking and good food, I smiled at that section. I'm a big bread maker and baker mostly. Here is mine: https://vocal.media/confessions/the-other-sides-of-me

  • Thavien Yliaster8 months ago

    1. I don't consider myself to be a cook, but I don't get a lot of complaints. What kind of vegetarian or vegan recipes would You recommend for trying out from Your own culture? 2. Why so nervous when You know it's clean and that the flavors work together? Ain't nothing wrong with good food name well with good intentions. 3. Where did You learn all Your knowledge about medicinal products derived from plants? 4. Have You ever thought about joining a singing group Yourself? 5. Gossiping sucks. I'm not above it, but I do think there is a difference between gossiping and venting about one's frustrations about a person. 6. If You're always giving Yourself massages what if You have to go to physical therapy or need surgery? Massages may help with temporary pain relief, but what if there's a worse underlying cause? On a different note, try a sensory deprivation salt tank float. They're so cool. And what if You absorb others' pain so easily because they push Your boundaries constantly? 7. I hope You're using a VPN or something else to remain hidden from the Sri Lankan government. I don't know why Scotland or Britain would be involved unless You're living those territories as a lawful citizen. 8. Pain and torture is horrifying. Especially when death comes in fear inducing, painful, ways. 9. What You listen to is important. What You say to Yourself is important. Words are powerful. 10. You should give a listen to "Dancing" by Vicky Vale.

  • Dailyn Townes8 months ago

    Here is mine! Thank you for considering this challenge! https://vocal.media/confessions/you-don-t-know-me-yet

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    I finally got mine done: https://vocal.media/confessions/get-to-know-me-the-codger-edition Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Finally published mine💞https://vocal.media/confessions/m-e

  • Test8 months ago

    Here goes...This was so difficult! https://vocal.media/confessions/who-am-i-tm16u09q8

  • Mohammed Darasi8 months ago

    That's an interesting challenge to put out for sure. I think when you're in the spot, it's hard to think of 10 things about yourself, but it forces you to be introspective which is good. I'm a 100% with you on number 5. I truly despise small talk in general, and pointless conversations in particular. If you want to talk about useless things might as well just keep quiet 😅. Number 7 is kind of crazy. Definitely applaude you for going ahead with that, and can only wish you all the best.

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    This is such a wonderful idea!! I'm so glad that they gave it Top Story :) So many things you shared resonated (thankfully not the being wanted by a foreign government - so scary for you!!). Number 3 is something I have so much respect for :) And number 4 is something I do all the time!! Thank you for sharing yourself.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.