Confessions logo

10 Facts* About Me

For Kayleigh's "Get To Know Me #challenge"

By Delise FantomePublished 8 months ago 5 min read
3
10 Facts* About Me
Photo by Road Trip with Raj on Unsplash

*Facts may or may not be told by a possibly unreliable narrator! Such is life!

Honestly I always dreaded those school/work ice breakers that asked you to list 3 things about yourself like . . . what if I don't view myself as inherently interesting Drew? Huh? What if what I find interesting is in fact terribly boring, and then I become a pariah before I can even whip out my first dad joke? Well, luckily time has changed such a notion in me. Whenever I'm faced with a "new beginning" per se, and the awkward path of engaging with other humans is set before me, I like to think of this wise quote from noted Ghost Hunter and (rumored) satanic entity Shane Madej:

". . . I did meet some of the most insufferable people, that I ever . . . but they also met me." (Madej, 2019, Buzzfeed)

And that's the energy I take into new experiences now. I will not be rattled by mere mortals! My vibe will remain immaculate! Which brings me to doing this challenge because- hey, it's fun, it really is! Vocal's trying to foster a closer sense of community, and Kayleigh's picked up what they're putting down and carrying it onwards with this challenge. And I want to participate. So let's get into these 10 facts* about me:

1. I LOVE boba tea - To the point where, for two summers straight, I would drink some flavor variation at least once a week. If I'm out and about, and I think I'm near a boba shop . . . I simply must go! Specifically, I'm in love with fruit tea and just can't quite get into milk tea. I just don't like milky drinks, its . . . a texture thing?

By Chantel on Unsplash

2. I have made grown men scream - Which sounds more ominous than it really is, and was exactly what I intended. I was a scare actor for two years at Halloween Horror Nights and had some prime spots several nights in each run that allowed me to not only watch the terror curl and scrunch the faces of my intended victims, but also hear them and scream, and feel the vibrations from their bodies abruptly dropping to the floor in an instinctual prey-crouch. Ah . . . good times.

By Pablo Arenas on Unsplash

3. I have a lowkey obsession with Loungefly bags - Loungefly is a brand that creates handbags, backpacks, wallets, and more based off popular media from companies like Disney, Nickelodeon, etc. Currently I have 8 bags and two wallets . . . and I want more. They're just so cute! And I just wasn't able to transition from backpacks to full-time purses, because I feel like backpacks are just more secure? And the Loungefly's are too cute to limit myself to just purse styles . . . there's just so many I want.

By Oscar Ochoa on Unsplash

4. I love candles! - I really, really do. The love affair started, as so many things do, with Target. They just had big jars for $10, and I picked up one- I forget the name now because they discontinued it, but it was woodsy and smoky and so so amazing. From there I just kept buying candles as a little treat for myself whenever I smelled a really nice one from Target. Never more than $10, I promised myself. A promise I promptly broke when the theme parks started selling candles based on their rides- so far I've only bought the ones from Universal, though I did get two Disney candles for gifts to my siblings- and those were just under $18 when they first came out. Now they're creeping up to the mid twenties and my heart's kind of cringing . . . but thankfully Yankee Candle outlet stores soothe that ache.

By Joyce G on Unsplash

5. I've travelled outside the country three times - Two of those times were to visit family in Trinidad, and both times were before my sixteenth birthday. I haven't gone back since because . . . I don't much care for travelling very far away from my bed. The third time was to the Bahamas on another family trip, but no relations on that island.

By Adam Gonzales on Unsplash

6. My favorite holiday is Halloween!! - It's in the bio. It's on my Twitter. It's apparent in any social media account I have. I love it so much that, for me, Halloween starts September 1st and ends November 3rd (well, to tell you the truth . . . it's every damn day for me). Horror movies, spooky themed drinks, frights and haunts galore! I wear black a majority of the year, but when I go to haunted houses I try to get sort of "dressed up" by wearing merch from horror movies, haunted houses, or something similar. If I've got them time, I'll definitely add some cobwebs in eyelines at the side of my eyes, or do something funky with black eyeshadow. Yeah, I . . . . Spirits, I love Halloween!!

By sebastiaan stam on Unsplash

7. Taking a drive is one of my favorite ways to relax - When my eyes are too tired of reading words, when there's no Youtube video on earth that can tempt me, when I've finally rewatched my most favorite movies just one time too many . . . I love to take a drive. Just pick a highway, or a street, and take it all the way down. Or, in the case of roads like I-95, or I-4 or what have you . . . I take it down about an hour or so then turn back around. These drives, of course, are not so much an option when gas is above $3.70, but otherwise . . . the peace is worth the price.

By Jules PT on Unsplash

8. My top 5 TV shows in the past decade are: The Mandalorian, P-Valley, Bee and Puppycat, Ted Lasso, and American Horror Story: Roanoke! Let whatever this list says about me . . . simmer.

By Michael Marais on Unsplash

9. I really like building Lego kits - Don't know how I got into this- well, that's a lie. They had a bunch of Lego kits on sale at one of the stores, and I was just, like . . . "Oh it's a bricky Mandalorian and Groguuuuuu~" and it was only $16 (after tax)! But I didn't expect the . . . the feeling of serenity and calm that washed over me as I dedicated time and single-minded effort into building up these little figurines. After those two, I was hooked! Now I'm a Lego VIP rewards member and I've got three more kits hidden in my trunk, and eight others on my wish list. Christ.

By Daniel Cheung on Unsplash

10. I'm into Astrology - Well, I've had an on-again-off-again relationship . . . as in, I'm just now getting back on after having spent maybe six months off when I got a little too woo-woo with the Tarot delulu and maybe sorta crumbled up half my life. That was on me, I wasn't mentally stable enough to handle the seduction of Tarot Youtube. But I'm better now, and I'm staying leery of Tarot . . . but crystals have never done me wrong! Not once, not since I bought my first one in 2019 . . . and I just recently followed like two additional astrologers on Twitter. I've never been, nor will I ever be, someone who makes judgements or assumptions about people based on their signs of Houses, but I think it's really cool how so many times when you account for someone's personality or habits then check their chart it just so happens to be . . . right!

By Farzad Mohsenvand on Unsplash

Okay . . . this was fun! Thanks again to Kayleigh for the idea, and remember, stay frosty and happy hauntings~!

HumanityFriendship
3

About the Creator

Delise Fantome

I write about Halloween, music, movies, and more! Boba tea and cheesecake are my fuel. Let's talk about our favorite haunts and movies on Twitter @ThrillandFear

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.