Interview logo

Me, Myself, and I: A Starter for 10

Written in response to Kayleigh Fraser's #Challenge

By Caroline JanePublished 8 months ago β€’ 4 min read
Top Story - September 2023
40
Me, Myself, and I: A Starter for 10
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Honestly, I think this challenge thrown into the ring by Kayleigh Fraser is brilliant. I love reading about other writers. Her advice...Don't overthink it... Just 10 things that spring to mind that nobody will know about you. Get it down, quick list.

My days!

Okay, buckle up... here we go... in no order... just stuff about me you may not know or even want to!

1. I overthink everything. It's not debilitating, and it is never a negative cycle. My overthinking forms the shape of streams and streams of ideas. You will say to me, "I have had a thought on this." I, in response, will build on that little idea like you have presented me with the first stone of the Taj Mahal. Genuinely. Let me give you an example: From this challenge, I already have 5 chapters of a new book scoped out. I just had to break away from the snowstorm of ideas to get this list done. Thank you, Kayleigh - you fired a light within me when you started me thinking about this.

2. I get stuff done. A boss of mine once said to me that I could organise the life out of anyone. Charming, eh? True though. I am a bullet of a human. If I see the merit in something, I am all over it. I stay the course. I ensure nobody fails or gets left behind, and yes, it can be a self-sacrificing fault.

That said...

3. I can say no. I am not a pleaser. If I don't like something, I say so. Over the years, I have developed ways to do this quickly and effectively. Telling the truth is an art that too many people avoid. I am not a coward. I find ways to hold up mirrors, and I have the utmost respect for those who find a way to say stuff to me that needs to be said. Choosing words and getting your truth out is so important in a world that has "impact over intent" on a pedestal, like it could be the next great religion.

4. I am hugely tolerant, caring, and understanding of others, but I take no prisoners. I am at peace with the fact that I cannot be liked all the time. Nobody can be. I will stand up for what I believe in, and yes, I have stood alone a lot. If the cost of that is somehow personal to you, sorry, it is not meant to be. Like I said, I won't lose myself or my truth for fear.

5. I am the most optimistic person I know. When I was younger, another boss of mine told me that I smiled too much and that I clearly didn't understand the seriousness of the job because I was far too happy. Incredible, but true. I have had cancer twice, struggled with infertility, and gone through other shit I won't go on about (there are stories if you want to read them), but as I always say and maintain: Life is really, really hard and when faced with the hardest parts you only ever have 2 choices. 1. You do and get on with it. 2. You don't, and you spiral into negativity. Now don't get me wrong, I am not immune to anxiety, I feel the insidious clutches of that horrific condition every day, but as far as I am concerned, in that battle, the fucker can fuck off. I pray it never gets me, I feel for everyone it does.

6. My energy is off the charts. I have no idea why. Sometimes, I wish I could run to burn some of it off, but I have never been able to. What I can do is dance, which I do a lot, but not as often as I wish I could. Slowing down is a conscious effort for me every day. I am aware of how annoying and exhausting I can be. I have got better with age. Writing helps.

7. I am an amazing cheerleader. Nope, I am not jumping up and down with pompoms I am far too much of an archetypal tomboy for that. What I mean is that if I see potential in you, I will cheer you on with all my heart. I love seeing other people win.

8. I am fascinated by how people react and why. The range of emotion that falls out from seemingly banal events is endlessly intriguing to me. There is a beauty in this range of reactions that fills my heart with joy. It tells me, assures me, that in a world where everyone is clamouring to find their tribe for safety and survival, that there is still a cavernous and diverse array of echo chambers, and I love listening to the whole range; they are like music to me. I don't like all of what I hear, but they are fascinating.

9. Time is my life's antagonist. I am at war with it every day. There is so much to do. Life is wonderful, rare, and beautiful, and with every passing day, I feel it slipping away.

10. If something is worth doing, I want to do it well. I want to be a wonderful friend, a great mother, a fabulous partner, a caring leader, and a fantastic team player. I want to cook amazing food, write with all of my heart, love unconditionally, and be absolutely present for everything. I don't care if I fail, trying is everything. I just want to become the best that I can be.

And there you go. My quick fire ten things... Bet you wish I had never accepted that challenge now! Ha!

My family and I last Christmas. Peter and I have been married for twenty years.
Yeah, it ain't glamorous. The little mermaid I am not. A cake ambush in the sea by a few friends. Taken on my 49th birthday a few days ago.

Here is a link to Kayleigh's challenge:

Thank you Kayleigh.

Creators
40

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • tarun bhatt3 months ago

    Great list

  • Jay Kantor4 months ago

    Cj ~ Lovin' that Non Pleaser 'Tude ~ You so Pom-Pom-Me Jb

  • Abdullah6 months ago

    Well great artical

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer7 months ago

    Amazed I missed this, a well deserved Top Story! This bit atood out to me: Choosing words and getting your truth out is so important in a world that has "impact over intent" on a pedestal, like it could be the next great religion. OOF!

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    A phenomenal read, Caroline! I really had fun getting to know you better. I think we have several things in common too. :-)

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    All traits that make for good writing ;) This was very well done, incisive, and the flow of one trait/idea into another is so smooth and frank. Excellent work, and congratulations on Top Story!

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    This felt like you were focused and ready when you wrote and it read like an arrow delivered right to its target, if that makes any sense at all. It was excellent. Loved reading it.

  • Darkos8 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story so happy I arrived in Your profile Open hearted human beings are not so common on Earth !

  • Darkos8 months ago

    Oh Woaw You are truly amazing human being I love your way of writing and sharing Yourself and the courage You carry much Love to You ! Happy birthday ! lots of health happiness and smiles and laughs We live for the joy after all !

  • Zack Graham8 months ago

    What a great window into your life! I really like the variety of traits you chose to share: the contrast of being an overthinker but also not being a pleaser is unique, so really implies a sense of self awareness that I admire. Thanks for taking part in the challenge!

  • Monique Hardt8 months ago

    Congratulations on top story Caroline!! And I'm proud of you for being so brave and opening up unashamed like this. Personally I think you'd make a great mermaid!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work! Now we know! Congrats!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Woop, Caroline, woop! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    This is great!! I love #7 ☺️❀️

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    Loved this. It was great to get to know you more. Congrats on Top Story

  • Back to say congrats on stop Story ❀️✨πŸ₯°πŸ‘ŒπŸŽ‰

  • Celia in Underland8 months ago

    Super congratulations! Think this wholeheareldy says it all to THAT boss ;) 🀍

  • I loved reading this and seeing your photos! (I never thought to do this on mine … πŸ™ˆ) I laughed out loud at you recapping my saying not to overthink this …. Then 1. I overthink everything! Lol. This was written with humour I really enjoyed. I look forward to discovering your other work here β€οΈπŸ‘Œβœ¨ Ps. Happy birthday!!! 🎈

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    How lovely to learn more you Caroline! These traits of yours don’t surprise me, as they glimmer through your writing and comments. I bet you have a crowd of friends clambering for your attention πŸ˜‚. I am SOooo jealous of no.2! I wish I had that ability instead of drowning in overwhelm πŸ™ˆ

  • Happy belated birthday, Caroline! πŸŽ‚πŸ’– I'm most wowed by your ability to say NO. I'm a pathological people pleaser and I'm working on it. I enjoyed learning more about you!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    That was very energetic indeed! I sometimes wish I had that kind of energy. I do still get bursts and love doing things, sounds like you are putting that energy to good use. Really loved getting to know you better, thank you.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Sensational!!! As always, fabulously written!!! Love this!!!πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ

  • Celia in Underland8 months ago

    Great read and so joyous! Keep on smiling and um F*** THAT boss! 🀍

  • Lana V Lynx8 months ago

    This was a fun read, I feel like I know you better from reading this.

  • Excellent share Caroline, thanks for opening up for us

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.