Confessions logo

Get to Know Me: The Codger Edition

I yam what I yam

By Dana CrandellPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - September 2023
49
Get to Know Me: The Codger Edition
Photo by Shelley Kim on Unsplash

My entry for Kayleigh's Get to Know Me Challenge, which you can learn more about here:

I've been on the fence about entering this challenge for a while. I've decided to go ahead with it, because a few friends have left encouraging replies to my comments on theirs. So, here goes, and I'll try to keep it on the positive side.

Note: I think I'm a fairly open book on Vocal, so I may touch on things here that you already know. Feel free to blame it on my (lack of) memory. Ready? Try to stay awake!

  1. I'm “classified” as disabled. I have heart disease, severe osteoarthritis and degenerative disc disease with stenosis in my cervical and lumbar spine. I've had open heart surgery, which literally gave me a new lease on life. I had neck surgery scheduled a couple of years ago and canceled it when the out of pocket cost was too high. I'm blessed with a high pain tolerance level and I work through it. I also opted not to fight for SS disability yet, because I'm able to work and I don't see myself as disabled, yet. I lift, push pull, play with the dogs and do a lot of stuff that hurts. That will probably cost me one day, but I'll deal with it when the time comes. I'm no Superman; I just don't intend to stop living my life until I have to.
  2. I've been running a couple of businesses for more than 25 years. That gives me certain expectations when it comes to dealing with other entities, particularly in the area of customer support. I'm proud to say that my clients have always received quick responses and quick solutions, as well as extra contact with explanations when things go wrong. I expect the same level of dedication from others and I'm fairly outspoken about it. That tends to get me sh*t-listed often.
  3. I love to cook (like many of my friends on Vocal, it seems). Pam and I create meals that are to die for (not from). If you don't like oysters, you haven't tried my garlic butter, wood-grilled variety. Seriously. I have a list of converts. If you think dumplings are flat like noodles, I'm sorry. If you haven't tried one of Pam's culinary creations, I'm doubly sorry, but not likely to share.
  4. I tend to write a little part of me into most everything I publish, consciously or otherwise. For instance, the piece of furniture described in my story, “The Desk,” is based on the one I actually spend most of my day sitting at, facing my laptop on the credenza. Unfortunately, my desk has a laminate top, so there's no worn spot to connect to.
  5. I believe in helping others. That's been both a blessing and a curse. Turns out the “right” thing isn't always the smart thing.
  6. I love to teach, mostly because I love to learn. That's what's kept me at content writing for more than a couple of decades. If I don't know a subject well enough to write about it, I'll research it until I do.
  7. My home was a safe space long before “safe space” was a thing. It always will be. No, that doesn't mean I'll coddle you if your feelings are hurt. It does mean that if you are desperate or in danger, there's sustenance, shelter and if need be, protection here. There's nothing altruistic in that; I'm just a person with a lot of “paying it forward” to do.
  8. I don't have much love for organized religion, though I was baptized Baptist. I believe in God, but my image of him is probably best classified as non-traditional. I talk to him, and I'm sure there are times when he doesn't appreciate what I have to say. That will probably cost me one day, too, although I do also try to remember to say “Thanks.” What do I believe? There's much more to us, our world and the universe than we'll ever realize in this existence.
  9. I'm an over-thinker. I've rewritten this list twice.
  10. I'm a patient person. There are limits to my patience. I don't recommend testing them. Get off my lawn.

SecretsFriendship
49

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (39)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    Dana this was such a well comprised list of things that both feel like I knew and didn't! I already know 5 and 6 as you do those with me all the time (help/ teach me!) and #10 too! I really appreciate the patience you've shown me when teaching me different writing aspects and how to properly vocabularize / grammarize my work! I was a little shocked to see that you're an over thinker because you seem to level headed but I can see how that would be a thing! This was a great "article" thank you for sharing this with us!

  • Forexweb store8 months ago

    https://forexwebstore.com/product/captain-america-forex-mt4-indicator/

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Hey.. this is great! Lovely to get to know you. We have a lot in common too. How wonderful. ❤️

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Ah, as someone with a back problem who was raised a Catholic, I can say I relate to a whole heck of a lot here! Thank you for sharing it all Dana! I feel I know you much better and I am pleased to do so!

  • Codger edition...what a hoot. What a fun challenge. Congrats on the top story, it's great to get to know you

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    We seem to have a lot in common. I have medical problem that allows me a disability parking permit.( Blood flow problem in my legs.) But I don't feel disabled because I can do most things, it just takes me longer. Like you I ran my own company for many years and know that because of my belief in customer support is the reason it lasted so long. Also some part of me is in everything I write. Congrats on a well deserved Top Story.

  • Great Expectations

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    I very much enjoyed this! Congrats on your Top Story!

  • Jenna Tidd8 months ago

    I'm right there with you on #9, and #10 just made me laugh. Great finish!

  • "I'm proud to say that my clients have always received quick responses and quick solutions, as well as extra contact with explanations when things go wrong. I expect the same level of dedication from others and I'm fairly outspoken about it." The Vocal Support Team: 👀👀

  • Congrats on a well deserved Top Story ! It’s how I eventually got here ☺️ A really enjoyable read and getting to know you a little bit more 🥰 ❤️ 🕊️

  • Mazedul Hoque8 months ago

    Nice

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fantastic read!!! As always, spectacularly written!!! I don’t blame you fighting for SSI requires a lawyer. Not from experience but from what I've read. Thanks for sharing a little more of yourself!!! Cooked or raw, I'll pass on the oysters!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Matthew Mccahey8 months ago

    I wholeheartley agree with #5. It is a blessing and a curse helping others knowing more times than not you will be punished for showing kindness in some way. Great to meet you Dana!

  • Wow, Great job, and Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Mmm, dumplings. I’m still on a towering fence with oysters. Had them once, fried, lol. And I did not move from the fence. I enjoyed the codger edition. And congrats, Dana!

  • Celia in Underland8 months ago

    Congratulations! 🤍🤍🤍

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    Top story as is well deserved!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    I thought this would be a safe read while waiting to make dinner but nope… now I’m in a dumpling mood 🤣. We need a vocal cookbook. Is there one already??

  • Loved this, all of it! My favorite part was "If you think dumplings are flat like noodles, I'm sorry." I laughed hard out loud when I read it. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story - said standing on your lawn!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    So your home is safe - but your lawn.... Thanks for sharing.

  • Dean F. Hardy8 months ago

    I'm a simple man. I see a new Dana Crandell notification. I click. I read. I enjoy 🤷‍♂️☘❤

  • Scott Christenson8 months ago

    Nice list Dana. Short and sweet. I relate on so many of these, cooking, overthinking, religion. For my list, I think i just wrote a book...ask an aspiring novelist a few questions and the length of his answers...

  • Same here, I believe in God but not religion. Also, regarding your neck surgery that you cancelled, like is it okay for you to not have it done? I enjoyed learning more about you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.