Writers logo

10 Things You (Surely) Didn't Know About Me

My entry to Kayleigh Fraser's Get To Know Me #challenge

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
20
10 Things You (Surely) Didn't Know About Me
Photo by Jessica Loaiza on Unsplash

Hello everyone!

Vocal Creator Kayleigh Fraser recently invited us to share 10 random quirks or facts about ourselves. This is the Get To Know Me #challenge.

I cannot resist a good challenge, so here is my list.

1. I was born and raised in France before moving to Canada in 2003. I have dual citizenship. With that said, did you know that not all French people smoke cigarettes and drink alcohol? I do not drink coffee either! I cannot resist chocolate, though. Hazelnut is my favorite flavor.

2. I am an only child. But I have doppelgängers. I know that we are supposed to have quite a few, but the chances of meeting them during your life are rare. Well, guess what? I did meet one of mine. It was years ago, and she was just slightly older than me. We also lived an hour or two away from each other.

Another doppelgänger of whom I am aware died very young, at the beginning of the 19th century. When I initially saw the photo, I felt as though my eyes were playing a trick on me! After all, my mother used to dress me in a similar way when I was little. I also had the same haircut...

The link to that doppelgänger's photo is included below.

3. I love word games, especially crossword puzzles. I inherited that passion from my grandfather, who was so good that he could have entered and won national competitions. He was a treasure trove of knowledge!

4. I always smell and touch a book or magazine repeatedly before and while reading it. Old books, in particular, make my heart skip a beat.

5. My mother forced me to learn the piano between the ages 4 and 12. I adore the instrument but my awful hand-eye coordination is always in the way. Individual notes are the banes of my existence; I can only play chords. And if I have to look at the lower part of the sheet (left hand), my brain draws a blank.

6. My brain also draws a blank when it comes to spelling, directions and calculations. Describing how to go from point A to point B is a nightmare. "You know the store next to the building where we saw the adorable dog? I think it was a month ago, or it could have been last year. The building was red or maybe green? Well, there is an intersection across the street. Turn right and the bus stop is there. " - I am not kidding, that is really how my brain works.

7. Which brings me to what probably caused the issue in the first place. My mother was a petite woman and she gained several dozens of pounds during her pregnancy. So she knew that delivery would be difficult. After many gruelling hours in the delivery room, doctors decided that it was time to help her by using forceps. When I was out, there was no breathing, and I was cyanotic. It took them several minutes to revive me.

I suspect that the combination of forceps + lack of oxygen to the brain caused a slight damage somewhere. While I have had a perfectly normal life, there are simple things that I cannot do. For example, touching my face while looking at myself in a mirror, building things based on simple instructions, or playing board games that require specific strategy.

8. I am a minimalist writer, which means that I rely almost exclusively on the technique called "Show, Don't Tell". In my stories, the plots are furthered by dialogues and the unsaid. Haiku and theatre are wonderful teachers in that regard.

(Yes, I wrote a play, and you can read the beginning of it here. 😉)

9. The other thing I learnt from dabbling into theatre is that you should make the most of the space around you when writing. I live every scene. I move with my characters. I speak their lines as I type them. I experience their emotions. I see each detail in my mind. In a nutshell, I feel more like a witness than just a writer. And it makes stories more relatable too.

10. I can multitask like nobody's business and I only type with two fingers. I occasionally use a third one when I am in a hurry. 😜

That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

ProcessWriting ExerciseShoutoutPromptsLifeInterviewsInspirationCommunityChallenge
20

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Thank you for writing all this up Cendrine! It is an honour to know you better! I type with two fingers too! Any more than that, and I'm in 'sports mode!'

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    So fun to learn more about you, Cendrine! I am exactly the same with directions! Give me all the landmarks– even if it’s that dog we saw once. 😂 I also LOVE that you smell your books! It makes sense to take things in with all of our senses, and the rush of the scent of an old book actually gives me goosebumps. Such a beautiful thought, to appreciate not only the words on the pages, but the pages themselves. Such a beautiful picture of gratitude for the energy of the book, beginning with the tree itself. This little bit about you has given me so much inspiration, I almost have a poem stirring about it!! So happy you shared with us! 💫💞✨

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Wonderful insight into who you are. My husband shares the same problem with directions and would never get anywhere without a sat nav. Love the idea of writing as a witness, I can completely relate to that! Great 10 things. Thanks for doing this.

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    I read this when you posted it! What a joy to read. I NEVER would have guessed you type with 2 fingers. On a computer keyboard?? I can do thumbs on my phone, but I much prefer keyboards. You're super fast! I could type that way but would definitely have to practice to get my speed up to snuff. Wow, I can't believe your birth story! That sounds so awful for your mother too. Such trauma. I shake my head at how hospitals deliver babies. It makes no sense and causes so many problems for both mother and baby. So you can't touch your face while looking in a mirror? What happens if you try? I'm very interested in this, for some reason. I too suck at strategy games. I can do it if I really really dedicate the time to learn it, but I have no innate skill. I LOVE that you use minimalism; it's the hallmark of great writing in my opinion. I do like verbose writers in certain contexts, but only if they're able to show more than they tell. Some writers can do that, but it's much more enjoyable for me to decipher minimalistic pieces, like haikus, or just sit with the matter of fact tone of a story, like Hemingway, and fill in any blanks with my imagination. It's what words are meant to do as art, I believe. (another essay potentially? lol) Sorry for the long reply! Thank you for sharing more about yourself with us. :D

  • Thank you for sharing these with us, great to get to know you more

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I adore this challenge! Typing with two fingers is pretty intense. I also can't give directions to save my life lol

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    I so enjoyed this!! I have been completely intrigued with what people are choosing to share about themselves. And I share #10 with you!! Let's go multi-taskers!!

  • Test8 months ago

    Super interesting! It must have been so odd actually meeting your doppelganger-fasccinating, I can imagine how I might react if bumped into me! I really enjoyed reading and learning more about you! Thank you for writing and sharing! 🤍

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Excellent! I found the doppelganger bit really interesting. I've not encountered any of mine and I feel a bit put out about that really. All this talk of plays reminds me - I'm off to read the first scene of yours now before I get lured somewhere else.

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Nice to learn more about you. Thanks for sharing.

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Super-neat! It was fun 2 learn more about you!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Marvelous!!! Loving your 10 things!!!❤️❤️💕

  • I love that you found time to do this 🥰 I really enjoyed learning more about you and especially that reading this evoked random memories I had long since forgotten! I don’t know where I got my love of puzzles from… but give me a book of logic puzzle books (or jigsaws) and I’m lost for hours…. In later life word games on my phone became an escapism / addiction that I deemed healthier than others 😅 I love your directions… that would work for me! I also love that you opened with blowing up a strong stereotype!! I also avoid alcohol, coffee (and cigarettes) … but chocolate is a moon enhancing gift I can’t refuse (so long as it’s not contaminated with dairy!) ✨❤️✨❤️✨

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Good to get to know you more. Interesting you say about the smelling of the books and magazines, I know some who find it an essential part of the experience, myself included. Now I want chocolate.

  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    I knew a couple of these and was thrilled to know more 💕 Your “show don’t tell” approach is spectacular! And I am astonished by your typing practice haha. A teacher made me type with a dish towel over my hands so I would break that habit.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.