Confessions logo

The Petals of This Poppy

For Kayleigh Fraser's 'Get to Know Me Challenge'

By Poppy Published 8 months ago 3 min read
20
Image Created on Midjourney

Alright, let's all just pretend I'm not very late to this challenge haha. Here’s my ten facts about myself…

1. Poppy is a pen name. Yep, I write short stories and hopefully one day novels under my real name and the more vulnerable things like all my poetry and a few depressing short stories under this one - hence the shady profile pictures and my hesitance to do this challenge. So I'm going to be vague with my ten facts and let you get to know me without really getting to know me haha. So you can picture me standing in a shadowy corner, without revealing my face as you read this.

2. I'm a major Star Wars fan but passionately hate the contributions Disney has made to the franchise. I'll spare you the hours-long rant I could easily have, don't worry.

3. I love dogs!! You probably figured this out already if you read 'Pure Rapture'. I specifically have a soft spot for labradors.

4. Most dogs like me back!! I'm not even ashamed to say that might be my best accomplishment in life. Cats hate me though, but that doesn't deserve its own fact in this list.

5. I've self-published a poetry book - 'Wasted Love'. I also have a couple more planned out and ideas for a few ones after that.

6. I love reading fantasy and my favourite book has to be Six of Crows. It's incredible!

7. I'm Australian. So if my poems mention Christmas in Summer and Winter in July, I promise I'm not just dumb and don't understand seasons! Well, I may be dumb but it's not because of that.

8. My favourite number is 8. It's symmetrical both ways and is satisfying to divide and multiple. It just makes me happy. Speaking of numbers that are satisfying, volumes of any kind must always be an interval of five. I don't make the rules, my brain does, and it based these rules purely on what’s satisfying.

9. My poems will tell you this for you but I think I'm addicted to unrequited love. Sorry if my poems are repetitive, so is my brain. One day, I'll succeed in writing an inspiring poem but that day isn't today.

10. Despite having a love of writing, I have no idea how to leave good comments on your stories. Glad I got that off my chest. I feel guilty because I can only find so many ways to say 'I loved this', even though I did indeed love it. I'm completely in awe of those of you who always find a way to leave a meaningful, unique comment so often!

❀❀❀❀❀

Thanks to my Vocal Friends for reading my random facts, and thanks specifically to Kayleigh for setting this challenge!

❀❀❀❀❀

Here's Kayleigh's Challenge that I'm definitely not late to:

❀❀❀❀❀

Now I have to get this to the 600 word limit so here's some bonus material; some random little poems I've written.

❀❀❀❀❀

You loved me like

An arsonist loves

The flames

(Always running from them)

❀❀❀❀❀

He loved me

But only in the way that

Misery loves company

❀❀❀❀❀

You were

My highest hopes

And now you are

My dullest aches

❀❀❀❀❀

I hold pictures of us

In front of my eyes

In the same way

I hold my head

Under water

~

This is just a different way

Of drowning

❀❀❀❀❀

The clouds opened up

In solidarity for the way

You didn't come back

❀❀❀❀❀

You lost me

Around the same time

You lost your conscience

(I think that says it all)

❀❀❀❀❀

The moon reflects your light

Fire imitates your warmth

Dusk practises your embrace

You are the sun and

You keep my world

Turning

❀❀❀❀❀

Humanity
20

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Interesting to learn more about you! Agree with the 9 sentiment, there is definite symmetrical pleasingness to it!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Please don't spare us #2! Eviscerate them all one by one, I wanna read that!

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Thank you for sharing Poppy! I know how hard it is to open up, even on an anon account so well done! Your poetry really is outstanding!

  • Lol, why do cats hate you? What did you do to them? 🤣🤣🤣 And nooooo you're not dumb! You know what, I think that I am addicted to unrequited love too, now that you've mentioned it! Also, please, yoi never have to be sorry for that! I enjoyed getting to know more about you!

  • Thank you for sharing this bits & pieces about yourself, Poppy. I, too, love the number 8 inasmuch as it is the symbol for infinity stood on end & also 2 to the 3rd power, something I consider a bit of a numerical poetry. Multiples of 5 are good, but I also enjoy multiples of 3 & 9 (because if you continue adding all the digits of any such multiple, for multiples of 3 the end result will always be 3, 6 or 9 & for multiples of 9 it will always be 9), as well as a particular favorite prime, 17.

  • Really enjoyed this. I’m a big fan of fantasy books so I will be checking out Six of Crowes. As always your poetry is stand out

  • Interesting 😁🥰 glad you did one to join in. I’m really surprised by how many people doing wrote under their own name…. I think I’ve been torn to shreds by others sooooo many times that now I can stand strong in who I am and whatever I do… because I don’t crave their appreciation or understanding anymore. Of course I would love it as much as the next purring cat, but I don’t need it 😊😇 I’ve also kind of come to terms with the creepy and desperate old flames clinging on to me through my work and comments. It’s obviously what they need to get them through the day… eventually it will wear off…. So I keep my name 😇

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    yay! this gave me a big smile! I am surprised Thepoet wasn't your real name hah! joke! this was splendid and charming and late shmate!! who cares! I am glad you did it! nice getting to know you better! dont worry about the comments thing as I am always just glad to read your thoughts! at least you dont mumble like me, heh!

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Definitely not late. Nope nope! Haha I bet we would agree on a lot of things Disney related! I love the og star wars and that’s about it, though Mandalorian had SOME good parts in the beginning. I wonder why you are addicted to unrequited love. It’s a funny way of putting it. Maybe it’s just your muse for the time being. Well, I don’t think you suck at writing comments! I always enjoy reading them. :D Labradors make sense. Many in your images. :) Im intensely curious about your real name. Blue, right? Seems like a clue…I wonder if it starts with D.

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Well. I loved this!!🤣☺️ i totally get that pressure to say something “unique”. I think that comes from feeling that we need to really prove that our words are authentic (especially as we navigate the AI and spam landscape). Hahah that dang 600 word limit strikes again! 🤣. But yay for more poems! 😍😍

  • Oh, that poem is fire 🔥 😉🍁📝

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Well, now I feel like I know you better. My comment is creative, just like you asked for in your letter. If you’re cold, please wear a sweater! I loved reading your work, it’s like a fine piece of cheddar. You are truly a go-getter!

  • Enjoyable Insights and A Great Read Thanks for sharing with us🧡🍁👍😉💯📝

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Great to get to know you a little Poppy! 😊👍 I was reluctant to do this challenge. I tend to be fairly private so I don’t wanna freak everyone out with the truth lol! I shall think about it. I’m Aussie as well. I liked your poems at the end! Sometimes I too don’t know what to say in comments, so I just leave a very short “great work” etc which I suppose isn’t very meaningful, but it still shows support. Sometimes I don’t have a lot to say (although sometimes I do- haha) but I find a good way to comment is to reference a line in their story or poem that you related to or liked the sound of etc. That is what I’ve picked up on from other members, so I sometimes do that! 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.