Confessions logo

Me, me, me

A little primer on who I am

By Suze KayPublished 8 months ago 5 min read
11
Enjoying my first meal at the restaurant where I work!

Hi, and welcome to my world! I thought I'd jump on Kayleigh's challenge bandwagon and share more about who I am, what I do, and what I love.

1. I'm a New England girl at heart

I mean, come on! How vibey is this? Photo taken by my mom <3

I grew up in Massachusetts, and one day I hope to return to that corner of the world. I'm a person who needs four seasons, and Fall - my favorite one - is so special up North. The changing leaves, fires on a chilly night, cooking with the harvest, all of it makes me so happy.

These days, I live in Hoboken, New Jersey. I love it here - I'm close enough to NYC that I have access to every cool thing there, but far enough that my street is quiet and my neighbors can become my friends. I still get up to New England frequently, usually to visit my family or ski.

2. I speak German

My dad grew up in Germany and emigrated around the time that I was born. My mother is American, but learned German in college. They were committed to bringing up my brothers and me bilingually, and it mostly worked. My dad spoke German and my mom spoke English with me.

Unfortunately, I threw a wrench in their plans by refusing to speak English in my American preschool. So they transitioned to using mostly English at home. I retained most of my German fluency through high school and college, but my younger brothers didn't get as much exposure and it hasn't come as easily to them.

3. I studied Art History in college

We had a silly hat day at graduation - this was my take!

I went to Yale, and originally wanted to be a creative writing major. It wasn't in the cards. Luckily, around the time this became clear, I took the coolest class in the world: Furniture in American Life.

Every week, I spent hours in a huge basement warehouse packed to the gills with furniture and got up close and personal with it. The basement had everything, literally from the Mayflower to modern-day design. We treated each piece like a puzzle: What does the design of this table's foot tell us about where it was made? What does the scraping on its underside tell us about how it was used? What can the type of materials used to build the table tell us about its original owners? I was hooked!

Every time I left an art history class, I felt like my view of the world had expanded. Though I studied art from almost every genre, material, and geographic origin, I specialized in decorative arts and wrote my thesis on the use of performative inscription on American silver hollowware.

4. I'm a pastry chef

Nothing like a a boule of good sourdough

After Covid, I was floundering career-wise and needed a new direction in life. I lived with my parents for the worst of quarantine, and dove into baking to relieve some stress. When the world opened back up, I went to the Institute of Culinary Education in Manhattan and studied Restaurant Management and Pastry & Baking Arts.

Now, I work for a new restaurant in Hoboken. I am their only pastry chef, so I develop their recipes and am responsible for each aspect of the sweet stuff that hits the table. I love my job. It's been so rewarding to see strangers enjoying my food. Plus, it's a great conversation starter for awkward small talk at parties :D

5. I'm getting married in a couple of weeks

I've been with my fiancé for six years, and soon he'll be my husband! I'm very excited to spend the rest of my life with him, but honestly filled with anxiety about all the mechanics of our wedding. I've been on the phone and emailing with my vendors nonstop for what feels like months. And I hate being on the phone and emailing.

Any brides out there have tips on relieving stress? Ya girl is desperate.

6. I have a cat

My constant companion

Her name is Aura, and she's my perfect garbage baby. I got her five years ago through a rescue service and didn't realize that I was basically adopting a feral stray. She hid under my bed for the whole first week I had her, was desperate for love but had no idea what to do when I petted her so would scratch or bite in response for months, and liked to pee on soft things. Like my comforter.

She's come a long way since then. Now, she's very affectionate, chatty, and cuddly. My one gripe? She clearly prefers my fiancé over me. Come on! I pay the vet bills, I scoop the litter box, I feed her every day... and he's the one who gets the most love. So unfair.

7. I inherited my mom's black thumb

I love plants. Unfortunately, I am a very neglectful plant mommy and they do not last long around me. I've lost more than I can count to spider mites, overwatering, underwatering, fungus gnats, cat snacking, and just general malaise.

I used to make fun of my mom for the same thing. We always had dead or dying herbs on our windowsill. Karma's really coming back to bite me for that one.

8. I love to read

Groundbreaking, I know. I'm a big fan of thrillers, mysteries, and horror stuff. Stephen King is my favorite author - I just love how he builds characters, worlds, and plots!

My favorite book that I read in the last year would have to be 'A Certain Hunger' by Chelsea G. Summers. It's about a cannibalistic, nymphomaniac food critic. It's unbelievably dark, fun, and imaginative, and so well-written that I found myself gasping at Summers' prose frequently. And also, quite literally drooling over her descriptions of food.

9. I knit

Half of my photos look like this

Another Covid hobby that took over my life! I taught myself to knit in college and churned out a bunch of pretty basic scarves. It was a fun way to keep my hands busy in lectures or while watching TV.

Over quarantine, I majorly upgraded my skill level and obsession. Now I have achieved SABLE (Stash [of yarn] Acquired Beyond Life Expectancy), make all my own sweaters, socks, and winter gear, and have about twenty various works in progress at any given time.

10. I'm allergic to peanuts

I feel like I'm scraping the bottom of the barrel for this one haha.

Funnily enough, I accidentally inoculated myself as a kid by eating PB&J for lunch every day. It was a rude awakening at 17 to discover that what I thought was IBS was actually a pretty severe allergy to peanuts.

Sun Butter scratches the itch for me. But what I wouldn't give to eat a Reese's or a Butterfingers bar just one more time...

_______________________________

Phew! Now you know me just about as well as you can. Join in on the fun and tell me all about yourself, too :)

WorkplaceSchool
11

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    I love to read, especially thrillers, mysteries, and horror. Stephen King is my favorite author, and 'A Certain Hunger' by Chelsea G. Summers is a recent favorite.

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Lovely to get to know you. All the very best for your wedding. I have been married for 20 years so I can offer insights on longevity, but as for the day itself... forget it. I cried all the way down the aisle. I am a soppy so-and-so. Thanks for sharing! ❤

  • I love that you knit! And have tarot cards 😉 and a beautiful cat… I hope you have so much fun on your wedding day 🥰 (I also hope you will write about it for us and as photos? 🙏) I laughed out loud about your refusal to speak English at preschool… that’s pretty hilarious 😆 A strong free spirit!!! Thank you for sharing this with us.. this was so interesting to read 🥰🕊️✨❤️

  • Ashley Lima8 months ago

    You're so cool! Loved learning more about you. Congrats on your upcoming wedding :)

  • Test8 months ago

    Nice to read about you. So interesting! And how cool to be a pastry chef and enjoy what you do. 💙Anneliese

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh8 months ago

    No help for you in the stress department. Nope, none at all. I was a freaking wreck before my wedding. So all I can say is .... congratulations! In a few weeks you won't have to be stressed about the wedding anymore, just the thank you notes.

  • Ariel Joseph8 months ago

    I'm adding A Certain Hunger to my reading list, it sounds wild and I think I have to read it. Aura is adorable 🥰 Congrats on your upcoming wedding! I know the planning is so stressful, but I hope the day ends up being everything you want, and a wonderful experience to remember for you and your fiancé!

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    love it and congrats on the wedding! as hard as it is, just enjoy it, literally nothing happens without you and it's the one day in your life you can be unabashedly selfish about your happiness.

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Congrats for the forthcoming wedding and well done on this, Suze! It was fascinating learning more about you! You definitely have a lot of different cool skills and the fact that you are a pastry chef of all things makes you particualrly special! I love baked goods, hehe! Well done on this!

  • Andrei Z.8 months ago

    Congratulations on you getting married! Is telling your fiancé "You deal with all these annoying technicalities" an option? :-)

  • Alivia Varvel8 months ago

    Thanks for sharing this! I honestly find it super cool that you’re a pastry chef. That pic of you at work is 👌🏻 And I LOVE your sweet kitty 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.