Confessions logo

All that Jazz

About Me and an alternate podcast name???

By Jazzy Published 8 months ago 3 min read
27

I love this trend of talking about ourselves and being able to explore the people behind the stories. Kayleigh Fraser had this AMAZING idea, and we can keep it going! Here are ten things about me. Please feel free to comment with your commentary! Who else keeps thinking about the movie “10 Things I Hate About You” while writing this prompt???

1. I have worked as a nurse for over four years. The areas I worked in included ICU and ER. While I loved working in a hospital for many reasons, I ultimately decided to get into preventative care. During COVID, I worked in the ICU and still have PTSD from that experience.

2. I am an extrovert with introvert-like tendencies. I am excellent in groups, but I have a social battery that, when it runs out, I'm FRIED. Much like Kayleigh, I absorb people's energy, and I have to be careful about that. Hence, I couldn't be in trauma situations anymore, and I would cry every time I lost a patient. Every. Single. Time.

3. My husband and I are super into health and wellness and biohacking. We try all the products and theories on what to do for a more productive body, such as cold showers and peptide therapies. My current obsession is our new 8sleep, a cover for the mattress that regulates the temperature of your bed. Super high-tech. If you have questions about any biohacking-type things, we are the people to ask.

4. I LOVE music so much. I am not super musically inclined for instruments, though I minimally play the guitar and piano. I love to sing. My daughter and I sing constantly. Her two memorable bedtime songs are “You are My Sunshine” and a song I remember from Barney that she affectionately calls “I Love You Song.”

5. I play competitive tennis and practice 2/3 times a week. My husband is a tennis coach, and we both share a love for tennis that is simply divine. We are teaching our five-year-old, and she will probably be better than me.

6. My favorite trait for people is free will. One thing you may notice in my poetry and writings is that I commonly refer to people's decisions and how they must accept the consequences of those decisions. I’m incredibly open-minded and love to debate to know other sides of a person or issue. I wish more people could see how powerful we are as humans to make decisions and that we are architects of our universe; there is no right path. Follow your path!

7. I am making a writing course to help people write poetry. It will be self-led but with prompts and meetings with me. I know some people struggle with writing, and all I want to do is help and learn from others. I find that a course is a BEAUTIFUL way to make that happen.

8. When I originally signed up for Vocal, it was to keep myself accountable. However, being on the site, I want to be more involved. I want to collaborate and make more with others, such as my poems with Poppy the Poet and Real Poetic. They were a blast, and I loved seeing how they managed to work with me. The podcast was also a product of wanting to get more exposure for other writers, and I'm so glad Vocal has been a part of that process.

9. I rarely brush my hair unless it's a night I ask my husband to touch it for me. My hair is curly and kinky and tends to puff up like a poodle, so for the most part, I let it be wild. However, the feeling of having my brush is close to orgasmic, so it's nice when he brushes it for me.

10. Ten Things is a lot of things to write about myself, jeez. Last, my husband and I Co-parent our daughter with my ex-husband and his wife exceptionally well. We often hang out together at their house, and my ex-husband's wife is one of my best friends (she was even at my wedding to my husband!) I know many situations aren't like this, but I am fortunate and grateful to my blended family.

Well, that's what I got so far, maybe I'll write more. But for now, there's 10 things about me.

SecretsFamily
27

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Let's pretend I'm not reading this super late😂 I love this and it's inspiring me to participate in this challenge even though that will also be super late hahaha. Thanks for sharing my poem! You're doing a great job of being involved and getting other writer's exposure. I said this in my latest story but I've just been referring to you and a few other creators as my Vocal Besties in my head now for awhile😂 And number 9, is my favourite fun fact! I also have curly hair and spent way too long hating it because I brushed it instead of embracing it. It makes me unnecessarily upset when I see people who have brushed out curls😂I could go on about this topic for way too long but I'll spare you haha

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Cool getting to know you and your experiences, really honest and fun. Great work!

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Hello fellow empathic extrovert. Great shares. Thank you. I am loving reading these entries and getting to know the person behind the names and writing. Fantastic challenge!

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    So kool! It was fun learning more about you Jazzy! 😊

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Brilliant! Thank you for sharing Jazzy! 'All that Jazz' is a great podcast name!! I loved reading about you in more detail, you're a wonderful person! <3

  • Dailyn Townes8 months ago

    I loved this! Thank you for sharing, Jazzy! 😁 Hopefully, one of these days, we can collaborate on poetry! Also, I genuinely thank you for what you have done for me over the past few weeks. I can't tell you the level of admiration that has increased because of you sharing my poetry and stories. You have literally inspired me to write more often (when I am not hampered by work, no less), so thank you again! You are amazing! #Jazzon!

  • I never knew that an extrovert could also have a social battery that runs out like we do! I love that you and your daughter can sing! Can you guys please sing in your next podcast episode?

  • Test8 months ago

    Thank you for sharing yourself here. There are so many interesting things about you. I admire your perspective on free will. From the spiritual side, we are here to experience life, not necessarily to be perfect... which means we make decisions and live the life we create as best we can. Enjoy your writing style, even in something like this which drags us out of our comfort zone. Very nice. 💙Anneliese

  • Berry Driven8 months ago

    What a beautiful and light-filled mind. I will continue to enjoy your works.Happy to have found you.

  • Missclicked8 months ago

    firstly, i love the picture!. secondly thank you for sharing insights about your life i loved reading it. lastly, you play competitive level tennis! that sooo impressive

  • Sara 8 months ago

    Curly hair gang :) and medical field gang. I love that you are doing so much to help other people express themselves and find their voice. I truly admire that about you. Was awesome to get to you know more.

  • I remember us talking about your time as a nurse. (Again thank for your service during an extremely difficult time.) By the way curly girls unite.

  • Test8 months ago

    I really enjoyed reading and learning more about you! So, so much respect for nurses -I honestly don't know how you do it! As always really well written and insightful. It's so lovely to hear about your blended family am how happy you have all become. Love this so much because so often it goes completely the other way :/ Thank you so much for sharing 🤍

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    Being a nurse is not easy. I commend you! It’s so great to hear about your blended family. Sounds like your little one has so much love! Thanks for sharing.

  • Ariel Joseph8 months ago

    Thank you for your work as a nurse. I can only imagine what all you experienced in the ICU and ER. #9 is so relatable. I also have very curly, thick hair and love the feeling of brushing but rarely ever brush out the curls because it gets so big and triggers memories of friends breaking their brushes in my hair 😭

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Being a nurse is quite admirable. I feel like I need to say thank you for your service because you are out there helping others. I enjoyed getting to know you better. Loved the play on words with the title, It’s perfect!

  • This was of course one of my favourite reads today ❤️✨😇 I didn’t realise you worked in ICU over covid times… 😳 I can only imagine the horror of that. I had left nursing the year before which in hindsight was a good thing. I’m super excited to hear you are developing a poetry course! This will surely be successful and a permanent background income stream 😇 a brilliant idea that I wish every success for ! Xx

  • Mohammed Darasi8 months ago

    It's great to know more about you, and the title would definitely be a nice podcast name 😂😂.

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    I'm loving Kayleigh's challenge so much!! What a joy to learn more about you, Jazzy :) And I have so much respect for people that play tennis. Such incredible athletes. Thank you for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.