Confessions logo

10 Random Things About Me

Get to Know Me Challenge from Kayleigh Fraser

By Ian ReadPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
16
A picture of me next to a series of Bronze Age barrow mounds in Salisbury, England; photo by author

Kayleigh Fraser has asked me to participate in her September Get to Know Me Challenge. I think it is a brilliant dare as it allows you to get to know me, the man behind the profile. So, without further ado, here are 10 random things about me:

  1. I was born during a Nor’easter: Nor’easters are a common and ‘well-loved’ feature of New England weather. They are essentially intense ice blizzards with high winds. My dad drove through it while my mom was in labor. Unsurprisingly, I love winter and snow to this day.
  2. I love animals: I am not entirely sure why, but my grandfather, father, and I were always able to relate well with animals. This is why our family has taken to keeping pets in the house. Currently, I have two black cats named Julius and Augustus. They are two bonded brothers from the same litter that my dad had found at a local rescue shelter. We originally wanted only one, but we couldn’t split them up. My dad tried to get my mom to bring home a third, but there was no such luck.
  3. I am an archaeologist: I have a Bachelor of Arts in Classical Archaeology from Saint Anselm College in Manchester, New Hampshire and a Master of Arts in Iron Age and Celtic Archaeology from the University of York in York, England. Despite this, I have no formal training in creative writing aside from some assignments in high school. It is primarily my training as an archaeologist that inspires my fictive work, namely my knowledge of material culture, history, society, socio-material relationships, and anthropological theory.
  4. Learning has always been one of my favorite hobbies: As a child, I loved school (except for math, I have always hated it). This probably explains my attraction to academia. Some of my favorite things to learn back in school were history, science, language, and art. Come to think of it, this explains a lot about my chosen career, and why I continue to love language learning software, museums, and public lectures.
  5. I will do serious damage in a bookshop if you let me: I love books and reading and I am a sucker for a good story. Despite not having much of a budget on most occasions, I will attempt to buy out the place if I am not stopped. Conversely, my ‘to-read’ list measures at least seven miles long by my most recent survey.
  6. The first book in my own collection was a pocket edition of Edith Hamilton’s ‘Mythology: Timeless Tales of Gods and Heroes’: One of the first physical books that I called was mine was a popular mythology primer. Indeed, I have a fond childhood memory of going to Barnes and Noble with my mom and dad and picking it out. I honestly think it was my dad’s love of history rubbing off on me initially, but that book went on to feed my curiosity about mythology and folklore’s role in history and human perception of the world. While this was no doubt an important moment in my childhood, it had the unfortunate consequence of me having read many Greco-Roman, Norse, and Celtic myths long before titles like Percy Jackson and Eragon. In fact, I am still catching up on many of the more popular titles to this very day.
  7. TTRPG’s have gradually become one of my biggest hobbies: While I am relatively new to the tabletop scene, fantasy roleplaying games and cooperative storytelling have gotten me through the most difficult parts of the last six or so years. Over the last four years, I have started running a few games myself. I even have a homebrew setting with long-term plans to publish it. Most recently, I have been a player on the podcast This Campaign in Ruins, an archaeology-themed Dungeons and Dragons podcast run entirely by archaeologists and historians.
  8. I have lived long-term in three different countries: I have been lucky enough to see many places over the course of my education that I never dreamed I would. After a while, you learn to live and travel as frugally as possible as a student (trust me, I have burned many a hole in my wallet to get my degrees). While I have spent most of my life in the United States, I have also lived in Italy and the United Kingdom. This time has not only served to fuel my fascination with people and culture, but I have made many friends that I wish were possible to casually visit on the weekend.
  9. I live for experience: If there is something new that seems like fun, I will always want to try it. Whether it is a new place to travel or a new activity to try, I will be the first person in line to go.
  10. I love food and cooking: While this partially stems from my love of trying new things, food itself is an expression of art and culture that I am particularly fascinated with. Not only will I want to try new dishes, but I will also want to attempt to make them if I am able. Already, I have basic proficiency in the kitchen, and I find simple cooking very relaxing. One thing I haven’t quite mastered yet is baking, but I do certain dishes from my heritage well like tourtière (French Canadian meat pie) and classic French madeleines.
  11. I hope you enjoyed this little dive into my story! Feel free to drop a like, comment, insight, and subscribe for more content.

    Also, don't forget to check out Kayleigh Fraser, the amazing creator who gave me this prompt!

    Is this your first time on my page? Check out my Vocal catalogue in the link below to discover more articles and stories from me.

FriendshipSecretsHumanityFamily
16

About the Creator

Ian Read

I am an archaeologist and amateur story-teller. I publish a variety of content, but usually I write short and serial fantasy and sci-fi.

Find me on:

||Discord||Twitch||

From New Hampshire

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Alexander McEvoy7 months ago

    I feel like I know you a little better now, Ian! And not only that, but I relate to you a lot more! My ex had the job of keeping me out of bookstores lest I try to carry away the whole fantasy and science fiction section lol One of the first books I remember being gifted was a children's collection of Greek myths that sparked my adoration for folklore and mythology! Super glad to have this glimpse into your story :)

  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    I think this was one of the best challenges!!!

  • Yusuf Alam8 months ago

    👌👌👌

  • Brin J.8 months ago

    I feel like I know you a little better now. 😌 We share a lot of the same interests, though I must say your degree is super cool. Funny how we nerd out over things once we reach a certain age. Lol. Also, I need to point out that your intro to number 5 was spectacular! I definitely snorted.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work! Now I feel like I know tu better! Fantastic

  • Oh nooooo! Why aren't there pics Julius and Augustus? I would love to see them! I enjoyed learning more about you!

  • Kelsey Clarey8 months ago

    TTRPGs really take over your life without you expecting it! In a good way, though, in my experience. I'm also very jealous of your archaeology experience! I did my BA in Anthropology and History (with a lot of my focus being on archaeology and physical anthropology) and always wanted to go for my MA in archaeology, but the financial commitments and moving around I need to do have just never seemed quite feasible.

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Interesting to see some of the experience that has coloured your writing 😁

  • Test8 months ago

    Interesting to read about you I wanted to study egyptology ar university - alll of that stuff is so fascinating. Super cool that you are an archeologist! Thanks for shating! 🤍

  • When I was a child… I was so drawn to Egyptian history and Greek mythology and stories of the gods… I remember saying I wasted to be an archaeologist…. But somewhere that was declared a stupid dream and I let go of 😕 I love that you are living out this timeline!! I also love that you come from a family of witc….. sorry….. animal lovers…. 😉🥰 A truly enjoyable read… so glad to see your addition to the challenge Ian ❤️✨🙏

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    I've never met an Archeologist until now. That is so cool and admirable. I used to live in Colorado in the mountains. I was always on the lookout for strange stuff while hiking. Never found any lol but know it's out there. I feel sorry for those bookshops. Not really, they deserve to stay in business and people like you contribute to that. Well done. I really enjoyed getting to know you better.

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    I envy you living out my childhood dreams

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    It was great to get to know you Ian! Youre a great presence on here. Im fascinated with archaeology as well, and i love your cats’ names (my bf is named Julius) 🐈‍⬛🐈‍⬛ thanks for sharing with us!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.