Fiction logo

The Mortal Masquerade: A Microfiction

A Campfire Story Challenge; a Poe-esque horror story

By Ian ReadPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
10
The Mortal Masquerade: A Microfiction
Photo by Rodrigo Rodriguez on Unsplash

Opulence, by its very definition, is cruel.

I have watched for hours and hours while these aristocrats have reveled in their frivolous masquerade. All in this place was gathered for them at enormous expense, a novel concept by their reckoning. The orchestra was airy, the dances were joyous, and hundreds of goblets passed many hands, the wine the color of blood. Here in their den of iniquity, they drowned themselves in riches and dulled their senses with pride and arrogance. They have all but forgotten the terrors they abandoned to the world outside their sealed fortress walls. This is why they could never divine my purpose.

Many nights I spent among the revelers, none were wise enough to see me, to understand my true nature. Laughter and gossip rung the halls as I passed as silent as a creeping shadow, a phantasm among the merry. I alone was the subject of idle rumor, easily recognized, discussed, and summarily forgotten. Idle fascination was the only disguise I required in this endless charade. So much the pity for them.

It was only when I stepped over the first corpse that I knew my plan was nearly complete. The gathering crowds were oblivious as each one drank from their poisoned wine. Beneath my dread mask, I danced with each and every lord and lady as they all fell one by one. Before long, not a soul remained except for me.

For I alone... am Consequence.

***

Thank you for reading!

This story has two main inspirations. Firstly, this was loosely inspired by the short story "The Masque of the Red Death" by Edgar Allan Poe, one of my all-time favorite authors. Secondly, this was submitted as part of Mother Comb's Campfire Stories challenge. I definitely went more the gothic route, but I always like putting my own spin on things. See the link to her article below.

As always, if you enjoyed the story, like, comment, and subscribe for more!

thrillerPsychologicalMicrofictionHorrorCONTENT WARNINGpsychologicalfictionCONTENT WARNING
10

About the Creator

Ian Read

I am an archaeologist and amateur story-teller. I publish a variety of content, but usually I write short and serial fantasy and sci-fi.

Find me on:

||Discord||Twitch||

From New Hampshire

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧8 months ago

    Wow, I love this! This is incredibly well written. I tip my hat to you, Ian!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad8 months ago

    Great job! I KNEW it had to be inspired by “The Masque of the Red Death”. I love that story! Have you ever watched the Vincent Price version? They obviously had to expand a lot on the story to make an entire movie out of it, but it’s still pretty good, given the time period. Anyway, I loved your story. Thank you for sharing it with us!

  • Oooo, this was sooooo brilliant! I wish I can poison people and end up being alone, lol!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Elegantly horrifying! Well done!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Is he Death? 😮 Or just a disgruntled chap?

  • Mohammed Darasi8 months ago

    That was a great suspenful story. You can feel the disgusted and lofty tone of the main "character" here. Amazing personification

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Great job!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fabulous campfire horror story!!! ♥️♥️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.