Fiction logo

Illogical Fear

a 100 word story

By M. LeePublished 13 days ago Updated 7 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
17
Illogical Fear
Photo by Cody Board on Unsplash

“There’s gotta be a logical explanation.” He said, and put his nicotine-stained fingers on the kid’s bony arm.

“I swear, I saw two red eyes glaring at me from below the stairs.” The kid babbled. He was always babbling.

“Just git to damned sleep.” He growled, wondering how his ex-girlfriend could even handle the little son-of-a-bitch. He was the father, sure, but not by choice. Courts forced them together after her suicide.

“I’m scared!” The kid whined.

“Boohoo. Get outta here before I smack the stupid outta ya!”

Red eyes blinked beneath the stairs.

“There’s gotta be a logical explanation.”

* * *

© M.Lee / All Rights Reserved

thrillerShort StoryMysteryHorror
17

About the Creator

M. Lee

BA English. MFA bound. INFP. Published author, poet, lyricist. Dreamer, creator, artist, teller of tales, lover of words, singer of songs, reveler of life.

Tip me

All my work is authentically created by me— NO AI

⭐️5 Top Stories

©M. Lee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 9 days ago

    Congratulations on TS! I was pulled in by the real world way the conversation went! Fabulous job! And I hope he is nice to the kid or those eyes….

  • Anna 10 days ago

    I loved your short story! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Caroline Craven10 days ago

    Can’t believe this was just 100 words. So much back story and emotion. Nice one.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Ameer Bibi10 days ago

    Your story is amazing! Fear and mystery surrounding the red eyes under the steps captured my focus. Congrats on Top story

  • Catsidhe10 days ago

    Love the open-ended possibilities of this one and imagining what comes next! Well done!

  • Oooo, a wonder who or what those red eyes belong to hehehehehe

  • Kendall Defoe 13 days ago

    Yikes! I'm keeping my feet under the covers! 🛌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.