Longevity logo

Would You Go The "Extra Mile"?

Today's Spartan Race And How It Relates To Success In Life

By Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.Published 14 days ago 5 min read
3

Help Change The World by Voting for Mr. Health and Fitness 2024! Read to the End to see How this Impacts The World!

---

Part of the work I do with Clients Focuses on Psychophysiology and how it Relates to Leadership.

I often help clients figure out ways to Improve their Psychophysiology to accomplish their Goals.

However, I also believe that we should be Exemplars of our Work.

For me, this requires me to hone in on my own Psychophysiology and show clients what is possible for them.

One of my favorite ways to accomplish this is to train for and do Spartans Races.

This weekend I am going to do 3 Spartan Events.

Today I did a Spartan Super, a 10k+ Race with 25+ Obstacles (Officially there were 29 Obstacles).

Tomorrow I have a Spart Sprint, a 5k+ Race with 20+ Obstacles, and a Spartan 10k Trail (All Running, No Obstacles).

By the end of the weekend, I will most likely have 25k+ and about 50 Obstacles completed.

This is what I call a fun weekend!

Now, going back to Today's race, I felt that the race went very well!

There are some Obstacles I have struggled with in the past which I have been Focused on Training for, and my training seems to have paid off!

For instance, there is an Obstacle called Olympus.

From Spartan's Website: Inspired by bouldering, Olympus is an obtuse angled wall with a plethora of holes, rock-climbing holds, and short chains to grab onto. First pick a route or freestyle as you go. Any of the handholds may be used, as long as your feet don't touch the holds.

They made a change 2 years ago where the chains used to have a ball-end that I had used to help swing across, but they got rid of them.

So, this year, I finally figured out another way to use body momentum to help get across which was exciting!

Then there is also the Atlas Carry which I've never failed but always struggled with.

From Spartan's Website: Summon Celtic strength to lift a 100 lb/45 kg stone up, carry it around a flagpole, and haul it back to the start.

I've always been able to get the 100 lb stone through the obstacle, but today I was able to hoist it up to my shoulder and do the obstacle easily!

Of course, there is also my worst nemesis... The Hercules Hoist...

From Spartan's Website: "Herc" is essentially a heavy sandbag attached to a rope and pulley system. Each competitor must pull on enough rope to raise the weight to the top then gently lower it back down without it free-falling.

Now, I'm a fairly "light" guy when it comes to physical build, so I don't have a lot to use to help me lift the bag high into the air.

This means I have struggled with this obstacle many times in the past.

However, today I got it with flying colors!

At the end of everything, I successfully completed 28/29 Obstacles, only missing the Spear Throw.

It is exactly like it sounds - you throw a Spear at a target.

You get 1 chance, and if you miss that is it!

I've got around a 70% Success Rate with it, but today was not one of my Successful Days!

Such is life at times when we slip up, and we move forward from there!

Now, many people think a 10k and 29 obstacles is a lot.

Not to mention that tomorrow I have another 15k of running and 20+ obstacles.

But I saw something new today during the Spartan Race.

I crossed the Finish Line, got my Medal, and my Official Finish Time was marked down by the Computers.

That is when I saw it...

A Challenge.

A Provocation.

A Test.

A Declaration of War against Honor.

"Will You Go The Extra Mile?"

It was an addition to the Course, all After completing the Race.

Not required, but there, taunting competitors at the height of their Hubris.

What would you do?

Would you call it "good enough" at the end of your race?

Would you save your strength and stamina for the next day with the 15k and 20 obstacles upcoming?

Would you walk past it?

Or would you Accept the Challenge?

I Believe that if you are going to Succeed in the World, you must "Always" go an Extra Mile.

Most people are Happy to do Work.

Many people will do what is Required.

But it is Rare for people to "Choose" to go Beyond Requirements.

Which is "Exactly" why you must go an Extra Mile.

It is how you stand out amidst the crowd.

Now, the Extra Mile may look different for you than it does for others, and that is alright.

The Extra Mile is simply meant to be something that makes you Stand Out.

When I work with Clients, I always look for Opportunities to go the Extra Mile for them.

In my Writing, part of Why I write "Every" Day is because it is a way to go the Extra Mile.

As the Chief Regenerative Design Officer, I am always looking for new ways to further Regenerative Efforts around the World.

In today's race, I "Absolutely" took the Path less traveled and went The Extra Mile!

For tomorrow's Races, if that section is still there, I will do it 2 more times!

I say, always go an Extra Mile!

Stand Out!

Be the Exemplar!

One Extra Mile at a Time!

Then, when we "All" Go the Extra Mile, can you Imagine what could be Accomplished?

That is How We "Can" Change The World!

---

Want to Change The World?

I am on a mission to show that when "We" work together, We "Can" Change The World!

There is currently a competition for Mr. Health and Fitness 2024 with a prize of $20,000.

Which is How "You" Help Change The World!

I have plans to use 100% of the Prize to support 3rd Party Verified Projects around the World that address the Most Critical Ecosystem Aligned with the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

At a minimum, my Goal is to accomplish:

  • 10,000 m2 of Habitats Protected for Critically Endangered Species
  • 56,000 Plastic Bottles Removed from Our Oceans
  • 500,000 m2 of Coral Reef Restoration
  • 1,000,000 Miles of Car Emissions Removed

However, I can "only" do this with "Your" Help!

Together, we can accomplish Incredible things in the World, and I want to show Everyone the Power of that!

I humbly ask you to join me, and Vote to Make the World Better!

This is what you can do:

  • Vote For Me Daily for Free! A New Vote can be made Every 24 Hours!
  • Share The Message, Get Others To Help!
  • Send me an email directly so I can say Thank You! [email protected]

If you are even considering helping, I truly appreciate you, and I know you have so much Potential to Change the World!

---

Related Articles And Sites:

wellnessvintagesocial mediaself caresciencequotespsychologyproduct reviewpop cultureorganiclongevity magazinelistlifestyleindustryhumanityhow tohealthfitnessfeaturediybodyathleticsagingadvice
3

About the Creator

Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.

Creator of the Multi-Award-Winning Category "Legendary Leadership" | Faith, Family, Freedom, Future | The Legendary Leadership Coach, Digital Writer (500+ Articles), & Speaker

https://www.TheLeadership.Guide

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran13 days ago

    I mean, I do go the extra mile, especially when helping clients/customers or even my friends and family. But in this case, it's a big NOPE for me, lol. Like as if running that much ain't difficult enough, there are so many obstacles. Now then going the extra mile from there? Nope, no way hahahahahahhaha. I salute you! You are so freaking incredible!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.