Writers logo

Amanda's Curious Catalogue

Your One-Stop Shop to Madness

By Amanda StarksPublished 7 months ago Updated 28 days ago 11 min read
13

A place for all my writing!

Okay, maybe that sub-title is a little too grandiose, but madness truly is a great descriptor for some if not all of my work. I have a penchant for allowing my passion and excitement to leak through, turning some pieces ( like my book reviews ) into blubbering messes of THOUGHTS and FEELINGS rather than critical feedback.

Thankfully the madness has a method, which will be shown here in an organized catalogue of my work to help you, dear reader, navigate the multitude of fantasy worlds, dark narratives, surreal poetry, and content reviews that I have written on this wonderful site.

So sit back, relax, grab yourself a beverage and snack of your choice, and get lost with me on this writer's journey. Stormy weather as a backdrop is recommended. (:

Also, PLEASE go check out Zazu's website here, as she is an AMAZING artist!! She has illustrated a lot of art for me which you will see throughout several of my pieces, so please consider giving her a follow, or supporting her monetarily through a commission!

MY FICTIONAL WORLDS

A commission made for me by the SUPER talented xzazu2002 on deviantart.

FATE OF FIRE ( FoF )

FATE OF FIRE is my fantasy book series project that's over a decade in the making. Everything here will include poems & stories related to this series. Any updates on future novels or their releases will be made elsewhere!

The Mountain is Alive - A short surreal poem teasing some of the worldbuilding behind the series.

I Know You - A free-form poem teasing the relationship between two major characters in the series.

The Heart in the Mountain - Originally for an official Vocal fantasy contest where the first line you had to use was: "There weren't always dragons in the valley..." I incorporated the prompt into a story I had been working on already to help explain a sacred site in the Valley, one of the main settings in the FATE OF FIRE universe. It's since been edited as there are no dragons in F0F, only the Earathskin...

The Shadow & The Eagle - A folktale told completely through dialogue between an elder and a child.

Grief - A short story about the true horror of war, and one character who seeks to escape it, no matter the cost.

Silence the Flames - A flash fiction for Matthew Fromm's High Fantasy Challenge that asked us to write a story in under 500 words. Of course, I channeled FoF for inspiration. It received Top Story in September 2023!

PROJECT: EVERGREEN - The Destruction - Inspired by Poppy's color poem prompt! It's a poetic exploration of one of the novels in FoF.

Sun Killer - A short story based on the Under a Spell Challenge prompt! New characters and a heart-warming story about found family.

Commission made for me by the SPLENDID xzazu2002 c:

THE FOREST OF KALMERA ( TFoK )

THE FOREST OF KALMERA is a high fantasy series project inspired by artworks from various artists all with one thing in common: massive forests! This forest however is very much alive, wants to kill you, and is filled with creatures and humanoids not of this earth...

This section will include stories & poetry related to the series. And like before, any publishing announcements will be made elsewhere!

Moth & the Wings of Kalmera: Part I - A short story inspired by the famous literary story, Sir Gawain & the Green Knight.

Moth & the Wings of Kalmera: Part II - A follow-up and finisher for Part I!

Oh yes, xzazu2002 does dragons too.

IRKALLA ( CASTLING )

CASTLING is my ( hopeful ) young adult dark fantasy debut novel and world inspired by Game of Thrones, Jujutsu Kaisen, and The Exorcist. This section will include stories & poetry, and will not include publishing news.

The Demon Beneath the Dragon's Shadow - A short story prequel to the events in my novel, CASTLING, however, this is subject to change as it was written early on in the drafting process.

Beyond the Walls of Tradition - A flash fiction piece peering into the life and mind of one of the protagonists of CASTLING.

STANDALONE FICTION PIECES & SERIES

By Dollar Gill on Unsplash

VALHEIM SERIES

"Yeah, I love videogames so sometimes I write stuff inspired by them. :D" - Me, the nerd

Izzoradelle, The Drowned Shieldmaiden Part I - A peek into the world of Valheim through a fan-made character of my own.

Izzoradelle, The Drowned Shieldmaiden Part II - Yeah, it's Part II... what else do you want me to say?

Izzoradelle, The Drowned Shieldmaiden Part III - Izzoradelle finally faces her fears and finds closure.

The Abomination - A short horror story inspired by me and Ian Read's adventures through Valheim!

More Mushrooms - Izzoradelle returns in this introspective short!

SHORT STORIES

The Forest was Mute - A short horror story. One must never get lost in these woods...for the silence is deafening.

To You, 25 Years From Now - An entry for Vocal's Black Book Challenge. I didn't place, but I'm still really proud of how this piece came out.

Descent - An entry for the Dream State Challenge from James & Oneg's Summer Writing Challenge Extravaganza!

Voice of the Forest Part I - An entry for Vocal's Sentient Forest Challenge that was inspired heavily by the videogame, Bloodborne!

FLASH FICTION & MICROFICTION

Blood Run - A microfiction for Vocal's Micro Heist Challenge. I didn't place, but this was so much fun to write!

PERSONAL STORIES & COMMENTARY

By Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

This is essentially all non-fiction and filled with my opinions or experiences. Read this to judge me more. (:

My Thoughts on Sexual Content in Young Adult Fantasy Novels - This piece got noticed by a book company that contacted me to hear more about my experience in this genre as both a librarian, consumer, and writer! Don't need a top story to get noticed! Maybe it has something to teach you too?

Songs to Celebrate You - My attempt at the Anti-Valentines Day Playlist, but of course my genres are all over the place, just like my tastes!

Did You Know 1 in 10,000 Girls Worldwide are Born with Rett syndrome? - My most read story, and one of the most important of my personal pieces. This is all about my life with my sister and her diagnosis, and what's being done to improve her symptoms. If you know nothing about this syndrome, consider this your introduction!

The Air in the Water - An entry into another of Vocal's contests. This one is where I speak about my thoughts on my connection to the Aquarius sign, and how it sheds light on my creative pursuits.

In My Dreams - This could also be put into short stories but it is inspired by personal experiences, so it shall live here!

CURSE: the 200,000 Words of an Angsty Teenager - Ah yes, one of my favorites. This is about how I went from writing fan fiction for fun to turning it into my FATE OF FIRE book series project. SECOND PLACE WINNER OF THE WRITERS CHALLENGE!! :D

Within My Pages; My Passion - A short one-off from the perspective of my personal journal as it reflects on my journey through 2023 with Vocal and my mental health journey.

100 Stories on Vocal.Media - A look back on a monumental journey with Vocal!

BOOK REVIEWS

I hope to do a lot more of these in the future, as I LOVE reading...and gushing about my favorite characters.

Also, a HUGE shout out to Frankie from Vocal who graciously moved ALL of my book reviews to the new Book Club category. YOU ARE MY HERO! <3

Book Series Review: Air Awakens by Elise Kova - A review that goes over the entire Air Awakens series by Elise Kova. Very light spoilers. It received Top Story in February 2022!

Book Review: Realm Breaker by Victoria Aveyard - One of the best High Fantasy novels I read in 2021. Still one of my top favorites to this day! The second book is out now!

Book Review: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten - An AMAZING dark fantasy story that also has a second book out that I also need to read...oh my poor poor TBR pile...

Book Review: Odin's Child by Siri Peterson - I've read ALL the books in this series and it is seriously awesome. If you've ever wanted to read fantasy from a native Norwegian author, then try this out!

Every YA Fantasy Lover Should Read This Book - A book review for the impeccable Legendborn by Tracey Deonn. Look, I HAD to use that title because this is seriously a master class of a novel for this subgenre. READ IT!

TV SHOW REVIEWS

Mainly fantasy TV shows or Anime!

House of the Dragon: Episode One Review - I'm only going to link the first one I did, as I never finished reviewing the whole show. I'm eagerly awaiting season two!

Cyberpunk: Edgerunners | Love, Death, and Cyberpunk - This was an incredible show. A great peek into the world of Cyberpunk with stunning animation by the legendary Studio Trigger.

GAME REVIEWS

I have plans to do more of these!

Valheim: Is it Worth Buying? - YES. YES, YOU FOOL! GO BUY IT.

WRITING ADVICE

Sometimes I give out advice, and sometimes it's good!

NaNoWriMo Preptober #1 - A little mini-series of advice pertaining to writing a novel for National Novel Writing Month, or just writing a novel in general!

NaNoWriMo Preptober #2 - A continuation of the series, this time tackling planners vs. pantsers, where to start between characters, plot, and setting, and writing a pitch!

How to Write with Chronic Illness - A personal piece discussing my tips for how I work through chronic illness and write while doing so. It received Top Story in March 2024!

COMMUNITY PROJECTS

FANTASTICAL VOCAL FAVORITES

A series where I uplift other creators on vocal. Every volume will include 4 pieces and my thoughts, feelings and in-depth analysis on them. I've dedicated myself to also providing $5 bonuses to every creator who makes the list.

Vol. I - Modern issues told in unique voices and twists. Featuring new and old vocal writers!

Vol. II - Surreal poetry featuring new and old creators!

Vol. III - Dark fictional pieces featuring new and old vocal writers!

COLLABORATIONS

Projects that involve me and other writers working together!!

A White Mountains Mystery Chapter 1 - A collaboration started by Judey Kalchick that involves me and seven other creators! Chapter one was headed by Ian Read, so go give it a read and catch up on all the chapters!

Precipice: Dreams of the Fall - A collaboration between me and Ian Read! A multi-chapter short story that brings in the setting and feel of a cyber-punk city and the mystery and mind-twisting madness of cosmic horror. This will take you to chapter one. Future chapters will be linked to each other!

POETRY

By Ksenia Makagonova on Unsplash

Most of you probably know me by this, as most of my top stories are from my poetry collection, RE:SURGENCE, and it's what got me noticed here on Vocal. I am truly grateful and humbled by how many people have connected through my personal poems on mental illness. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart!.

RE:SURGENCE

My Vocal-only poetry collection is about my struggles with mental illness. I'm only going to be linking the first poems for each part as every poem is linked to one another in the articles, and linking any that make it to Top Story status!

Chemical Experiment: Deficits - The first poem in the collection!

Chemical Experiment: Awake - The first poem in part II: Anesthesia Awareness. It received Top Story in July 2023!

Suicide Note - The last poem in part II. It received Top Story in August 2023!

Chemical Experiment: Resurgence - The first poem in part III: Delayed Emergence.

Bury Me - The 3rd poem in part III. It received Top Story in October 2023!

The Other Side - The final poem in the collection. Entered into Vocal's Inverse Poem Challenge. It received Top Story in January 2024 AND was a Runner Up in the Challenge!!

OTHER POEMS

Anything that is not RE:SURGENCE will go here. I will only be linking my favorites as I have A LOT of poetry. If you wish to see ALL of it, you can go to my profile and filter POETS from the community tabs.

And the Wolf Follows - My first ever published piece on Vocal and quite a fitting one at that. It was featured in Paul Stewart's Vocal Deep Cuts, 8th Edition!

The Mortal Limit - A poem inspired by Robert Penn Warren's "Mortal Limit".

Black Widow - Less of a poem and more of a free-form micro story? Similar to And the Wolf Follows in that regard!

Live Wire - A poem about my experience and struggle with anxiety.

What is Human Decency? - A poem that was published and never talked about again. Yet, I still like it. I think it was good and a bit more forward than my other work.

When You Looked My Way - I'm still in love with this poem. Very good. Romantic. Kinda sad. Lovely language. Entered for the Dancing with Distraction challenge by Vocal!

D.A.R.K - Another entry into an official Vocal challenge where you could not use words more than four letters long. It was very hard but fun!

Into My Grave - A free form poem inspired by one of my favorite bands: Sleep Token.

Is Love Like the Snow? - A lyrical free form poem entered into Vocal's Love Unraveled Challenge. Inspired by a very cute and wholesome anime!

CommunityShoutoutGuidesAchievements
13

About the Creator

Amanda Starks

Lover of the dark, fantastical, and heart-wrenching. Fantasy writer, poet, and hopefully soon-to-be novelist who wants to create safe spaces to talk about mental health. Subscribe to my free newsletter at www.amandastarks.com for updates!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Susan Fourtané2 months ago

    I love how you have organised everything by category! I wish I could do the same. Perhaps I can. Perhaps I will. Oh, well. :D

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    This must have taken you so long to finish! Your enthusiasm glitters throughout it and it’s just infectious; i want to binge read everything. I am glad you did this; i’ll bookmark it and return! I’m sorry i haven’t explored your stories much before now but i am excited to start. 😁

  • Cendrine Marrouat7 months ago

    Excellent, Amanda!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Fantastic! Well written and explained m!

  • Ian Read7 months ago

    Brilliantly catalogued, Amanda. I did indeed enjoy an beverage as I read it lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.