Fiction logo

What are Friends For?

An Entry into Belle's "Text Thoughts" Challenge

By Amanda StarksPublished 5 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2024
20
What are Friends For?
Photo by Nate Smith on Unsplash

Jack - message sent from iphone

11:59 pm - Hey, u awake?

I need ur help man

connor

hey

hey, wake up!!!!!

Connor

12:15 am - Bro wtf? Its past midnight

What is it this time

Jack

12:16 am - Man, its bad

my gf is coming home early and I need to get rid of this shit

Connor

12:19 am - Really? Again, bro? You gotta stop doing this

Jack

12:19 am - I know man, but u know me

once i down one I can't stop

By Shayna "Bepple" Take on Unsplash

Connor

12:21 am - You need help

like professional help

I can't keep doing this for you

Jack

12:22 am - Please man, I got no one else

this will be the last time i swear!!

Connor

12:25 am - [ MESSAGE DELETED ]

12:30 am - fuck dude

I really shouldn't but I know you've been improving

fuck fuck fuck

12:35 am - FINE this is the last time I help you, okay?

You're like a brother to me, but I can't be an accomplice in this any longer

Jack

12:36 am - THANK YOU BROTHER

I understand, I don't like asking this of u either but its bad, like BAD bad and I can't lose melissa to some stupid one-off mistake ya know?

Connor

12:37 am - I get it bro, but this is the last time.

Where did you leave everything?

Jack

12:39 am - Back porch, its all bagged up

but this shit is everywhere man

i was really stupid and messy this time

be careful u don't cut urself on the glass

By Sven Brandsma on Unsplash

Connor

12:40 am - Heard that.

Alright, I'm on my way over

_______________________________

Melissa - sms message

9:30 am - Hey, Connor! I just got home from the airport but I don't see Jack anywhere...is he at your place?

Connor

9:35 am - Hey, mel. No, he's not at my place. Last I saw him he was home.

Melissa

9:40 am - Well, his keys and his wallet are gone and it smells horrible in here. Did y'all do something together last night?

Connor

9:41 am - Wtf? I literally saw him last night. I helped him clean up a bit because he was worried about you coming home early.

Melissa

9:43 am - Well y'all did a HORRIBLE job. The smell is so bad!!

9:45 am - [ MISSED CALL ]

[ MISSED CALL ]

9:46 am - CONNOR PICK THE FUCK UP

I JUST FOUND A FUCKING BODY

explain yourself RIGHT NOW

By Joyce Hankins on Unsplash

Connor

9:46 am - Oh shit...fuck, I'm sorry melissa

Melissa

9:47 am - What do you mean 'I'm sorry'??! THERE'S A DEAD PERSON IN MY HOUSE CONNOR!!

Connor

9:48 am - He told me this was the last time. I didn't know there were other bodies

9:50 am - Melissa?

Connor - message sent from iphone

10:01 am - Jack, she knows

Jack

10:02 am - No, nah man you can't be serious

Connor

10:03 am - She saw one of your bodies bro

I thought you said the one last night was the only one!!

Jack

10:05 am - I swear it was a mistake man I never meant to hurt em

shit dude, I can't do this again to u

Connor

10:06 am - I warned you to stop. You were doing so well, what happened??

Jack

10:07 am - doesn't matter now man we gotta clean up

Connor

10:10 am - Yeah, got no choice at this point with your fuck up.

I can't get caught. I got a future to think about

and fuck man, melissa was a good one

Jack

10:11 am - yeah bro its unfortunate

but you got me right?

Connor

10:15 am - Yeah, one more time

besides, what are friends for?

By Maan Limburg on Unsplash

Author's Note:

Huge shout out to Belle for coming up with this super fun challenge. I've dabbled with dialogue only before, but I have to admit, using the details of texting to add more depth to the story was a lot of fun.

She's got more coming down the pipeline, so consider subscribing to her page and joining in on her other challenges!!

MysteryHorror
20

About the Creator

Amanda Starks

Lover of the dark, fantastical, and heart-wrenching. Fantasy writer, poet, and hopefully soon-to-be novelist who wants to create safe spaces to talk about mental health. Subscribe to my free newsletter at www.amandastarks.com for updates!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK about 21 hours ago

    Excellent script; I loved this! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Ameer Bibi2 days ago

    Ahhhhhh Love it Friends are truly a blessing Congrats on TS

  • TahimaAni3 days ago

    Interesting 👍.. Congratulations

  • Andrea Corwin 3 days ago

    Oh ugh. One more??? poor girl. unexpected. I thought it was about something else, until.....Congrats on TS🥳

  • K.P. Sami3 days ago

    I could taste the suspense! So good !

  • D-Donohoe3 days ago

    Great work on this one! Really enjoyed reading.

  • Cathy holmes4 days ago

    Well that was unexpected. Well done and congrats on the TS.

  • Rachel S4 days ago

    woho! Sounds like a lot of trauma or movie watching filling that mind. Nice job! *shouldn't this be "content warning"?*

  • brilliant. had me on the edge of my seat. love it.

  • Annalise Zera4 days ago

    Huge shout out to Belle for creating this super fun challenge! I've experimented with dialogue-only formats before, but incorporating texting details added a whole new layer of depth and enjoyment to the story. She has more exciting challenges coming up, so be sure to subscribe to her page and join in on the fun!

  • Chloe Gilholy4 days ago

    Brilliant story kept me on the edge.

  • Kenny Penn4 days ago

    Holy shit, Amanda, what a wicked twist! I love this story! Man what a perfect red herring you left for us. So good!

  • Ian Read4 days ago

    LOVED the twist! Awesome job!!!

  • Babs Iverson4 days ago

    Horrific mystery story!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.