Poets logo

When you looked my way

I told you to stay away

By Amanda StarksPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
9
When you looked my way
Photo by Ryan Jacobson on Unsplash

Did I see you standing there - eyes wide like the

Inside of a spiraling galaxy,

Spinning out of control into a galactic dance;

Totality at its most impressive in the expanse,

Reaching out through the falling stars to

Appease my better nature with your smile.

Can't you see that I am not the

Tantalizing prize you think you desire? Within my

Iris is the end of all things, an infinite darkness that swallows all light

Only spared by brief novel novas in the twilight.

No, let this moment be a simple diversion in time and then be on your way.

surreal poetrynature poetrylove poemsheartbreak
9

About the Creator

Amanda Starks

Lover of the dark, fantastical, and heart-wrenching. Fantasy writer, poet, and hopefully soon-to-be novelist who wants to create safe spaces to talk about mental health. Subscribe to my free newsletter at www.amandastarks.com for updates!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli 2 months ago

    Beautiful story

  • Hannah E. Aaron12 months ago

    "Within my / Iris is the end of all things, an infinite darkness that swallows all light." Wow! This poem is so, so good!

  • Ian Read12 months ago

    Outstanding! I loved this more realistic but equally poetic spin on a common romance trope. Beautifully original and well done.

  • Silent Scarlett12 months ago

    So romantic :)

  • Cezanne Libellen12 months ago

    Oh my GOSH Amanda! I love this! It is so beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.