Poets logo

Chemical Experiment: Awake

RE:SURGENCE; poems about mental illness

By Amanda StarksPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2023
19
Image by blackdovfx from Getty Images. Edited with Canva assets.

PART II: ANESTHESIA AWARENESS

"Very rarely — in only one or two of every 1,000 medical procedures involving general anesthesia — a patient may become aware or conscious. The condition, called anesthesia awareness (waking up) during surgery, means the patient can recall their surroundings, or an event related to the surgery, while under general anesthesia. Although it can be upsetting, patients usually do not feel pain when experiencing anesthesia awareness."

- Anesthesia Awareness (Waking Up) During Surgery, American Society of Anesthesiologists

_________________

A dull ticking clock

Echoes in waves between

Blinding fluorescent fireflies

Buzzing over monitors and the

Drip dripping of fluids

Voices echo in the dead space

Whispers of how the patient was

Debriefed for the operation

And how her eyes simply emptied

Like blood from varicose veins

As she accepted the risks

A new batch of chemicals

Bubbles in poisonous vats

But the patient lies still

Eyes closed to the light

The voices quiet as she is

Put under, tension thick in the air

The surgeons know what

Must happen next

After 100 is counted down

Her skull will be cracked open

Her inner workings exposed

And she will be forced awake

-

This is the seventh poem in RE: SURGENCE, a poetry collection by Amanda Starks that shares what it's like to have and fight against mental illness in a free-form, lyrical prose.

Be aware that topics and themes may include suicide, self-harm, and isolation.

NEXT POEM:

PREVIOUS POEM:

If you want a free copy of RE: SURGENCE in an online, fully formatted PDF document, subscribe to my email newsletter at www.amandastarks.com, and it will be in your inbox once all the poems have been published here!

surreal poetrysad poetryCONTENT WARNING
19

About the Creator

Amanda Starks

Lover of the dark, fantastical, and heart-wrenching. Fantasy writer, poet, and hopefully soon-to-be novelist who wants to create safe spaces to talk about mental health. Subscribe to my free newsletter at www.amandastarks.com for updates!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Gerard DiLeo10 months ago

    This happened to my wife. I can assure you, pain CAN be felt. Yikes!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Very creepy. I used to deal with sleep paralysis when I was younger but it doesn’t compare to being under and freaking out cause you can’t do anything about it. Great job with the descriptive poem.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Oh, so very well described! I'm happy to say that I haven't had the experience, although I've been under general anesthesia for open heart surgery and a both-end-oscopy. Brain surgery is a whole other thing! A quick note about your link: Vocal tends to prepend their domain in the URL, so you may want to do a quick edit. (I did my own correction and I'm on your site now.)

  • Great job and Congratulations on your Top Story 😉🎉

  • Heidi McCloskey10 months ago

    Very well written! You captured the essence of this moment very well. I had a lot of back surgeries as a teenager. During one of them they had to wake me up to make sure I was still able to move my limbs. While I don’t remember that part, I do remember that they didn’t put me back under all the way before they resumed the surgery. I remember the sensations and the noises, but you are right, I don’t remember actually being in physical pain. I won’t go into details, but I can say that it can be very traumatic mentally. I do have to say though, I do love the going to sleep part. I wish I had a canister of that next to my bed some nights lol.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Well that woke me up. I can not imagine that happening to me. Powerful writing, well done and congrats on the Top STORY.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Wow!!! Powerful!!! Loving it!!!

  • Ian Read10 months ago

    This is beautifully surreal and intimate, you capture that moment well!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.