Wander logo

Port A Outside My Window

Dedicated to the city of Port Aransas

By Amanda StarksPublished 22 days ago 2 min read
Me & My Mom in Port Aransas, TX, 2024. Edited with Canva assets.

It's been 12 years since I've seen you last. Through these adult eyes, you haven't changed in the places that matter.

My childhood memories ring strong in your presence, creating a resonance between who I once was and who I have now become without you.

Those summers spent on your shores, gulping down the salty gulf air with my toes buried under your blanket of sand were some of the very best. From racing against the tide, to riding the waves, to exploring the local sights, sounds and smells, it was all an experience that could never be tarnished. Light surrounds those memories like a halo, polished with a nostalgic shine.

Even the inhabitants of your embrace brought light to that past: kind people who welcomed me with open arms and blinding smiles, who kindled my curiosity and passion for the wild, untamed nature of the gulf.

These moments were carried with me like a badge of honor upon my chest, emblazoned with wind and tide - a love for the shore that emboldened my studies into nature, and eventually into my studies of storytelling.

It's a comforting feeling to know that the girl who ran laughing at your side, her hair tangled by wind and sticky salt, would be proud of the woman she is today.

It is this day that I sit at a window, looking out at the changed landscape, feeling these emotions as we exchange memories like wine: bitter to the taste but warm as it goes down.

I could shed a tear for those 12 years lost, but I have no sadness to give those tears life. Every memory with you has been cherished, preserved. For me, nothing has changed.

My home away from home, the city of Port Aransas.

______________________

AUTHOR'S NOTE:

Port Aransas holds a very special place in my heart, as it truly was like a second home growing up. Being there last month brought a lot of memories to the surface.

In my flash fiction class, the professor encouraged us to free write a little every day to help us feel productive when the words wouldn't come for other projects. One of those days I happened to be at a hotel in Port A, and a version of these words spilled out onto the page.

I hope to share more of these personal free writes with you all, and I encourage you to try it for yourself! <3

Much love,

Amanda

natureliterature

About the Creator

Amanda Starks

Lover of the dark, fantastical, and heart-wrenching. Fantasy writer, poet, and hopefully soon-to-be novelist who wants to create safe spaces to talk about mental health. Subscribe to my free newsletter at www.amandastarks.com for updates!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Brenda Starkes22 days ago

    Love this Amanda!! Lots of good memories for sure!! Glad we where able to finally go again. 12 years passes by way to fast!! I am very proud of the woman you have become !! Your writing never ceases to amaze me! You have such a wonderful gift. Love you forever!!!!

  • Paul Stewart22 days ago

    Oh, this is beautiful writing, Amanda! I look forward to reading more of this style from you - it's incredible and very evocativ.e I love just wriitng...without a direction in mind! :) Well done!

Amanda StarksWritten by Amanda Starks

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.