Poets logo

Into My Grave

A power you cannot take

By Amanda StarksPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
7
Photo by Scopio for Canva Pro. Edited using Canva assets.

Like the quick descent of death

you sweep into my tomb with new intention

eyes widening upon the dim sparkle

of burial gifts long since rusted

to time's endless march.

Within my pale instruments I grasp

a sword with which I cut down

countless trespassers no different from you,

but here you find me suspended in blessed decay -

greedy fingers reaching for my tool of ruin and conquest.

Power trades hands easier than

whispers carried on eager lips,

but this power you cannot take,

even if I am no longer of this mortal realm.

You twist and pull at the blade - my flaking flesh,

my tired bones, but they shall not

give you what you desire.

My resolve is as permanent as death itself

and you have stumbled into it's coffin.

In mere moments my eyes will open

from their long slumber,

to catch you in your moment of hubris.

Yet, even as you pull away

with the knowledge of your deceit,

you will still fall helplessly into my gaze

as I once fell into yours,

and into my grave.

_______________

AUTHOR'S NOTE:

This poem was inspired by Sleep Token's incredible song "Like That". I highly recommend them as they are my favorite band and write some truly deep and introspective lyrics.

Thanks for reading!! c:

sad poetrysurreal poetrynature poetrylove poems
7

About the Creator

Amanda Starks

Lover of the dark, fantastical, and heart-wrenching. Fantasy writer, poet, and hopefully soon-to-be novelist who wants to create safe spaces to talk about mental health. Subscribe to my free newsletter at www.amandastarks.com for updates!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ace Melee5 months ago

    Nicely done, and now, I have a new song to listen to while going for a walk.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.