Poets logo

The Other Side

RE: SURGENCE; poems about mental illness

By Amanda StarksPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - January 2024
33
Image generated using Canva's AI product "Magic Media". Edited with Canva assets.

I've made it to the other side

so don't let me believe for a moment

that darkness lives within me,

because I must admit

my happiness can be eternal,

and it's not possible

my suffering meant nothing,

because scars remain to remind me

I am a survivor,

so let me cast aside the thought that

I'm unworthy of love,

because no matter what

I am enough,

and I will no longer have to wonder if

I'm a walking curse - a blight upon my life

because the shore of my mind has shown me

my potential for healing,

the value of my journey

I will always hate

that taste of metal; the feeling of rot under my skin,

because I overcame it, conquered it, owned it -

The Resurgence imminent in my veins

_____

[ Don't turn back. Read the poem bottom to top. ]

_____

THE END OF RE: SURGENCE

This is the 21st AND LAST poem in RE: SURGENCE, a poetry collection by Amanda Starks that shares what it's like to have and fight against mental illness in a free-form, lyrical prose.

Be aware that topics and themes may include suicide, self-harm, and isolation.

Haven't read the collection all the way through? Start here with the first poem!

AUTHOR'S NOTE:

Well, we've made it, haven't we? An actual FINISHED project on my end, and hopefully a collection that holds a spot in the heart and mind of whomever chooses to read it.

For this last poem, I was initially leaning towards a hopeful note to end off the collection, but after stewing it over ( and being inspired by the Inverse poem challenge by Vocal.Media ) I realized it could be so much more...nuanced.

It's well known that many people will experience mental illness at some point in their lives. According to the latest statistics available from the National Institute of Mental Health Disorders: "An estimated 26% of Americans ages 18 and older -- about 1 in 4 adults -- suffers from a diagnosable mental disorder in a given year."

And the idea that it's so common 'anyone can get it', seems to be where some of the stigma comes from towards mental illness. If a bunch of people have it and function 'just fine', then what's the big deal? If you're just 'sad' then get over it.

But what those people don't consider is that many who are diagnosed with depression ( or any other mental health disorder ) may never get over it.

Chronic illnesses come in so many forms. They can be plainly obvious if you are in a wheelchair, carrying around an oxygen supply, or have a bright rash on your skin. For others, like myself, they are completely invisible. We look normal, and we may act normal, but on the inside the pain is just as excruciating.

One is not inherently worse than the other, but it can be said those of us who suffer from an invisible chronic disability get told off much more than those with visible ailments. We get told our pain 'isn't real' or 'that bad' since we appear fine. We are asked to 'push through' more often when we are suffering.

( Note: there are some truly evil people out there who will do or say these things regardless if your illness is visible or not! )

With this in mind, I felt it poignant to represent this struggle with chronic illness within an inverse poem. Upon first read everything feels hopeful - triumphant even. This is the ideal 'cure' all of us dream of. The other side of the long, dark road to recovery.

But reading back up, you realize the battle might be over, but the war still rages on. It's just as easy ( if not easier ) to slip back into those damning thoughts, pain, and misery. We might not appreciate where we started versus where we ended up, or recognize the strength within us.

RE: SURGENCE I think managed to paint a pretty decent picture of this across the whole collection, with themes of chemicals, rot, and nature vs. modern technology used to make it all more cohesive and interesting. And, of course, taking direct inspiration from my own journey with major depressive disorder and anxiety made it a lot more potent and helped bridge the gap between me, the author, and you the reader.

I hope I have created a collection, and a space here on Vocal, that let's you know you are not alone, whether you too have a chronic illness or someone you know does. It is still so humbling to read over the comments made on these poems, and realizing that I have not only made people feel SEEN but VALIDATED. I want to continue that trend in all of my work, not just RE: SURGENCE.

Speaking of the collection, I do have a surprise for you all in regards to what I have been promising since the start: a free, fully formatted copy of the collection in PDF form, for all of my e-mail subscribers. Stay tuned for a special announcement coming soon!

Mental Healthinspirational
33

About the Creator

Amanda Starks

Lover of the dark, fantastical, and heart-wrenching. Fantasy writer, poet, and hopefully soon-to-be novelist who wants to create safe spaces to talk about mental health. Subscribe to my free newsletter at www.amandastarks.com for updates!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.2 months ago

    Fabulous execution here - the poem itself is so emotional and compelling, and the autor's note makes it even more meaningful. I just love, love, love your word choices all around! Truly wonderful work, Amanda! Congratulations! 😍

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Gabriel Huizenga2 months ago

    What a really powerful and viscerally emotional inverse poem <3 I deeply appreciated your reflections afterwards too! Thank you for creating a space for connection, vulnerability, and the rediscovery of hope. And congrats on the recognition!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Beautiful!!! Congratulations on the runner-up win!!!

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    This is brilliant. A true inverse. I don't know how I missed this but this is so deserving of a place.

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Congratulations on placing, Amanda! So happy for you! :)

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Very powerful! Captures the battle within so strikingly!

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Congratulations on your poem's placement in the Inverse Challenge! Bleak and poignant, powerful and emotional. I enjoyed it in both directions.

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    A powerful poem, that does a fantastic job of highlighting how hard it can be to struggle with a mental illness, and that the journey can seem incredibly bleak at times. “I will always hate that taste of metal; the feeling of rot under my skin,” is a well-written line, full of imagery. Well done on writing something that doesn’t shy away from a topic that needs discussing now more than ever. 👏👏

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    This...is just...stunning. Amanda. I love your pieces about mental health...That reverse though...ouch...but so so so true. Well done on your bravery and honesty as always tackling the difficult subjects and congrats on a superb Top Story! Love it.

  • Test3 months ago

    Outstanding! Keep striving for greatness—congratulations!

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    Fantastic poem. Loved every line... both ways! Oof. Well done!

  • ZEPHYOR 3 months ago

    Woow

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I love the nuance you've achieved here. It's raw and real and honest. There's hope there, too, but it all exists together.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad3 months ago

    Wow, if I thought the poem was powerful forwards, it was a real gut-punch reading backwards. You’re right, though, mental health is an ongoing battle, and it’s easy to slip back into those negative, self-destructive thoughts even when we think we have reached a better place. I suffer from major depressive disorder, seasonal affective disorder, and anxiety as well; I know that feeling all too well. Thank you for putting a spotlight on mental health, and congrats on the Top Story.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    This one outstanding work. Congrats on the well-deserved TS.

  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    Oh my goodness this is an incredible piece but I hated reading it in reverse! Not because it’s bad obviously, but man I have felt just like that. Beautiful as always Amanda

  • I love that you made this an inverse (or reverse, or whatever else you call it) poem. It showcases the truth behind those hidden chronic illnesses, even if you get them under control, you still will have bad days. This poem, or more, both poems hit close to home. Great job and congrats on finishing this project, Amanda!

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Wow, this is so good. What a powerful, emotional read and I am sure write for you. Well done.

  • Ian Read3 months ago

    I was reading it and was like "Ah, this is nice." Then I read it backwards and it broke me. Brilliant work. :)

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Wow!! This was incredible. Every line was so well thought-out and deliberate. Gorgeous work. And congratulations on such an accomplishment!!

  • Matthew Fromm3 months ago

    yupp here's the winner right here. outstanding work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.