Poets logo

I've Learned to Watch them Drown

RE: SURGENCE; poems about mental illness

By Amanda StarksPublished 4 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
7
Photo by Engin Akyurt from Pexels. Edited using Canva Assets.

I've learned to watch them drown -

those demons they call illness.

They used to swim freely

shore to shore

leaving steaming tracks

of fire and smoke

between the tiny chain islands

of sanity and perseverance.

Now they falter at the deep end

where the dark waters have been poisoned

by the chemicals I force fed

into my veins.

Sometimes I wonder

how much of this I can take

before I too choke on the fumes

left by the 'cures' to my affliction.

Am I still me, if I can't fight these demons alone?

Am I still me, if I need drugs to make me sane?

After all this time, it's still hard to say,

as my wounds have never properly healed -

only scarred over.

Yet, I would be remiss

if I did not admit

that every demon drowned

is another day of dry land

that I eagerly indulge in.

So, now I stand at the rocky shores

of my battered mind,

alone and war-ravaged,

but whole.

__________

The next poem will be the final piece of RE: SURGENCE.

This is the 20th poem in RE: SURGENCE, a poetry collection by Amanda Starks that shares what it's like to have and fight against mental illness in a free-form, lyrical prose.

Be aware that topics and themes may include suicide, self-harm, and isolation.

Haven't read the collection all the way through? Start here with the first poem!

NEXT ( AND FINAL ) POEM:

PREVIOUS POEM:

If you want a free copy of RE: SURGENCE in an online, fully formatted PDF document, subscribe to my email newsletter at www.amandastarks.com ( found under the CONTACT tab ), and it will be in your inbox once all the poems have been published here!

sad poetrysocial commentaryMental HealthinspirationalFree Verse
7

About the Creator

Amanda Starks

Lover of the dark, fantastical, and heart-wrenching. Fantasy writer, poet, and hopefully soon-to-be novelist who wants to create safe spaces to talk about mental health. Subscribe to my free newsletter at www.amandastarks.com for updates!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    I loved the imagery in this of a sort of dark archipelago where you're clinging, watching things trying to come and attack you. Very powerful and like something from a fantasy epic.

  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    This one felt so personal to me as someone who has generalized anxiety and panic attacks. Really well done, Amanda

  • Ian Read4 months ago

    As a sufferer of mental illness, this gave me bittersweet chills. Stunning work. 😀

  • Grogu4 months ago

    such a powerful poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.