Poets logo

Suicide Note

RE:SURGENCE; poems about mental illness

By Amanda StarksPublished 9 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - August 2023
34
Photo by pixelslot. Edited with Canva assets.

Trigger Warning: suicide, suicide ideation, and notes. Please do not continue if you are sensitive to these topics. I won't be describing anything graphic, but it is a heavy topic that is not for everyone whatever stage of your life and/or healing you are in. Take care of yourself first!

On Friday, June 16th, 2023 at 12:24 am, I wrote the below words in my personal journal. I left it open to the page on my desk for my family to find and left my house with the intent of not coming back.

Thankfully, dear reader, I am still here today, and I want to share this 'poem', not for your sympathy, but for the hope of connection.

RE:SURGENCE has been a selfish project to convey my feelings about battling my mental illness through poetry. Little did I know that after sharing it with some close friends and colleagues I realized that while it was not intended for a broad audience, it could still very well help others like me to feel less alone, and maybe inspire them to seek help in their own unique ways.

You won't find many willing to talk about suicide, and that's more than understandable. Yet, I believe by talking openly and personally about it, we can tear down the stigma and fear around it, and hopefully reach those who need this support the most.

If you have been affected by suicide by your loved ones or yourself, please TALK about it! Even if it's only to the page. It's a major step in healing. And yes, you are worthy of love and YES it is a wonderful thing that you are still here. Your life is still worth living, up until that final breath. Tomorrow is waiting for you. Your future self is waiting for you.

Please, stay here with us. We love you.

__

I looked into my eyes

and I saw nothing but sadness

and defeat

I realize I’m not

grieving a relationship that I

held onto because I was

scared of being alone

I’m grieving the person I

used to be and

may never be again

I can’t live without hope

I’m done feeling sick

I just want ME back

I’ll take my phone with me

just in case.

Love you

__

END OF PART II

This is the 13th poem in RE: SURGENCE, a poetry collection by Amanda Starks that shares what it's like to have and fight against mental illness in a free-form, lyrical prose.

Be aware that topics and themes may include suicide, self-harm, and isolation.

NEXT POEM:

PREVIOUS POEM:

If you want a free copy of RE: SURGENCE in an online, fully formatted PDF document, subscribe to my email newsletter at www.amandastarks.com ( found under the CONTACT tab ), and it will be in your inbox once all the poems have been published here!

social commentarysad poetryinspirationalheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
34

About the Creator

Amanda Starks

Lover of the dark, fantastical, and heart-wrenching. Fantasy writer, poet, and hopefully soon-to-be novelist who wants to create safe spaces to talk about mental health. Subscribe to my free newsletter at www.amandastarks.com for updates!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    This is a brave share. I am humbled by it.

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Thank you so much for sharing this. The universe loves all its children. 💖

  • Alexis Mundy8 months ago

    Poetry is good for helping you get feelings out. I lost my son to suicide so any way that we can raise awareness and destigmatize suicide is important. Thank you for sharing a beautiful poem. Take care of yourself!

  • Write 📝 write 📝 and just keep writing ❤️😉📝👌❗

  • Mark Graham8 months ago

    Great poems for letting feeling out. I was a mental health nurse for quite awhile and anything creative can help with getting feelings out. Writing in one way.

  • Brenda Starkes8 months ago

    It's hard to read this but written from the heart. My Amanda what things will you achieve!! Your such an amazing young woman and I couldn't be more proud of you. I love you so much🥰

  • Bea8 months ago

    Thank you for your graceful words

  • Oneg In The Arctic8 months ago

    Poetry saved me, time and time again. I’m glad it’s there for you too, and this project is a way for you to resurge ❤️

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is heartbreaking but thank you for sharing this and thank you for staying. We definitely do need to discuss this topic more. I’m so glad you’re still here and inspiring others to hold on too.

  • I'm so grateful that you are still here. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Courageous!!! Thank you for being here!!!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Amanda, thank you! It's a very important message, and one to which I can certainly relate. I battled a crippling depression for many years. My mother committed suicide, and so did my grandmother (in a much different way). Yes, we need to talk about suicide a lot more. I'm glad that you are still here with us to share your experience. Hopefully, it will open minds and heal some hearts.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I am so glad you are still here. I lost a friend to suicide and I struggled with my place in this world before. It is time to tear down the stigmas.

  • Ian Read9 months ago

    This one definitely hit home for me, but I am glad you wrote this. There's enough that happened to me and people close to me that I do not wish to share here, but I am glad you are making this visible.

  • I am proud of you for being willing to talk about an extremely vulnerable time in your life. You're right, suicide is a subject we dance around often, and I wish we didn't have to without worrying about offending someone. So in the spirit of being willing to talk about it, I'll admit that at one point in my life, I contemplated suicide. I was 10 and going through a lot in my life, including, but not limited to dealing with the start of puberty. It was the darkest period of my life and more often than not I was ashamed to admit those feelings. Thankfully I am in a better place and have gotten to the point of admitting it to some of my closer friends.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.