Interview logo

Me in a Nutshell

How does one write about oneself without saying too much or too little? Follow the advice of my favorite teacher and follow the "KISS" rule - "Keep It Simple, Stupid!"

By Lena FolkertPublished 2 years ago 12 min read
5

Who am I?

Eek!

That’s a question that someone like me dreads, especially when it comes to writing about myself. In theory, sharing a story about myself is exciting. In reality, it's daunting and anxiety-causing. Who wants to read about me, anyway? I'm guessing not many, and so it usually goes one of three ways...

  1. I could write about all of the little things that I have experienced and have made me who I am in my core, but the trouble with this approach is that the fibers of our beings are composed of a multitude of moments, and it would turn into the Real Never-Ending Story, and nobody wants that. (I talk about that HERE)
  2. I could write about all of my great accomplishments in life, but then just thinking of that word “accomplishments” gives me an uncomfortable feeling in my stomach and sends my eyes rolling so far back in my head that I get dizzy. So, let's just jump to option number three. (I write about that HERE)
  3. The third option is to treat myself like an interview subject and talk about myself in the 3rd person like I’m some sort of fancy CEO or someone who's contributed something to society, but the coolest thing I’ve ever done is hold flippers with a sea turtle. (I talk about that HERE.)

So, then, what’s a girl to do when her life has been full of out-of-the-box moments, but at the same time free of anything extraordinary? There’s really only one thing left to do, and it's what my favorite teacher used to advise me to do all the time: That's to use the "KISS" method and "Keep It Simple, Stupid!"

So, without further blah, blah, blah:

Here's Me in a Nutshell

(Well, a BIG nutshell filled with mushy stuff)

The Big Stuff

So, the number one thing about me is something that Vocal doesn’t really like us to talk about (and I get why), but let’s be honest, when someone talks about a holiday or a near death experience or their communion with Mother Nature... these are also religious topics. So, let's just acknowledge that Religion is at the core of our existence for a moment, and I won't go into my actual beliefs or anything like that, but I will say these words (and hope that they'll publish it) ... I’m a Jehovah’s Witness.

I know.

GASP!

But for real, this is the most important thing both To Me and About Me, and if you read my writings, you might find some opinions you disagree with, you might find some romance, some action, and even some magical realism, but you’ll never find curse words, sex, gruesome descriptions or anything mystical/magical (Though I do love me some Magical Realism and wrote a piece featuring it HERE).

After my beliefs, the most important thing is always: Family! I’m one-third of a Musketeer clan with my mother and sister, and though we drive each other a wee bit crazy most of the time, we’re linked together like those trick rings magicians use, except we aren’t ever coming apart. Don't even try! We’ve been through the worst of times together, and we’re steadily holding out for when we get to have the best of times together. (I talk about my incredible mother HERE and HERE and hope to talk more about my sister soon!)

I’m married to a Green card-carrying Canadian who is Not a Witness and is quite literally nothing like me. He wants guns (not gonna happen!), he curses constantly, and he listens to awful music and watches everything I refuse to. He even believes in that whole Hollow Earth conspiracy. Most of the time, we have nothing to talk about, and when we do talk, we get into disagreements a lot, because he’s like a child trapped in a man’s body, and I’m like a ninety-year-old woman trapped in a thirty-something’s body. Yet, we both are crazy about each other, emphasis on crazy, and so in love! (A poem inspired by him HERE)

I’m a mother without a child of her own, “mama” to many, but they’re off living their lives and only come to me when they remember they need me. It breaks my heart, but that’s what being a real mother is I think, and I love them, so I keep waiting. (I wrote a poem about this HERE)

I’m a loving friend who is awfully clingy for someone who is never there. Still, my best friends know that I love them despite my absences, and they know that I would walk through a lake of acid for them but picking up the phone is far too much to expect from me most of the time. Still, I have many people I love, and I’m mostly sure they love me as well. (I wrote about this HERE)

The Almost as Big Stuff

I’m a dog and animal lover from way back. I know most people will say something similar, and there are others who are far more prolific in their animal advocacy, but seriously, I bleed fur and scales, and I have risked my life to help many an animal, and let's not even talk about what I'd do to someone who hurts my babies.

Currently, I have three cats with my husband, two dogs with my sister, and a communal cockatoo that my mother brought home when I was four, and we all love. I have lost far too many animals throughout my life, and I still cry for each of them, but the most painful and devastating loss of my life was November 2020 when I lost my special gift from above – my Liwu. (I talk about him HERE and HERE)

I have major depression, OCD, social anxiety disorder, generalized anxiety disorder, ADHD, and I’m on the Spectrum. I have several chronic health conditions, and I’m in major pain every day of my life, but I’m still a joyful and grateful person, and that is all from above as well. (I talk about the constant battle between joy and depression HERE and some of my mental battles HERE)

I’ve spent as much of my life as possible volunteering to teach the Bible to those who want to learn more about it. I have been working and helping to pay the bills since I was four years old, and my body and mind are exhausted, but I also don’t know how to slow down and not burn myself out. (I talk about that HERE)

I’m a citizen of the US, but I don’t call myself an American. I call myself an Alaskan. I was raised in a cabin in the woods with no electricity or running water, and we knew poverty like no other amidst that rugged wilderness. Though I haven’t been back in decades, I have the most beautiful hometown in the world. (I talk about that HERE and HERE.)

The Slightly Less Big Stuff

I love books. Yeah, I know. We all do on this platform, but really… I am an avid reader from way back. I love the smell of a fresh paperback novel, and I wholeheartedly believe in dog-earing and marking up my favorite pages. And really, if I could spend every second writing, I would! (My feelings on writing HERE and my favorite author HERE and HERE)

I Long for freedom and travel. I hate being stuck. My soul is a wanderer, and my heart is afloat on the breeze. All of my stories are about travel and love in some way. Check out my favorites HERE and HERE and HERE.

I’ve worked my whole life, but my two most recent jobs felt like endless games of a tug-of-war of love and hate. Starbucks and PetSmart. I love making coffee and bringing people joy. I loved being a good leader and teaching people to love and appreciate coffee. I hated the drama, the gossip, the inequities, the slaving for unappreciative masters, and the toxicity. I Love the animals. I hated the politics, the losses, and the stubborn, careless pet parents and corporate CEOs. (I talk about this a bit HERE)

I have wanted to be many things in my life: basketball player, singer, photographer, coffeeshop owner, barista & baker, jeweler, surfer, freelancer, writer, mother, deckhand, and dog savior! I have finally come to realize that I can be all of these things! Why are we all so limited by our own ideas of what it means to BE something? Ultimately, aren't we all just looking for a little bit of happiness in this life? Why keep waiting for some achievement to feel fulfilled? (I talk a little about that HERE)

The Painful Things

My father was abusive growing up, and I did all I could to forget about him while he was alive. Now that he’s dead, I miss him and feel guilty for avoiding him my whole life. Still, I know it wasn't my fault and am coming to terms. (I talk through my grief HERE)

I have withstood bullies and pain every day of my life, and I often feel like letting my light extinguish, but we can’t just lie down and roll over. So, I write about these issues, and I fight through them. (Here’s a sample of my pains: HERE. HERE. HERE and HERE.)

The Random Trivia

I over-punctuate and put extra emojis/emoticons in all of my communications so that I can avoid coming off as rude or mean, even if this means I come off desperate, clingy, or immature.

I was a Coffee Master and Shift Supervisor at Starbucks for over ten years, and am a Coffee snob, addict, and trivia buff!

I hate public speaking, but I love hosting coffee seminars.

I was a deckhand in Southern Louisiana and can fillet a fish like nobody's business!

I was my high school Valedictorian, and even though it was in a class of only ten other students, I worked my tail off to get that honor while working four jobs and tutoring the rest of my classmates!

I have been trying to get my degree since (going on twenty years now).

I make beautiful earrings!

Fave TV Shows: Friends, Gilmore Girls, X-Files, Stargate, Chuck, Psyche, Monk, My Name is Earl, Big Bang Theory, Saved by the Bell - the original! (yeah, I said it!)

Fave Movies: Shawshank Redemption, Star Wars everything, Amistad, Clueless, Prince of Thieves, Hook, Princess Bride, Pride & Prejudice, Persuasion, School of Rock, The 3 Musketeers, so many!

Fave Foods: Sushi, Pineapple pizza, Celery juice, pomegranates, eggplant parmesan, egg rolls, Salad!

Fave Musicians: Seattle Sound and Grunge everything, Any and All Irish/Scottish Chanty type music, 90s rock and alternative, Jewel, UB40, Did I mention Seattle Sound? (Check this out!)

I have been working since I was four and have amassed a Jack-of-all-trades collection of jobs!

I'm from Alaska and have always wanted to live in Ireland and Hawaii. I've been and lived all over the country as well. From Hawaii to Alaska, and California to Louisiana. And Kansas to Texas -- Gag ME!

I love to sing and am good at it, and I love all music except religious music, metal, country and pretty much all modern mainstream music -- sorry, not sorry. (Check out a list of some of my favorite 90s artists HERE)

The Things That Make Life Interesting

How about I just spew out a few things I can't live without? Because, honestly, I can't go into detail about everything, but these are the things that make life worth living!

And A Few Things I Could Live Without!

We all know there is always more than our fair share of drama, inequities, pains, and annoyances to deal with. Here's a few of my pet peeves, stressors, and general blahs...

So, why have I included links to all of my articles, poems, short stories, etc. throughout this narrative? Well, because if you really think about it, the best way to get to know who I am is to read the things my heart speaks, and my heart speaks through my writing. So, please read whatever and whenever strikes your fancy.

Well, I'm sure you have begun to figure out why my teacher always told me the "KISS" method. I'm not the best at keeping things "simple!" I can sometimes ramble in my writing, but it is only because I am mostly silent in my life and have observed much in the way of human and world conditions. So, if you want to know a little more about me, just click on the links above and below to see through my eyes, and you will see that I have much to say on many things, but I always try to do it with as much honesty, kindness, insight, and rhythm as possible.

❤❤❤ Maybe, you will learn a little something about yourself through my own writing. Until next time, my friends. ❤❤❤

And please don't forget to look down below for links to some of my fellow and favorite Vocal Creators' Profiles!

Julie. Josie. Les. Steve. Ali. Mike. Gerald. Sarah. Dani Writer. Tiffany. Vocal Creators Chronicle. Paula. Dawn.

Goodness, there's just TOO many to list! :(

Remember my friends, Keep Reading and Supporting!!!

For me and for them, please like SHARE and subscribe if you enjoy. (Tips are always Very Welcome and often make us cry the good kind of tears!)

❤ Much Love to All of My Fellow Vocalites! ❤

Author's final note: Thank you for taking the time to read. I hope you enjoy this recipe!

If you enjoyed what you read, please click HERE for more, and don't forget to LIKE, SHARE, & SUBSCRIBE! Tips are Always Greatly Appreciated!❤

Want to learn how to get more out of your Vocal experience? Read this:

Check out My First Top Story on Vocal with this Short Story about Finding Love:

And read this Short Story about a Bounty Hunter named Chloe!

Look below for one of my favorite poems and my Second Top Story on Vocal!

❤ Click HERE To Check Out My Main Profile Page! And As Always, Thank You - For Reading & Supporting My Work!! ❤

Creators
5

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.