Poets logo

Dandelions

A poem by Lena.

By Lena FolkertPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
12
Dandelions
Photo by Daphné Richard on Unsplash

*** Please Enjoy this lovely song "Dandelion" by Carolina Story while you read. ***

***

I await you, dear one

Just one day more

***

Just one soft touch

Only one breathless whisper

***

And I'll be there once more

Close your eyes and whisper to the wind

I'm waiting patiently for you

***

The breeze carries me softly as I float around you

My seeds as soft and delicate as feather dust

You giggle quietly as I tickle your nose

And gently perch atop your pale skin

***

You know I will float away again soon

Yet, your heart remains lifted up

Until the wind carries me away

You watch sadly as I twirl and flee

***

You worry you will not see me again

And your heart feels lower than before

Until you see my sister sitting low to the ground

A smile graces your face as you gently lift her up

***

Blow ever so gently, dear one

Let your breath carry her along the wind

Fluttering and floating into a white cloud

She swirls around you so lovingly

***

Liberated and hopeful, she sings out to me

We leave you behind for now

But don't give into tears of sorrow

For it won't be long now until we return to you

***

Renewed by the soft glowing rays of the sun

Bright and beaming, we await you down the way

And tomorrow you will gently pluck us once more

You sent us on our way so that we might find a place

***

And now we await you with roots growing strong

For the next time we will see you

When you lean down once more to pluck us gently

And lift us happily to your bright and smiling face

***

We await you, dear one

Just one day more

***

Just one soft touch

Only one breathless whisper

***

And I'll be yours once more

Close your eyes and whisper to the wind

I'm waiting patiently for you

***

We await you, dear one

Just one day more

***

Author's Note: This poem was inspired by the simultaneous joy and heartache I feel when I see a dandelion floating on the breeze, and the pure joy I get when I see it return the next day, no longer white and fluffy, but full of life and light!

Author's final note: Thank you for taking the time to read. I hope you enjoy this poem.

If you enjoyed what you read, please click HERE for more, and don't forget to LIKE, SHARE, & SUBSCRIBE! Tips are Always Greatly Appreciated!❤

Want to learn how to get more out of your Vocal experience? Read this:

Check out My First Top Story on Vocal with this Short Story about Finding Love:

And read this Short Story about a Bounty Hunter named Chloe!

Look below for one of my favorite poems and my Second Top Story on Vocal!

❤ Click HERE To Check Out My Main Profile Page! And As Always, Thank You - For Reading & Supporting My Work!! ❤

nature poetry
12

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Dandelions are perhaps the most nostalgic flower ever! Great poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.