Poets logo

Spinning Avoidance

A poem by Lena.

By Lena FolkertPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
7
Spinning Avoidance
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

Author's note: As I was typing the lines of this poem, the song in my headphones changed. Suddenly amidst these thoughts I am writing, the words being sung in my head by the band The Weepies find themselves entangling themselves into my poetry without my permission. In honor of this beautifully sad and inspirational song, I have included the link to their song via Youtube. (CLICK HERE)Feel free to listen to the song as you read this poem, and you will be fully immersed into both the artists' minds and my own. And credits issued to the band for their extra inspiration and quotes included within the poem.🖤

🖤

These books I should be studying

Lie open in front of me, untouched

My interest in these areas has been forsaken

As the raw emotions and painful thoughts

Overtake me and bring the tears that burn

Pen in hand, I sit trying to focus

Earthquakes, groundwater, sedimentary rocks

These geological features that once held

My determined and interested focus

Now blur into the white of the glaring screen

The song plays, “I wake up and wish I was dead”

From a band named The Weepies, I’d expect nothing less

“The whole world is moving, and I’m standing still”

How is it that a single song can reach into my soul

And pull out the little pieces that rest inside

That I thought belonged solely and only to me?

Not so unique in my regrets and desperations

The pen in my hand starts moving furiously

I read the writing that flows without my intention

Words unrelated to intellectual studies

Fill the pages in front of me, and I’m left to wonder

As I read these depressive hollowed out grooves

Will these words be any more worthwhile

Than the forgotten studies I once pursued

These natural inclinations and far-fetched aspirations

Are draining my insides leaving indentations

And abandoned hope of careful mediations

“And with an aching in my head”

I sit here and watch as “the world spins madly on”

🖤

❤ Thank you for reading. If you enjoyed this poem, click here for more, and please like, share, and subscribe. Tips are Greatly Appreciated!❤

sad poetry
7

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.