Poets logo

Day Sleeper

A poem by Lena.

By Lena FolkertPublished 3 years ago β€’ 2 min read
9
Day Sleeper
Photo by Vladislav Muslakov on Unsplash

πŸ–€

My coffee sits in front of me, cold and untouched

I remember it is there as my head I hang down

I take a sip to prevent the migraine from coming on

Wincing as the acridness lingers on my tongue

Like so many other things within this wasted life of mine

My coffee has become abandoned and forgotten

Resentment as cold and bitter as the contents of my mug

Fills my heart and overtakes my already desperate thoughts

I stare at my pillow across the room waiting for me

The irony of my condition on me is never lost

Loneliness and depression keep me awake at night

I care not to function in the harsh hours of the daylight

The desperation and sadness of this existence of mine

Seems somehow softer and romanticized by the darkness

Yet, it is the isolation and inefficiency of this night-dwelling life

That keep me from the caring company for which I long

These hours bring out the artist in me, the poet’s soul

But it is these same hours that highlight that which I lack

The moon is softer and seems more embracing

That same softness highlights the poignancy of my condition

When the rest of the world is eagerly in pursuit of accomplishment

I eagerly pursue the resting world far away from their successes

I take another sip and embrace the bitterness on my tongue

It matches my soul and seems fitting in this moment

There is no sweetener capable of taking away

This sourness that lives inside my soul so dark

I look again to my pillow at the far end of this

Far too brightly lit and empty room of mine

My pillow beckons me, and I answer its temptation

My coffee once again lumped in with my

Long-since forgotten dreams and aspirations

That only the productive hours of the daylight can bring

My head lands on the pillow, and it is determined

Though it feels harder and colder in the daylight hours

Serving as a reminder of my own inadequacies

I close my eyes and embrace my fate of a prisoner

Contained in this cell of self-loathing and regret

I scan the darkness behind my lids and readily embrace

The all too temporary but welcome release

πŸ–€

πŸ–€πŸ–€ Thank you for reading. If you enjoyed this poem, click here for more, and please like, share, and subscribe. Tips are Greatly Appreciated! πŸ–€πŸ–€

sad poetry
9

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🀍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🀍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🀍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🀍 Dreamer 🀍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🀍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.