Poets logo

Morning Gong

A poem by Lena

By Lena FolkertPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

💤

I’m swimming in the ocean,

Dolphins leap around me.

Calling out to me,

Filling me with jubilation.

The song begins to play -

My hand smashes down,

Heartbeat racing.

Jolted yes, even fearful,

Becoming angry and spiteful -

How I used to love that tune.

Now, it fills me with hatred,

With contempt, yes even dread.

My fingers find the button –

💤Snooze!💤

The music dies down.

My eyes fluttering closed,

Peacefulness returning.

Images fill my mind.

Waves are crashing down,

I hear the sounds.

I can smell the salt.

I dip my toes in -

The lyrics scream at me.

Eyes shooting open -

Hand smashing down,

The screeching stopping short.

Oh, when will I ever learn?

Never use a song -

You love and enjoy,

To be your morning gong.

💤

❤ If you enjoyed this poem, click here for more, and please like, share, and subscribe. Tips are Greatly Appreciated.❤

childrens poetry

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Kent Brindley2 years ago

    Such a great read; and so relatable! (There's nothing quite like having a great dream broken up by "Mr. Ed's" voice machine-gunning "[Neigh] HELLO!" in my ear).

Lena FolkertWritten by Lena Folkert

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.