Feast logo

Eggplant and Whiskey Thanksgiving

When you don't celebrate the holidays, but you love to eat and spend time with friends!

By Lena FolkertPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Photo and recipe by author.

***

I grew up in a family that never celebrated holidays, so when people ask me what my plans are for those days, my answer has almost always been the same: I'm working and pulling in that nice time and a half holiday pay!

Since quitting my long-time Starbucks job last year, though, I have had other plans on the holidays - Doing nothing and trying to avoid the crowds. It's worked out pretty well so far, but this year, my sister and I got an invitation to spend the day with one of our best friends and favorite people in the world.

Like us, she does not celebrate the holidays. So, Thanksgiving is just any other Thursday - except that she actually got the night off, and we all decided that while the rest of the world (or what felt like it) was off eating their turkey and sweet potato pie, we would get together for some hugs, girly talk, and an episode or two of The Mandalorian.

Unfortunately, we made these plans to hang out Wednesday night, and since none of us celebrate the holidays, we all sort of forgot that the stores and restaurants were all closed.

That was when the plan almost fell through, but my friend offered to cook the last of her chicken for us, and I offered to bring the dessert. Of course, all I had was some frozen pineapple and a can of "Coco Lopez," but I happen to know that you can make a kick butt pina colada with nothing more than those two ingredients - as long as you don't mind it being a virgin, of course!

So, off my sister and I went. Nothing special planned. Just a girls' night with virgin pina coladas and some chicken thighs. Walking up those three flights of stairs to her apartment, I never expected to walk into one of the best meals and nights of my grown-up life, but that's exactly what happened when our friend opened her apartment to us. She even splurged on us and pulled out the last of her pecan whiskey so that we could have more promiscuous pina coladas.

By Milo Weiler on Unsplash

So, there you have it. Our Not-So-Thanksgiving dinner of Eggplant Stir-Fry and Whiskey Pina Coladas!

Of course, this meal was so good, that I had to immediately attempt to recreate it, and I had to do what I always do and make it my own! The great thing about this recipe is that it is SO easy! A lot of people over-think both eggplant and stir-fry, but it really doesn't have to be this big ordeal, and the great thing about this recipe is how few ingredients and steps there are to make it delicious.

So, without further ado, I give to you my recipe for Eggplant Stir-Fry and Pina Coladas - I'll let you decide if you want to add the Whiskey or not!

By Humphrey Muleba on Unsplash

The Shopping List

*** This recipe filled my family of 4 and our pet cockatoo (what was safe for him of course! ***

  • 1 Eggplant (I wished I had used 2 though)
  • 1 Pack of boneless, skinless chicken breasts - or whatever meat you prefer (roughly one piece of meat per person)
  • 1/2 Head of cabbage (green or purple)
  • 2 Cups Uncooked Rice (my favorite is Jasmine)
  • 4 Cups Frozen Pineapple (if using fresh, add ice - don't you dare use canned pineapple!)
  • 2 Cans Coco Lopez (or sweetened coconut cream of your choice)
  • Oil of your choice (I use either coconut or avocado)
  • 2 Green onions (optional)

Marinade

(If you do not want to make your own, Click Here for the one my friend used. It is delicious!)

  • 1/2 Cup Soy Sauce (I like Mushroom Soy Sauce or Braggs)
  • 3 Teaspoons Honey or Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Chili Paste of choice
  • 1/4 Cup Sherry or Rice Wine Vinegar or Orange Juice
  • Black Pepper to taste
  • Sesame Seeds to taste

*** Alter these ratios according to your taste ***

The Process

Chicken

Now, for the chicken, we both opted to bake ours, and I personally like how tender and juicy it turns out when baked, but you can always opt to cut your chicken and fry in a pan with the vegetables. If you choose this method, I would fry first in your oil until mostly cooked before adding the eggplant and cabbage. If you follow my method of baking, this is what you would do:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 F.
  2. Place chicken flat in an oven-safe container of your choice.
  3. Lightly Drizzle with oil and marinade (you can always pre-marinade your chicken. I opted not to).
  4. Bake until chicken is cooked but still juicy (about 30 minutes).

*** After placing Chicken in oven, begin making your rice. ***

Vegetables

  1. Rinse and chop your eggplant and cabbage (I don't overthink this part and just cut into chunks about the size of a tomato wedge).
  2. Heat oil in a pan on med-high heat (with eggplant it is important to heat the pan and oil first or your eggplant will absorb the oil).
  3. Add eggplant first and brown slightly.
  4. Add cabbage and sauté until cabbage begins to turn slightly clear (I prefer my cabbage slightly andante, but you can cook to your preference).
  5. Add green onions (optional) and your marinade and sauté an additional 30 seconds or so, before removing from heat.
  6. If you are adding sesame oil, now would be the time to drizzle it lightly over the vegetables. Remember, sesame oil is a finishing oil (it should not be cooked).

Finishing Touches

By now, your rice should be done as well, and you can begin to plate your food. I like to slice the chicken lengthwise (as pictured), but you can cut it to your preference and add into the vegetables if you wish.

I like to place the rice and vegetables on the side and place the chicken sliced over both.

*** Top with a drizzle of marinade, sesame seeds, and fresh green onion (Optional).

Pina Coladas

*** This is the easiest part!!!

Simply add Pineapple and Coconut Cream into blender. Blend until smooth. Add rum if you have it... or whiskey! Your choice!

Eat, Drink and Enjoy!

By Brenda Godinez on Unsplash

***

Author's final note: Thank you for taking the time to read. I hope you enjoy this recipe!

If you enjoyed what you read, please click HERE for more, and don't forget to LIKE, SHARE, & SUBSCRIBE! Tips are Always Greatly Appreciated!❤

Want to learn how to get more out of your Vocal experience? Read this:

Check out My First Top Story on Vocal with this Short Story about Finding Love:

And read this Short Story about a Bounty Hunter named Chloe!

Look below for one of my favorite poems and my Second Top Story on Vocal!

❤ Click HERE To Check Out My Main Profile Page! And As Always, Thank You - For Reading & Supporting My Work!! ❤

recipe

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lena FolkertWritten by Lena Folkert

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.