Poets logo

Piles Upon Piles

A poem about hoarding by Lena.

By Lena FolkertPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
2
Piles Upon Piles
Photo by Cristina Gottardi on Unsplash

Author's Note: Hoarding and Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder are very real mental disorders that deserve, not jokes or judgement, but insights, understanding, and help! The following poem may trigger an unpleasant reaction if you or someone you know suffers from one of these conditions.

Please enjoy the song above as well - it may resonate with anyone who has experienced abuse or hoarding first or second-hand. And always -- Love to all those who understand this poem!

***

Piles upon piles!

Everywhere I look,

There’s another pile.

With dust and dirt.

Oh! The cobwebs abound.

As the flies come around,

So, the spiders hear the call.

What follows after - even worse.

*

Piles upon piles!

Everywhere I look,

There’s another pile.

I trip but do not fall -

Another scraped up knee,

Another bundled up ball.

Clothing, garbage, food stuffs, too.

What those bring, we all know.

*

Piles upon piles!

Everywhere I look,

There’s another pile.

Oh, no, I think that one just –

Oh, goodness it did.

It moved. It squirmed.

I don’t even want to know,

What is under that mound.

*

Piles upon piles!

Everywhere I look,

There’s another pile.

Call the cleaners!

Call the cops!

I don’t care at all -

I’ll cover any cost!

Please, just call for help.

*

Piles upon piles!

Everywhere I look,

There’s another pile.

Grab the gas, light a match -

Burn it to the ground!

I don’t care what you do,

Just get it all out -

Make it all disappear.

*

Piles upon piles!

Help me, please!

There’s a pile everywhere I look.

*

I try. I try. But I can’t defeat.

This hoarder’s soul within,

It’s nothing good at all.

*

Burn it all. Burn it down.

These piles upon piles,

Mean nothing to me at all.

*

Burn it all. Burn it all.

Help me please.

*

Piles upon piles!

Everywhere I look,

There’s another pile.

***

Author's final note: Thank you for taking the time to read my poem. If you enjoyed what you read, please click HERE for more, and don't forget to LIKE, SHARE, & SUBSCRIBE! Tips are Always Greatly Appreciated! ❤

Check out another one of my short stories below!

Look below for one of my favorite poems!

❤ Click HERE To Check Out My Main Profile Page! And As Always, Thank You - For Reading & Supporting My Work!! ❤

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.