Poets logo

Rigidity

A poem by Lena.

By Lena FolkertPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
14
Rigidity
Photo by Dan Gold on Unsplash

***

You say I let you down, and that I’m no good for you.

You say you’re disappointed that I never come through.

I try to show you the truth that lies right in front of you.

I’m trying so hard to do things the way you want me to.

***

You don’t see that your expectations have gotten out of hand.

You don’t see the unfairness in placing all these demands.

I try to show you the truth, but you do not understand.

I’m not here for you only to follow your commands.

***

You live in a world of black and white, right and wrong.

You’ve lived inside your own rigid world far too long.

I try to help you see that it is between the greys that we belong.

I try to show you the different shades, but you refuse to come along.

***

You expect the world to fall within your made-up lines.

You want me to follow you and forget what is mine.

I wish you could see that I simply cannot align.

I want you to be able to see that it is here that I shine.

***

You think that everyone should do things your way.

You don’t understand that I need to have my own say.

I know that things don’t always work out your way.

I wish you could just let things fall where they may.

***

You believe I should just make things happen for you.

You see things one way and expect me to follow through.

I try to be what you need, but there’s a limit to what I can do.

I see your hopes as what they are, wishes that won’t come true.

***

🖤🖤 Thank you for reading. If you enjoyed this poem, click here for more, and please like, share, and subscribe. Tips are Greatly Appreciated but never expected! 🖤🖤

social commentary
14

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.