Poets logo

Unburdened

A poem by Lena.

By Lena FolkertPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Unburdened
Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

Author's Note: This poem is for all those who know what it feels like to lie awake in fear at night, afraid to take up space. A far too common occurrence. After writing this poem, I was suddenly struck by the (completely coincidental) similarity to this sad but beautiful song by one of my all-time favorite bands, Pearl Jam, and lead singer, Eddie Vedder. Please enjoy both the song and poem. And Love sent your way if you know these words all too well. 🖤

*

My eyelids hang heavy over these sleepy eyes

Your words I keep repeating, your promises, your lies

The heaviness extends down deep into my soul

These constant fights and fears, finally taking toll

*

I know full well it is too late to look back now

I will escape this life, though I do not know how

*

Your words you craft, keeping me bent to your will

Not daring to wake you, I lie silent and still

I lie awake, watching you sleep so unaware

You rest so peacefully, too unburdened to care

*

My fists I clench at my sides, unable to let go

Of your broken promises and words so hollow -

Nothing more than empty lies you made to me

I lie awake, crying ever so quietly

*

My eyelids hang heavy over these sleepy eyes

Your words I keep repeating, your promises, your lies

The heaviness extends down deep into my soul

These constant fights and fears, finally taking toll

*

I know full well it is too late to look back now

I will escape this life, though I do not know how

*

🖤🖤 Thank you for reading. If you enjoyed this poem, click here for more, and please like, share, and subscribe. Tips are Greatly Appreciated but never expected! 🖤🖤

sad poetry

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lena FolkertWritten by Lena Folkert

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.