Poets logo

Excuse the Tears

A poem by Lena

By Lena FolkertPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
7
Excuse the Tears
Photo by Mayank Dhanawade on Unsplash

💧

Excuse me while I scream,

Until the vessels burst in my eyes.

Stop ignoring me, stop letting me be.

I need more than your silence.

I need more than your pettiness.

So, excuse me while I scream,

Until my throat is scratched and hoarse.

Stop looking like that at me.

I need more than your judgement.

I need more than your haughtiness.

Excuse the tears that stream down,

My cheeks so fleshy and flushed.

They’re not tears of sadness —

At least I don’t believe.

They’re tears of anger, of fear.

I need you to be silent.

I need you to be less you.

So, excuse the tears that stream down,

My cheeks so fatty and freckled.

They’re not tears for you at all –

I stopped those long ago.

They’re tears for me. Yes, for me.

I need you to not be here.

I need you to leave me be.

Just for a while,

Will you please just let me be?

💧

❤ Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed this poem, please like, share, and subscribe and check out one of my favorite stories by clicking here.❤

sad poetry
7

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.