Poets logo

Escape

From the movie Waitress

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
5

making “Lonely Chicago Pie,”

In the soft, shadowy hours of sleepy before sunrise dawn

I miss my mother, I miss her more than when she was her with me, I miss how she was so close and so far

Folding in those exotic spices and creams and berries, dark chocolate in

A dream I can't stop feeling

I miss her, she's been stitched into the fabric of my soul, my very creamy and warm center

The heart in the middle pie that she created just for me,

I need her more than I needed my escape, I realized

My escape from the prison

That encased me like a concrete pie from hell

I needed her more than my escape from my controlling husband

Knowing this, I set myself free,

“Set Myself Free Momma Pie,”

With the fragrance of her “Radio Car Pie,”

Smoothing out my hurt hearing with some smooth, smooth tunes.

sad poetryinspirational
5

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous will be published by Eukalypto

& Atonement will be released this August by JMS Books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran13 days ago

    "My escape from the prison That encased me like a concrete pie from hell" I loved these lines the most! Such a poignant and emotional poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 14 days ago

    Wonderful poem.

  • Babs Iverson14 days ago

    Melancholyand beautifully written. Loved your last line, "Smoothing out my hurt hearing with some smooth, smooth tunes."

  • Feel sad and your work is super.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.