Poets logo

It's Clinical

A poem about depression.

By Lena FolkertPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
11
Photo by Thiago Matos from Pexels

Oh, it’s such a long way down -

To the place my heart lives.

I try to bring it home.

Try to lift it higher up,

But it’s stubborn and fixed -

On the weight that wearies it.

The traumas press upon it like gravity.

I pick off the lint and pieces,

Of gravel that got kicked upon it.

I brush the dust off and try again,

But so stubborn it remains -

Firm and determined to stay low -

Focused on the past and the future,

Never embracing the moment.

No matter how I try, it never listens -

To the joy I try to impart,

To the deeply wounded,

And forever scarred and marred -

Heart that used to reside,

Within this hollow chest of mine.

I cry out for you to try,

But you’re too tired, too sore.

Leave me be, let me alone -

You cry out to me.

So, I let you rest in the dust,

And hope for the best,

Knowing full well as I do -

There’s just no coming back from this.

❤ If you enjoyed this poem, click here for more, and please like, share, and subscribe. Tips are Greatly Appreciated.❤

sad poetry
11

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I wish it didn't have to be this hard. Sending hugs to you

  • A beautiful piece that so many will be able to relate. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Awesome!!!

  • Thank you!💕

  • Sending hugs and support for this Lena

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.