Humans logo

We are 6 months into 2024 and I haven’t achieved all my goals yet.

An honest account of my first six months

By Hridya SharmaPublished 3 days ago 4 min read

We are 6 months into 2024 and I haven’t achieved all my goals yet.

Let’s be true to ourselves, this is the stance of millions worldwide. We all have made our New Year resolutions and have faltered in our discourse of being consistent and true about it. To be consistent in your stance, you need clarity and focus on what you are headed towards, when the head is lost in aimless directions of what should be, we lose our sight of what we are and where we should be headed. In absolute honesty, I too was directionless in the first 6 months of my existence in 2024. To give you more insight into my journey here is my account of the first half of 2024-

I took a competitive exam in 2023 and tried my hardest to make it work while balancing work and studies, but I faltered in my stance to achieve my goal. I could not make it through and started overworking myself in the first two months of my journey. While I did achieve a lot in those months, it took a toll on my mental health which resulted in me falling sick for a long while. So I decided to take the next few months off, and the last four months of my mortality made me realize the importance of mental health and discipline. There is essence in the fact of selective dissemination of your energy, you can only pour water into other cups if your soul itself is nourished to its fullest. So I started taking care of myself and here is what I learnt in those months

1)Life is not a race, you are on your journey- I am in my early twenties and it is easy for me to play the blame game and hold others responsible for my miserability, but it takes humility and awareness to realize that your journey has nothing to do with looking identical or appealing to someone else. I started taking accountability for my existence, I am exactly where I need to be and to be where I want to be, I accept myself and embrace the notion of being better than no one else but myself

2)Rest, Reflection, Rejuvenation- The beauty of stillness and devoting time to resting and refreshing your mind and soul, is the best you can do for yourself. During my months of rest, I realized the necessity of being connected to yourself, of knowing what makes you happy, of where your true inner joy and peace lie.

3) Making yourself your number one priority- As empaths, we are deemed to put the needs of others before our own, life in its stance seems exhausting when we neglect ourselves to save others. It took me the turbulence of existential bane to know that placing all your bets on yourself is the only way to win the game. I learned that it is not selfish to do things that make you fall in love with yourself, even if it seems crazy to others.

4) Honing and Investing in my skill- I am a content writer, an award-winning poet, a blogger and an author. Writing is like breathing for my survival, it breathes air into the barren sparsity of my soul. I knew I wanted to be a writer since my teens, but back then it seemed impossible, as I turned 18, I started my page on Instagram and fast forward to now- I have 3.5 years of experience in different domains of content and writing, have been awarded nationally for my poetry and work with one of the best magazines in the country. But does that mean I do not mess up, or I am the best in my craft- the answer is NO! I still make a lot of mistakes, face countless rejections, seek criticism over my work and falter at times to deliver my best quality creations. But the love of what I do is so much bigger than any criticism or rejection, it gives me the fuel to charge forward and hone my skill.

5) It is better to fail than to not try at all - I was devastated when I couldn't clear my exam, but looking back at my journey, I don't have a single regret in how things turned out to be. I am proud of myself for trying and not giving up despite the obstacles and hurdles that came my way. If you fail after putting in the best possible effort you could, it is not a failure, it is a lesson in the face of your growth. But you fail without trying, it is a question of your honesty and dedication to your ambitions and desires.

Six months into 2024 and I have not achieved all of them yet. If you relate to this, I welcome you on this journey where I am going to document my quest to become the best version of myself and share my insights and lessons that I significantly learnt over the road to becoming undeniable.

Let's join hands in the quest to be the best we can ever be,

To live life in the radiance of excellence, in the belief of our ultimate potential,

That the world in the endeavors of our quest would see.

Also read- Ecophobia and its harmful consequences of mental and physical health- A feminist study

vintagetv reviewtravelStream of Consciousnesssocial mediasinglesciencesatirereviewquotesproduct reviewpop culturephotographymovie reviewmarriageloveliteraturelistlgbtqinterviewhumorhumanityhow tofriendshipfeaturefamilyfact or fictiondiydivorcedatingcelebritiesbreakupsbook reviewsartadvice

About the Creator

Hridya Sharma

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Hridya SharmaWritten by Hridya Sharma

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.