Poets logo

Divine Timing

When Anger Loses Control

By Kathleen ThompsonPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Photo Credit- Kathleen Thompson

“Our struggles have been years in the making.”

“I know, but I wish we’d had this conversation earlier.”

“Yeah, but we couldn’t have connected again before now.”

“Why is that? Do you think the confusion, anger, or spite just got to a level that couldn't remain unspoken any longer?"

"Yeah...pretty much.” (Sigh)

“So much wasted time.” (Shaking head)

“But the time lapse made us simmer with feelings that can no longer be hemmed in. You know as well as I that whenever we offended each other, knowingly or not, …it just stirred the pot.”

“So, have we passed the full boil? Or has the burner been shut off?”

“I’ve shut it off on my stove.”

“Why is that brother? We’ve had grudges for years. What’s different now? Nothing has changed.”

“Yes, it has.” (Said with despair)

“What are you saying?”

“I’m saying…actually my doctors are saying that I’ve only got a couple months to live.” (Voice cracking)

Silence. Both sets of eyes watering…while attempting to focus on each other.

“With so little time left, I wish you had not waited so long to call me to mend our broken fences.”

“As I said before, I do wish we’d had this conversation earlier, but egos sometimes get in the way. Or I should say…my ego got in the way. And then life happens and sometimes…” (voice softens and pauses)

“And sometimes what?” (Her hand reaches for her brother’s hand to comfort)

“Life happens and sometimes…Forgiveness comes on its own timing.”

sad poetry

About the Creator

Kathleen Thompson

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • shanmuga priyaabout an hour ago

    Congratulations 🎉 keep up the fantastic work.

  • Sarah Danielabout 7 hours ago

    What a moving and heartfelt conversation. It’s a powerful reminder that forgiveness often comes at the right time, even if it feels too late. Thank you for sharing this emotional journey.

  • Gabriel Huizengaabout 7 hours ago

    So profoundly human- hope for rekindling relationship, even in the most tragic of circumstances. Thank you for sharing <3

  • Margaret Brennanabout 8 hours ago

    it's so beautiful. and makes me ultra happy that I mended the fences with my brother before he died. At least we had a few years.

  • Joe Patterson4 days ago

    Not just a poem, or a conversation but a cautionary tale.

  • The revelation of limited time left adds a profound sense of urgency and vulnerability. The reader is left moved by the raw honesty and the importance of reconciliation, thank you very much for sharing, love your works, hope to read more, subscribed.

Kathleen ThompsonWritten by Kathleen Thompson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.