Psyche logo

Awareness is a Good Start

Please- Take the Next Step

By Judey Kalchik Published 7 months ago 4 min read
20
Image by Stefan Keller from Pixabay

I need a mental health day.’ I’ve said it. I’ve heard it. Sometimes I’ve even taken it.

Today is World Mental Health Day. It’s a day for mental health awareness, education, and advocacy.

  • To remove the stigma of mental illness.
  • To make it clear that it’s OK to let others know that things aren’t OK with you.
  • To make it easier to ask for help.

The burden of carrying the load of illness is staggering. It’s numbing. It’s exhausting. I know this is true.

Not only because I’ve seen it in my family; I’ve seen it in the mirror.

Image by Marat Mukhambetaliev from Pixabay

I am a survivor of bulimia.

Telling my doctor about this issue, which is in my past, earned me an entry on my medical file: Mental Illness. Well, alright then.

I am a survivor of postpartum depression. BAM. That’s another entry.

  • My father committed suicide.
  • My grandmother suffered from ‘nerves’.
  • My brother. Well, my brother has had a varied diagnosis, so I’ll say it’s complicated.

BAM. Better keep your eye on me. No telling when the Bad Seed will germinate...

~

It’s tiring. Always watching for the truth to seep out of a crack.

Moving on and showing up and cleaning and caring and trying and SMILING.

God, please. Please help me!

ALL of the SMILING that is required to be non-offensive.

To keep everyone AT EASE.

Not to CAUSE a SCENE.

What will people think?

When your mind can’t help asking you why you are rushing.

Why be on time?

Why try?

Why even move forward when the light turns green?

What is the use?

What is the purpose?

Why even ask?

Who cares?

And sometimes, you ask for help. Sometimes you tell. Sometimes you admit. Sometimes you reach out and find a hand is there.

Image by StockSnap from Pixabay

If it’s you-

If you need help: ask.

If that secret has you worn to the bone with weariness, put it down.

Or get someone to help you carry it.

If you can give help- reach out.

If you have the strength, look for ways to use it.

Compassion is a good start. Compassion for others. Compassion for yourself.

Do what I say, not what I do, okay? Don’t forget. Do it now.

Here are some places to get help:

CheckPoint.org and Therapyroute.com for global mental health resources.

SAMHSA National Helpline- Call 1–800–662-HELP (4357) for a free, confidential, 24/7, 365-day-a-year treatment referral and information service (in English and Spanish) for individuals and families facing mental and/or substance use disorders.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline — Call 800–273-TALK (8255). If you or someone you know is in crisis-whether they are considering suicide or not-please call the toll-free Lifeline at 800–273-TALK (8255) to speak with a trained crisis counselor 24/7.

The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline connects you with a U.S. crisis center in the Lifeline network closest to your location. Your call will be answered by a trained crisis worker who will listen empathetically and without judgment. The crisis worker will work to ensure that you feel safe and help identify options and information about mental health services in your area. Your call is confidential and free.

Crisis Text Line — Text NAMI to 741–741 Connect with a trained crisis counselor to receive free, 24/7 crisis support via text message.

National Domestic Violence Hotline — Call 800–799-SAFE (7233) Trained expert advocates are available 24/7 to provide confidential support to anyone experiencing domestic violence or seeking resources and information. Help is available in Spanish and other languages.

National Sexual Assault Hotline — Call 800–656-HOPE (4673) Connect with a trained staff member from a sexual assault service provider in your area that offers access to a range of free services. Crisis chat support is available at Online Hotline. Free help, 24/7.

-----------------

This article is solely for informational purposes and represents the writer’s personal opinion. Please seek professional advice if required.

The older I get the less embarrassed I am to share things that were once unmentionable. here are two topics that might resonate with you.

Please click on the wee heart if my writing clicked with you, subscribe for FREE to see when my next piece is live, and drop in a comment to share your thoughts!

traumatherapysupportstigmaselfcareschizophreniarecoveryptsdpersonality disorderpanic attacksfamilyeatingdisorderdepressioncopingbipolar
20

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman6 months ago

    Brilliant article and very important! Nice job Judey! No more stigma please!

  • Denise E Lindquist7 months ago

    As always thank you for sharing such an important message!!😊💕❤️

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this - I also wrote something to mark mental health day, but from a way less personal perspective - and nothing beats the personal here, it was great to read.

  • Celia in Underland7 months ago

    I felt this so much. Thank you for sharing 🤍

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    Thank you for sharing, and being a survivor who is a roaring good example for us all!

  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Dear Mrs. 'j' - Just amazing to me how you come up with these so prevalent topics during these days of such unrest ~ your Wisdom/With Wit is never lost with me ~ "What will people think?" My Motto: "You wouldn't worry so much about what people think about you ~ If you realized how little they did." - My Respect - 'j'

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Impressive and informative!!! Mental Health Day is every day!!!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Great article. Thanks for sharing.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Insightful and helpful. Well done!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh7 months ago

    Wonderful reminder and encouragement. Thanks for stepping up and being vulnerable so we can all be stronger together.

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    This is a great piece for Mental Health awareness and resources

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.