Writers logo

Winners Winners Chicken Dinners

a list of things I felt were worth publishing

By M. LeePublished 4 months ago Updated 2 days ago 4 min read
4

Oh, hey there. Aloha. So happy you found me! And just in time too, I was just writing a little back story about myself. (How convenient!)

Picture this. Hawai'i, 1980's. So, there I was, seven-years-old, walking home from school with a Beverly Cleary-Ramona Quimby story in my hands, trying to focus on the words while stumbling across the street when it hit me: I had no clue what kind of lives the characters lived, couldn't relate to one damned thing or another. I didn't know how it felt to have a father who lived in the same household, or one who even truly cared about me. I didn't have a big sister I wanted to look up to or gentle family members who were willing to take me aside and kindly show me the ropes. I didn't have any of that. So I made the decision right then and there: I was going to be an author and write stories that I could relate to. Stories that I wanted to read.

Starting from second grade I wrote and wrote, had my poems and stories floating around in public libraries and malls, tested into gifted and talented and upper English classes and was told by teachers and faculty that they believed I was going to be a writer. So I went to college and wrote for the paper...

And then I got sidetracked.

I never stopped writing, just cooled my jets for a while I hustled and focused on making money. Modeled. Acted. Got married. Settled down. But I wanted more. You know how it is. Went back to school, five small children in tow, and worked my butt off while earning my Bachelor of Arts in English. After too many tears, late night worries, daily struggles, and gray hairs I finally achieved my goal. (Thanks in large part to the cheers and support of my soulmate and our kiddos.)

And now I'm in graduate school, working towards my MFA. Seriously excited about crafting stories again.

I write all kinds of things but my favorite genre to write is humor. When people ask me how I write the way I do, I tell them that it helps that I had a really traumatic upbringing. I feel like, if I had a, "normal" childhood, I wouldn't have such a f*cked up, comical way of looking at things so I'm actually grateful for all of the heartwrenching lessons and horrible people I've had to endure (or maybe who had to endure me) since birth.

Anywho, if you're still here (and I hope you are) thank you for making it this far. I promise that I'm almost done with my Sophia from The Golden Girls style monologue.

Ending this weird bio by saying that I saw a couple of great vocal writers who listed their writing works, and thought it was an awesome idea so I decided to put one together for myself.

Without further ado, I'd like to introduce...

The Things I've written:

(with clickable links!)

Short Stories:

Good Sexts (⭐️Top Story, October 2023)

Da Fall in da Usher House, an adaptation of Edgar Allan Poe's, "The Fall of the House of Usher"(Previously published by Vice-Versa Journal)

Soul : a vampire story (originally written in 1999)

Dream Wedding

Microfiction:

Every Day Something New (⭐️Top Story, January 2024)

Word Games with the Wife

Just Being Frank

The Stalker

Who Was He Really?

The Language of Today

So I went Shopping…

That Silly Novel

FFS

Tita

Truth Is (⭐️Top Story, March 2024)

Not All Men

Illogical Fear (⭐️Top Story, May 2024)

Essays:

Life in the NICU

Savor Some Real Hawaiian Flavor (⭐️Runner up, Nourish Challenge)

My life starting... now. Wait, no. Now. Actually...

5 Things that are said to bring good luck during Chinese New Year

Poetry:

Tomorrow

The Car Ride

Not My Fault

It's a Sign

I Cannot Live With You a 21st century Emily Dickinson Redux

The Trendtanglement of Connie and Blythe

Love Pain

The Lovers

The Path

i am

*Sigh* Kids

You (⭐️Top Story, February 2024) (⭐️Runner-Up, Inverse)

Onward

Remember

Carpe D’ieming

Toast Bread and Water

Kid Munchies

A Fish Tale

Life and End

Precious

Dinosaurs

Song lyrics:

Keep Your Head Up (bg instrumentals in vid. by Kolusola on Tiktok)

On other websites:

Leaving Instagram? Here’s how to save your photos before you go

10 Inspiring Native Hawaiian Female Athletes

Help the Victims of the Maui Fires

Turn off these features in apple ios 17

5 Things that can bring you good luck this Chinese New Year

Previously Published Books:

(also with clickable links!)

Novels:

Fricken Kids

Makena's Shadow

Poetry Chapbooks:

Love Hate

No Artificial Colors

Short Story Collections:

Mama's Dramas the book

Previously Published by Literary Journals:

(in no particular order)

Fingernail Hawaiian ('Oiwi: A Native Hawaiian Journal, Vol. 4: Kūpa'a Māhope 'o ka 'Āina, 2011)

The Feast ('Oiwi: A Native Hawaiian Journal, Vol. 4: Kūpa'a Māhope 'o ka 'Āina, 2011)

The Cow's Fault (Five2One Magazine, 2015)

Taste (Five2One Magazine, 2015)

Da Fall in da Usher House (Vice-Versa Journal, 2010)

Dass Why Hahd (Hawai'i Review, Issue #73, Winter 2010)

Be the Goddess (Luna Station Quarterly, 2012)

Nigerian Prince (Nat. Brut, 2014)

Makakilo Mascot (Bamboo Ridge, Journal of Hawai'i Literature and Arts, Issue #126, 2024)

Songwriting:

(albums I helped write lyrics & melodies for)

Kūkahi (Nā Hōkū Hanohano Award Winner) (LP, 2016)

Human (LP, 2017)

Jam (LP, 2018)

Heaven on Earth (single, 2017)

Hawai'i My Home (single, 2019)

Nothing Compares (EP, 2017)

Stuck by Your Side (single, 2021)

Other places I’ve written:

Yelp (current elite reviewer)

Examiner (former parenting examiner)

Ka Mana’o newspaper (former music columnist & staff writer)

(To be continued...)

VocalLifeAchievements
4

About the Creator

M. Lee

BA English. MFA bound. INFP. Published author, poet, lyricist. Dreamer, creator, artist, teller of tales, lover of words, singer of songs, reveler of life.

Tip me

All my work is authentically created by me— NO AI

⭐️5 Top Stories

©M. Lee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    Ah, so this is the result! Sorry I missed this, but wow, you've written in so many different areas! Song writing is too cool. I gotta catch up on your profile, M! BTW, I already love your humor writing, so this will be fun. :D

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    This speaks to me...and I have so much to read... 📚

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.