Poets logo

i am

a free verse poem

By M. LeePublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
6
i am
Photo by Monika Kozub on Unsplash

my soul

dwells within

a sacred space

a temple

a place of worship

i am the grateful caretaker for

this beautiful palace

i am responsible for

how i behave

how i feel

how i look

i stand unabashed

don't shame me

don't tell me how i should be

don't make choices for me

my body is mine

Authors note: this is an inverse poem. Read both ways, top to bottom, then bottom to top.

social commentaryFree Verse
6

About the Creator

M. Lee

BA English. MFA bound. INFP. Published author, poet, lyricist. Dreamer, creator, artist, teller of tales, lover of words, singer of songs, reveler of life.

Tip me

All my work is authentically created by me— NO AI

⭐️5 Top Stories

©M. Lee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    This was extremely powerful both ways! You nailed this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.