Fiction logo

The Language of Today

a 100 word story written in Hawai'i Pidgin English

By M. LeePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
The Language of Today
Photo by Komang Gita Krishna Murti on Unsplash

El-oh-el, da boy go. So I aks him, “what dat, el-oh-el?”



“It means laugh out loud, ojiisan.” He giggle.

“How can?” I scratch mah head. 


“El is laugh, oh is out and el is loud. So laugh, out, loud.” 


I look upwards fo’ guidance, peek troo mah eyelashes at da clouds suspended. Used to be people would fo’ real laugh when dey was happy. But nowdays, everyt’ing acronyms. 



Da boy stares at me. 



“Dass B.S.” I mimic.



“What’s that mean, B.S?”



“Aks yo’ moddah.” I tell.

I watch his feet make thundah to da house an’ I fo’ real el-oh-el.

* * *

© M. Lee / All rights reserved.

Short StoryMicrofictionHumor
3

About the Creator

M. Lee

BA English. MFA bound. INFP. Published author, poet, lyricist. Dreamer, creator, artist, teller of tales, lover of words, singer of songs, reveler of life.

Tip me

All my work is authentically created by me— NO AI

⭐️5 Top Stories

©M. Lee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    "Aks yo moddah" 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I freaking el oh el-ed for that! Hahahahahhahaha

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.