Confessions logo

Inside the female animal mind

Belle's challenge "Inside the animal's mind".

By Novel AllenPublished 19 days ago Updated 18 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2024
35
NightCafe AI

Are you brave enough to venture inside my mind. Are you fully prepared to unravel the mysteries of this 'enigma wrapped in that riddle', a well- used cliche, I know. But again, I ask...Are you?

If you truly desire to do such a deliciously crazy thing, then come along...I dare you, and please, do so at your own risk.

Oh, by the way...Don't hug me, don't touch me...don't get too close to me, don't try to read my mind and certainly don't judge me.

How then, you may wonder, will you venture inside my mind.

"Well, you sit over there, across the table, and listen to the answers which I may (if I deem it appropriate) give you to your curious questions".

"Dude, up here, my eyes and mind are up here. Just because I am wearing a dress molded to my form and cut in an appealing form fitting way, does not give you permission to ogle me".

"You are mistaken, I was not ogling you. I was merely looking at what you are willing to let me see, after all, you chose to wear that revealing attire".

"Oh no. You did not just go there".

"Well, you opened the door that allowed me to walk right in".

And just like that. It was on!!!

Let me introduce you to "Women's ways of knowing".

Mary Field Belenky, Blythe McVicker Clinchy, Nancy Rule Goldberger, and Jill Mattuck Tarule, published under the title "Women's Ways of Knowing": The Development of Self, Voice, and Mind". This work describes the process of cognitive development in women as five knowledge positions (or perspectives) through which women view themselves and their relationship to knowledge.

The five knowledge positions:

Silence is the name given to the first epistemological position, and describes women who felt disconnected from knowledge, the sources of knowledge and their relationship to knowledge.

Received knowledge. Words are not viewed as weapons, and are seen as critical to the learning process, but the origin and meaning of words and knowledge remain external.

Subjective knowledge is the recognition of the self as an authority. Subjective knowers rely on their own subjective thoughts, feelings and experiences for knowledge and truth - the "infallible gut" as the authors refer it.

Procedural knowledge reflects the recognition that multiple sources of knowledge exist, and focuses on methods and techniques for evaluating the accuracy of external truth and the relative worth of authority

Constructed knowledge is characterized by a recognition of the interrelatedness of knowledge, knowing and the knower. Women with this perspective considered all knowledge as constructed, and understood that knowledge is inherently mutable, subject to time, experience, and context; they saw knowledge as "a constant process of construction, deconstruction and reconstruction".

Women in this position generally came to a realization of self after intense self-reflection, 'real talk' and the ability to listen, share and cooperate while maintaining one's own voice undiminished. The position of constructed knowledge often involves enormous "empathetic potential": a capacity to feel connected with another person despite potentially enormous differences.

"What the hell are you even talking about"? You ask.

Did I not say that the inside of my mind was a jumbled concoction of wild convolutions and mazelike constructions that even I have to navigate to arrive at a sensible output of information.

There are whole books, unfinished manuscripts, flyers and loose pages which are desperately in need of filing, all jostling to escape the confinement of my mind.

There is junk from past lives and past experiences which is clogging up the highways and byways.

Don't venture in where angels fear to traverse.

"Ok. It is official. You are stark raving mad. Goodbye and good luck with your life".

I smile. I never said..."I told you so".

...........................................................................................

Belle's prompt

631 words.

TabooStream of ConsciousnessSecrets
35

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk12 days ago

    Novel, sometimes "we just know!"

  • Belle12 days ago

    🎉🥳🎉 THE RESULTS ARE IN! 🎉🥳🎉 The results for "Inside the Animal's Mind [an unofficial challenge] have been posted! You can view them here! https://vocal.media/writers/results-inside-the-animal-s-mind-an-unofficial-challenge

  • Belle15 days ago

    Very thoughtful work, Novel! It was a pleasure to read. Thank you very much for entering my challenge, and congratulations on your Top Story!!!

  • Linda Goodman16 days ago

    fantastic, congratulations on your top story!

  • Fantastic writing.

  • Jasmine Whitmore17 days ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Hasan17 days ago

    I am extremely pleased with the quality of the content delivered. It was not only informative but also captivating, keeping our readers hooked from start to finish. Excellent job!

  • Grz Colm17 days ago

    Hey, Thoughtful work Novel! Congrats on your top story too! 😁🥳

  • Congratulations on Top Story!!! I would definitely deem this piece a coherent stream-of-consciousness...if such a thing exists 😀

  • Kodah18 days ago

    Love the picture, love the story, love everything!! Congrats on top story!! 💌🥳🎉🥳🎉

  • This was an interesting and enjoyable piece sparked by Belle's Challenge

  • Anu Mehjabin18 days ago

    I enjoyed your writing's exploration of the mind's complexities—it's captivating and thought-provoking. And Congratulations on your top story!💝💝

  • Ameer Bibi18 days ago

    Love your way of narration Congratulations for top story

  • Jay Kantor18 days ago

    Dear Novel: I'd often sit across the table "Wondering what she's thinking.." While feeling the vibes that 'She' may be thinking the same thing; but nervous about saying or "OoGling" the wrong way. Rarely that lack of communication ever went anywhere; often times we  try to be too careful to please. But, you have to admit it would be hard to whisper little snippets into her ear going through that hair..! JBud in.l.a.

  • 💙 You hooked me from the very beginning: "Are you brave enough to venture inside my mind." Recently, a young colleague was screaming to hold onto her sanity. Most of the time, she is sooo strong... a mother of young children. She will be her definition of strong again, but for today, I see she found fierce solace by insisting on being deeply real. Congratulations on this triumph, Lady Novel! 💙

  • Jonathan Apollo18 days ago

    Well, looky here... haha! Congrats on your top story!

  • CONGRATS ON YOUR TOP STORY!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • shanmuga priya19 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉.

  • The Dani Writer19 days ago

    Some mighty philosophical bits in there. Intense depth. Congratulations on the top story!

  • Christy Munson19 days ago

    Congrats on Too Story!!! 🥳 loved your post

  • I really enjoyed our conversation lol I actually found it very interesting and like The Matrix.

  • Sasi Kala19 days ago

    The way you’ve intertwined personal narrative with the framework of "Women's Ways of Knowing" illustrates a profound understanding of self and knowledge. Navigating through such intricate thoughts requires patience and empathy, and I appreciate the invitation to explore these intellectual corridors with you.

  • Hahahahhahahahahhaa definitely stark raving mad but I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.