Confessions logo

Regret

past

By FaridaPublished 7 days ago 3 min read

The Lost Chance

It all started on a lazy Sunday afternoon. I was lounging on my couch, scrolling through old photos on my phone, when I stumbled upon a picture of Lisa and me from high school. Lisa, with her bright smile and infectious laughter, was my best friend back then. We did everything together – from late-night study sessions to sneaking out for midnight snacks.

One particular memory stood out as I stared at the photo. It was the night of our senior prom. Lisa had looked stunning in her emerald green dress, and I was so nervous about asking her to dance that I spent most of the night making awkward small talk with other classmates. I’d always had a crush on her but never had the guts to tell her. That night, she hinted a few times, trying to get me to dance, but I chickened out every single time.

After graduation, Lisa went off to college in another state, and we slowly drifted apart. Life happened – new friends, new experiences, and before I knew it, we were just two strangers with a shared past.

Fast forward to that Sunday afternoon. I decided to look Lisa up on social media. To my surprise, she was still living in the same town and had become an artist, her profile filled with beautiful paintings. On a whim, I sent her a friend request, and to my delight, she accepted it almost immediately.

We started chatting, catching up on old times. It was like no time had passed at all. A few days later, we decided to meet up for coffee at our favorite café from high school.

As we sat across from each other, sipping our lattes, the conversation flowed effortlessly. We laughed about the silly things we did in high school, reminisced about old friends, and shared stories about our lives since graduation. But as the evening wore on, the conversation grew deeper.

"Do you remember prom night?" Lisa asked, her eyes twinkling with mischief.

I chuckled nervously. "Yeah, I remember. Why?"

"I always wondered why you never asked me to dance," she said, a hint of sadness in her voice.

I took a deep breath, feeling the weight of years of regret. "Honestly, I was scared. I had a crush on you, but I was too afraid of ruining our friendship."

Lisa smiled softly. "I had a crush on you too, you know. I was waiting for you to make a move."

My heart sank. All those years of wondering "what if" came rushing back. I realized that my fear had cost me a chance at something special. I looked into her eyes, trying to muster the courage I lacked back then.

"I wish I had told you how I felt," I admitted. "I regret not taking that chance."

Lisa reached across the table and squeezed my hand. "We can't change the past, but we have the present. And who knows what the future holds?"

We spent the rest of the evening talking about everything and nothing, and when we finally parted ways, I felt a sense of closure. Regret had been a heavy burden, but opening up about it had lifted some of the weight.

As I walked home, I realized that while we can’t go back and fix our past mistakes, we can learn from them. Regret doesn’t have to be a chain that holds us back; it can be a lesson that propels us forward.

And who knows? Maybe this time, I wouldn't let fear get in the way.

Friendship

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    FWritten by Farida

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.