Poets logo

It's a Sign

A nonlinear poem

By M. LeePublished 7 months ago 1 min read
6

The sign at the door should have a cutesy saying on it

something like making memories

instead of caution / hard hat only / danger zone

it should contain a pleasant excuse of some sort

that relies on a list of facts

like one:

children reside here

And two:

A couple of them are kind of little

And three:

The older ones are a bit lazy

and four:

That I am not a maid

and five:

We’re too busy living in our house

to clean it

that we are making memories

forget that they come

from electronic sources and independent ventures

busy sounds much cuter so I’d rather stick with that and

I’d probably like the sign to have a mop and a bucket

or a broom and a vacuum on it

to imply that we do in fact

own these items

and the words would be shaped

from the whimsy of a human

whose crafting level

is above 1 percent

which is 2 percent lower than mine

but i don’t have the time

gifted are the creators of such signs

that hold tongues

that keep me from having to sell explanations to guests

like some timeshare spooler

waxy car

grease haired guy

and I’m tempted to buy one

from a little store with a big shore

pic on their website

because the jpegs are familiar to me

even though the mailing address

reads west of Kansas

the seagulls and nautilus

sand and starfish

sing that the shop owners are creatively

appropriate

that these people know what they’re doing

to get a bite and

I want to buy

that weathered sign

the one that would match our home

to put on the porch

but the problem

the one that cannot be ignored is

I can’t

find space

for it

‘round my door

Filthysurreal poetrysocial commentaryhumorfact or fiction
6

About the Creator

M. Lee

BA English. MFA bound. INFP. Published author, poet, lyricist. Dreamer, creator, artist, teller of tales, lover of words, singer of songs, reveler of life.

Tip me

All my work is authentically created by me— NO AI

⭐️5 Top Stories

©M. Lee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Awww, what a wonderful poem! I loved it!

  • Lol, this made me chuckle! Loved your awesome poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.