Poets logo

Onward

A poem

By M. LeePublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
5
Onward
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

the long hand stretches

turns a tick

heads downwards

taking us all with it

when you die i’ll come visit you

he once said to me

love me while i’m here

i told him

the hand moves slowly

and deliberately

pointing to a place

that is unknown

the good go to heaven

she said

bad people burn in hell

i replied

i know

i know

so i live a life by a book

of rules

written by old men

and me not knowing

where i will find my soul

will die

someday

alone

* * *

©️ Monica KK Lee / All rights reserved

Stream of ConsciousnessFree Verse
5

About the Creator

M. Lee

BA English. MFA bound. INFP. Published author, poet, lyricist. Dreamer, creator, artist, teller of tales, lover of words, singer of songs, reveler of life.

Tip me

All my work is authentically created by me— NO AI

⭐️5 Top Stories

©M. Lee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    "when you die i’ll come visit you he once said to me" I've had this happen to me before. Said by my guy best friend at that time. I can't recall exactly why he said it, it was 11 years ago. But I remember how badly it hurt 🥺 Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.